01/13 Chronos PMPS 363

Dan and Marc

Member Since 2019
Previous

Not sure what his nadir was last night but seemed to break the bounce, though his preshot is high again.

He is now eating 50% Royal Canin D and 50% Weruva BFF, we started the food change Sunday, prior he was eating 80% Royal Canin D and 20% Weruva.

I am not sure how long a change in food would take to show any improvement, but should we try another dose increase at tomorrows AM shot to 1.75 since tonight's will 7 days at the 1.5 dose?
 
Tomorrow morning will be 7 days/14 cycles on this dose. Today will also be 6 cycles since that long stretch of blues so he may show you were he lands after clearing the bounce. Unless @Wendy&Neko advises differently, you could see what he does today and increase tomorrow.
 
Yea, guess I was just hoping for more changes from the food, but if I recall the last time when we got him in remission with food and our other cat who had diabetes develop from the steroid she was on for SCL, the food change was also enough to lower her into remission, but it did take around a month to see numbers change.

Just was curious in general how much time a food change might take to show reductions if it will.

I'll get a +3, +5, +8 and probably +10 depending on this +3/+5 and if they are lower.
 
+5 341, seems similar to yesterday. Do you think he could of went lower last night and its a new bounce or the same bounce? This would 6th cycle of the bounce he had from being blue for 12+ hours on the 10th. Feeling pretty disheartened overall.
 
I agree with Bhooma on dosing. As for how long it takes to see a difference in food, it partly depends on carb % difference, whether wet or dry food. But it shouldn't take more than 2-3 days to see the difference.

Going up and down in dose is totally normal. With cats that have fallen out of remission, is is also harder to get them into remission a second time. The sooner you can get them regulated, the better.
 
Yea I guess its hard with trying to figure out what is or isn't a bounce. He was eating 60/40 of the Royal Canin/Weruva when he had the straight blues on the 9th and had been eating it the day before as well. We started the food change on the 8th, he went from 80/20 to 70/30 on the 8th then 60/40 on the 9th and we kept him there for the 10th and 11th. Yesterday and today he has been 50/50 which was our goal. My signature is updated with his current food and amount, though we might be changing out the Weruva BFF Chicken for a the BFF Chicken/Turkey (same carbs), he eats the newer Weruva but it doesn't seem to be his favorite, he will eat all the royal canin without issue but takes longer with the Weruva.

So the food could of been the reason we saw that long blue streak on the 10th but if these higher numbers are from bounces, could they be making it hard to tell what affect the food is having?
 
Though either way unless his numbers change dramatically for PM am planning to increase to 1.75 tomorrow and try that dose again.
 
Difference in carbs should make a difference in the nadirs you are seeing, or how low he's going on the dose.
 
I updated the spread sheet to have the food adjustments in the comments. But overall since starting on the 8th we've seen more blues then before, its just hard to tell whats a bounce or not. The 31st and 01 were the only other times to see a string of blues and the 31st was his 2nd cycle on a dose increase to 1.5 while the 1st we muscle shot. And the 7th with the drop into greens was from the 1.75 increase which then put us back to 1.5 units since he went below 90.
 
Some cats go high before they clear a bounce. This might be him doing that. Let's see what he does tonight and where he starts tomorrow morning.
 
Thanks, my anxiety is just so bad right now ugh. I just feel like we've been stuck at high amps for a month now and "feel" like things are worse even though I think since we've seen blues/greens and he is acting fine that's probably not the case? and just anxiety doing its thing. So any reassurances go a long way to helping us understand this.
 
I know. It's awful to see the higher numbers. But his SS looks much better than it did in December. Cats do take some time to get regulated. The fact that he eats higher carbs makes it tougher. Fingers crossed that he takes to the new food and you can transition him fully to low carb. You might want to think about a lower reduction point - say 70 - so that you can keep him at a dose where he sees more greens and blues.
 
His PMPS was 363. When you mean lower reduction point so instead of the standard 90 for SLSG if we see below 70 then we would reduce? So we could of kept him at the 1.75 for example.

Also I think his weight is a big part of it, we will be reducing his calories over time since he has been going up with the insulin even tho we have reduced them somewhat already. He is basically up to 18.5lbs now, which is good in that he is clearly responding to the insulin but also not good since being overweight leads to more insulin resistance.
 
The AMPS numbers are usually the last ones to come down. His PMPS ones have been improving this month. Even more important, he's seeing a lot more mid cycle blues and greens. His spreadsheet looks way better than Neko's did at this point of the FD journey.

As for lowering the reduction point with SLGS, that's something caregivers can do once they know how their cat behaves on insulin. So when he onsets, nadirs, and how he responds to carbs. And it doesn't have to be 70, you could try lowering to 80 first. Whatever you think makes sense for you and Chronos.
 
Thanks @Wendy&Neko and @Bandit's Mom you've helped us feel a better overall.

We are planning to increase to 1.75 tomorrow unless for whatever reason tonight/AMPS is radically different which I am not expecting. We monitor enough that we know we can keep him safe if he drops again like last time.
 
Back
Top