01/13 Sam Siam pmps 71

Status
Not open for further replies.

donna & sam siam

Member Since 2011
Woke up to a very cold but beautiful morning here in the Pacific Northwest. Thinking about all of you over on the east side dealing with all that yuk. Take care and be safe! Everybody...remember to smile today, it's contagious! :-D

This is the 4th morning in a row that I've had to give sam some HC. I realize that he hasn't hit under 50 when I do this, but since I am heading to work and he is dropping so fast, at least 30 points from amps to 1.5, it seems as if he's definitely heading in the wrong direction quickly. I've decreased his doses (in less than 6 cycles each because of the drops) but he still seems to drop. I want to do what's best, so I'm asking, do I really need to keep shooting and decreasing at this point by .25? It just seems as if he's telling me to stop. I know I should go slow though, so I'm asking please give me some more of your expert advice. Y'all have been soooo helpful!!! Thank you!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=60943
 
Re: 01/13 Sam Siam amps 83

Hi guys .. look at that solid green this morning! Nice job sam siam! We were under a winter storm warning all night .. and woke up to less then an inch of snow .. how crazy .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 01/13 Sam Siam amps 83 DOSE QUESTION

Hi Donna,

Nice numbers and you're doing a great job!

According to the Tight Regulation Protocol, it looks like you are in Phase 4:

Phase 4: Reducing the dose. Phase out insulin slowly by 0.25-
0.5U depending on dose.


[*]When the cat regularly (every day for at least one week), has its
lowest blood glucose concentration in the normal range of a
healthy cat, and stays under 100 mg/dL overall
Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on
low or high dose of insulin

[*]If the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dL (2.2-<2.8
mmol/L) at least three times on separate days
Reduce dose by 0.25-0.5 IU depending on if cat on
low or high dose of insulin

[*]If the cat drops below 40 mg/dL once (2.2 mmol/L) Reduce dose immediately by 0.25-0.5 IU depending
on if cat on low or high dose of insulin

[*]If peak blood glucose concentration > 200mg/dL (11 mmol/L) Immediately increase insulin dose to last effective
dose

In my opinion, you should go to a decreased dose and gradually phase out. I am on 1 drop twice a day with my cat Cini. We have tried doing an OTJ trial before by just stopping at .25 units or .10 units and he didn't make it for the entire 14 days to be considered in remission. So this time I am managing a decreasing dose gradually and using food to manage the drops by feeding small meals at the beginning of the cycle.

I have learned consistency is the key to all this and staying on a consistent dose for at least 3 to 5 days at a time before I change it seems to work for my cat.
 
Re: 01/13 Sam Siam amps 83 DOSE QUESTION

Oh man I did it again!! Tried to edit in the preview mode and lost it all. Aaaarrrgh!! Here we go again...
Thanks Cathy for the helpful suggestions. I haven't followed protocol for the past two doses, 1. & .75 due to him diving in the morning. Only did 4 cycles each. Hopefully I didn't decrease too fast. However now at .5 he is still in the lower numbers. Should I stay with .5 through a complete 6 cycles even though he is still diving in the morning? I dont' want to go too fast, it's just that these "not knowing what the heck he is doing" mornings are getting a bit tiring, esp when I have to head to work and worry about him all day! Ok, just being honest...I'm sure y'all have been there! ;-)
Btw, how in the world have you been able to figure .1 & a drop??! I'm thinking .25 is gonna be hard enough! And how long have you been on just a drop? Oh, I just saw your spreadsheet and loved how you did the flag thingies on each of your "squares" to add notes. How did you do that?? I would love to do it too!

Thanks for the suggestions, and more are welcome! The more people I hear from the better idea I have of what everyone is doing out there. Thanks!
 
Re: 01/13 Sam Siam amps 83 DOSE QUESTION

I would hold the dose at 0.5u. You don't want to get too much ahead of Sam's shed and lose the momentum. Are you going to be around over the weekend and be able to monitor? I suspect that you may see flat green cycles like you're seeing in the evenings.

If you are seeing normal BG numbers for 7 days, you can reduce. If Sam's numbers drop below 50, you can reduce. Right now, you want to do all you can to keep Sam on insulin for as long as you can in order to give his healing pancreas as much support as possible. Unless you get a very low number, you may want to consider shaving doses rather than taking a full 0.25u reduction.
 
Re: 01/13 Sam Siam amps 83 DOSE QUESTION

Hi Donna,

Let me see if I can answer your questions one at a time.

Should I stay with .5 through a complete 6 cycles even though he is still diving in the morning? I dont' want to go too fast, it's just that these "not knowing what the heck he is doing" mornings are getting a bit tiring, esp when I have to head to work and worry about him all day! Ok, just being honest...I'm sure y'all have been there! ;-)

Yes, as Sienne said below, stay with the .5 units for a few more days over the weekend. The pancreas needs consistency and a regular measure of insulin right now. If I were you , I would give the .5 units, feed a little higher carb food after giving the insulin at +1, +2, and +3 time intervals and invest in an auto-feeder. The auto-feeder will help while you are gone during the day to deliver food for Felix at key times when his BG levels may be dropping.

Btw, how in the world have you been able to figure .1 & a drop??!

It's not easy, lol I am leaning over the stove with my glasses off and one eye squinted open so I can see that close. In the stickies at the top of the Lantus forum (the ones with the stars) you will see one called "LANTUS & LEVEMIR - NEW TO THE GROUP? PLEASE READ..." In that sticky is a close up picture of what .25, .10 and 1 drop of Lantus looks like.

And how long have you been on just a drop? Oh, I just saw your spreadsheet and loved how you did the flag thingies on each of your "squares" to add notes. How did you do that?? I would love to do it too!

In the google spreadsheet when you want to add a comment just right click the square and choose "Insert Comment" from the pop-up menu. It's a little tricky with Google Docs to get the comment box to stay and behave but it does come in handy when you want to make notes.

Good luck on your journey with Felix. cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top