? 01/11 Nestle AMPS 122 PMPS 86

Karolina & Nestle

Member Since 2022
Good meowning and Happy Caturday :cat::cat:
Another higher start, the highest he's been in a while. Not sure what's going on cause he was earning reductions and all of a sudden turn around.
I'm questioning whether its time for a new vial of insulin??? We started our current one in August.
Also wondering what are the best times to feed our kitties throughout the cycle. Right meow he usually gets a small meal around +6.5-7.5 during AM cycle and +3.5 and +6.5 during the PM cycle.

What are your thoughts suggestions
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

Yesterday
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-10-nestle-amps-85-pmps-90.297352/
 
Good meowning and Happy Caturday :cat::cat:
Another higher start, the highest he's been in a while. Not sure what's going on cause he was earning reductions and all of a sudden turn around.
I'm questioning whether its time for a new vial of insulin??? We started our current one in August.
Also wondering what are the best times to feed our kitties throughout the cycle. Right meow he usually gets a small meal around +6.5-7.5 during AM cycle and +3.5 and +6.5 during the PM cycle.

What are your thoughts suggestions
@Bandit's Mom @Angela & Cleo @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

Yesterday
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/01-10-nestle-amps-85-pmps-90.297352/
Hi Karolina, i’m not sure what you’re paying for insulin in Canada. Maybe it makes sense for you to be using a box of pens instead of a vial, since you go through it so slowly.
That way if you had to toss a pen, it wouldn’t be tossing a whole vial of insulin if you felt it was going bad. Just a thought to consider.

Hope Nestle comes back to the beach quick:D. I’m sure he will!!
Send the boys my love :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
+1 on going to box of pens if you can. Whenever I question a pen's efficacy from leaving it out of the fridge or its age overall, it makes an easier decision to simply discard it versus the guilt of an entire vial. I picked up a box of 5 the other day, it was $90 for 5 pens at Walmart, so very affordable to what we paid back in the day.

Hopefully you have some good options in Canada.
 
+1 on going to box of pens if you can. Whenever I question a pen's efficacy from leaving it out of the fridge or its age overall, it makes an easier decision to simply discard it versus the guilt of an entire vial. I picked up a box of 5 the other day, it was $90 for 5 pens at Walmart, so very affordable to what we paid back in the day.

Hopefully you have some good options in Canada.
We think alike so often, Jason :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Vial or Pen? If vial, I can say from my personal experience that my 5 month old vial still gives ok nadirs but seems to lose duration.
That being said, it could just be an off day.
We look at patterns over several cycles and he's seeing 70s.
Or maybe it's just Cat :banghead:.
 
I vote cartridges, since you are in Canada, and they are slightly cheaper than pens and bonus, less waste since you only get the part you stick the syringe into.
Also wondering what are the best times to feed our kitties throughout the cycle. Right meow he usually gets a small meal around +6.5-7.5 during AM cycle and +3.5 and +6.5 during the PM cycle.
Also wondering what are the best times to feed our kitties throughout the cycle. Right meow he usually gets a small meal around +6.5-7.5 during AM cycle and +3.5 and +6.5 during the PM cycle.
Ideally do most of his food before nadir. After nadir the insulin effect is fading, and giving carbs then will make the insulin stop even sooner. Which means shortening duration and higher preshots. Nestle's not on a lower enough dose that he could benefit from a later snack. I'd move those meals currently after +6 to before +6 if you can.
 
Back
Top