01/12: Harry update! AMPS 342

Status
Not open for further replies.

chatcat24

Member Since 2010
So I haven't been on this past while, (I'll use xmas time and new years as an excuse, with family in town).....BUT I do have to say that Harry's doing better!! His charts are showing a gradual (very slow) change from the yellows to the blues!! He's been in the blues more often than not thru out the day, although these past few mornings he's started out in the pink zone. I have reduced his doses to 1 unit twice a day, still doing the mid day checks of course, but unfortunately the evening checks after his shot haven't been getting done. A few times he's had lower numbers in the evening, so I waited to give him his shot and that resulted in a 11:30-midnight shot and not getting a +1 or +2 as we would crawl to bed right then. But I'm trying my best to reduce the time every day / shot by 15-20 mins. Today his shot was given at 10:45 or so, (a.m.) tonight it will be done at 10:30, and so on.
But with the better numbers, him being SUPER hyper and attacking me now on more of a regular basis (which means he's back to his old self, pretty much), the claw marks and scratches show me that he's on his way to (hopefully) being regulated!!

Yay! We are still trying to figure out what to do for when we leave for 10 days in a month or so, but IF (key word here) he's regulated then I'll buy the multi-food-portion-feeder and have someone visit every day to stock the food bowls. If he's not.....I don't know what to do. Not really wanting to pay the money to have a vet / clinic / school take him and keep him in a cage, that would be...mean. And taking him on the trip is also not an option.
So.....still trying to consider my options. And there's no one close by that I trust enough to do the blood testing, although I wouldn't want insulin given if they don't know his blood.

Hmmm......

Anyways. Will keep updating Harry's "trials and tribulations". :smile:
 
I'm in a similar situation when I travel. I have a vet tech who comes by twice a day to take care of Gabby. Have you called around to any of the vet offices to see if there's someone there who does cat sitting?

I do suspect those AM pinks are the result of some lows overnight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top