01/10 - Dolly - AMPS 173 - 120@+2 - 53@+4 -86@+5 - 87@+8 - PMPS 119 -101@+2 - 91@+3 -98@+4

She finally ate a little just before I tested her. She's been dropping @+3 but thinking about waiting until +4 to test her. Any thoughts? I know/think I should be figuring this all out on my own by now.:eek:
 
Thanks Sue I actually do go down the list of condo's, have from the very beginning. Also, every person that adds something on our Condo, I immediately look at their spreadsheet. I actually visited Butters and Lyla or Perfume Mom, can't remember and made a comment on their condo. I really try to get informed. My biggest problem is my memory.
I meant to thank you, busy here right now. Thank you for offering suggestions. It's very much appreciated. You and Luci have a great day.:):)
Good morning:) I wanted to leave a suggestion for you yesterday but there was so much activity in your condo!

In my opinion, the most important takeaway from your condo yesterday is that there isn't necessarily one right answer on what to feed. You were given different opinions and none of them would have been the wrong thing to do.

Having struggled and stressed over what to feed Butters also, I found the best way to gain confidence and feel less stressed was to start making my own best educated guesses on what to feed her. But how to make an educated guess? And how to gain enough confidence to make one? In my opinion, you have all of the tools available in Dolly's spreadsheet: lots of data. You've recorded what you've fed Dolly and at what time based on her BG numbers. There is a reason you were strongly encouraged to record this data: because you can use it to make a decision about what to feed Dolly now.

When I'm unsure what type of food to feed Butters (yes, that still happens), I look back on her spreadsheet and try to find a similar looking day of BG numbers, review what I fed what happened to her numbers after feeding. For example:

If you were not sure what to feed Dolly at AMPS today, start by looking for days with similar AMPS numbers. Then maybe look at the PM cycle numbers that preceded that, and see if you can find similar ones to yesterday's PM cycle. Once you've found a cycle that looks similar to you, let that be your guide. Look at what you fed Dolly at AMPS on that day. Did you like where her numbers went? Yes? Then try feeding the same thing. If no, then feed her something with less carbs or more carbs, and see what happens.

Yesterday, Bhooma made her suggestion by looking back on your spreadsheet and finding a similar day: 1/6. We all do this at times. ECID and none of us has a crystal ball to know with 100% certainty how a cat's numbers will change based on food fed. But by collecting data, you can use it to inform the next decision you need to make, and it will help you gain confidence as you learn how to stay in control of Dolly's cycles:bighug:.

Practice reviewing Dolly's spreadsheet, looking for days with a similar BG number at a similar time, and reviewing what food you fed and where it took her numbers. I constantly review Butters' spreadsheet in this way.
It doesn't mean you'll get it right every time. I sure don't. Some days I send Butters numbers too high, other days she stays lower for longer than I would like. But every decision you make is something to learn from for next time:).

This is just my opinion and suggestion to help you become more confident managing Dolly's cycles. You don't need to remember what to do, because you have recorded what you already did. You just need to remember to look back on it:bighug:.

Have a wonderful day!
 
looking for days with a similar BG number at a similar time, and reviewing what food you fed and where it took her numbers. ...
my opinion and suggestion to help you become more confident managing Dolly's cycles.

+1 on this suggestion.
we are constantly looking back on what we fed under given conditions and using that as a starting point for what to do in the present.
for example, lately, we've notice kit's pattern changing a bit.where we used to give a somewhat higher carb snack as she drops, we're finding that her regular food seems to work.
 
Good morning:) I wanted to leave a suggestion for you yesterday but there was so much activity in your condo!

In my opinion, the most important takeaway from your condo yesterday is that there isn't necessarily one right answer on what to feed. You were given different opinions and none of them would have been the wrong thing to do.

Having struggled and stressed over what to feed Butters also, I found the best way to gain confidence and feel less stressed was to start making my own best educated guesses on what to feed her. But how to make an educated guess? And how to gain enough confidence to make one? In my opinion, you have all of the tools available in Dolly's spreadsheet: lots of data. You've recorded what you've fed Dolly and at what time based on her BG numbers. There is a reason you were strongly encouraged to record this data: because you can use it to make a decision about what to feed Dolly now.

When I'm unsure what type of food to feed Butters (yes, that still happens), I look back on her spreadsheet and try to find a similar looking day of BG numbers, review what I fed what happened to her numbers after feeding. For example:

If you were not sure what to feed Dolly at AMPS today, start by looking for days with similar AMPS numbers. Then maybe look at the PM cycle numbers that preceded that, and see if you can find similar ones to yesterday's PM cycle. Once you've found a cycle that looks similar to you, let that be your guide. Look at what you fed Dolly at AMPS on that day. Did you like where her numbers went? Yes? Then try feeding the same thing. If no, then feed her something with less carbs or more carbs, and see what happens.

Yesterday, Bhooma made her suggestion by looking back on your spreadsheet and finding a similar day: 1/6. We all do this at times. ECID and none of us has a crystal ball to know with 100% certainty how a cat's numbers will change based on food fed. But by collecting data, you can use it to inform the next decision you need to make, and it will help you gain confidence as you learn how to stay in control of Dolly's cycles:bighug:.

Practice reviewing Dolly's spreadsheet, looking for days with a similar BG number at a similar time, and reviewing what food you fed and where it took her numbers. I constantly review Butters' spreadsheet in this way.
It doesn't mean you'll get it right every time. I sure don't. Some days I send Butters numbers too high, other days she stays lower for longer than I would like. But every decision you make is something to learn from for next time:).

This is just my opinion and suggestion to help you become more confident managing Dolly's cycles. You don't need to remember what to do, because you have recorded what you already did. You just need to remember to look back on it:bighug:.

Have a wonderful day!
Thanks so much Lyla. I do use Dolly’s spreadsheet as a guide but I think I want near exact matches, I know not realistic. The other day I said to my husband, oh my God I can make my own decisions on Dolly’s care. I have always been a detail oriented person, it was a big part of how I made a living. Not as an excuse but a reality, this isolation ( for us over 2 years) has changed who I am. We don’t see anyone, especially now, most of my family have Covid. The lack of social/verbal interactions, not seeing my grandkids, great grandsons, one a new baby, they all have Covid and it terrifies me. I am distracted by this. Bottom line it has affected my confidence. It’s not just Dolly but everything in my life. I am working on getting more focused so I can feel comfortable with the decisions I make for Dolly. It starts today. Thank you so much for caring and offering your guidance. It really has helped me as I read it. :):) Have a great day. :D Now she jumped to 86 so I feel what did I do wrong? I do know that’s a perfectly fine number but maybe I reacted too fast considering it was at +4, her nadir, sometimes, but she might have started going up on her own except that’s not always the case. Days like 12/21/20. Thanks again Lyla.
 
Last edited:
+1 on this suggestion.
we are constantly looking back on what we fed under given conditions and using that as a starting point for what to do in the present.
for example, lately, we've notice kit's pattern changing a bit.where we used to give a somewhat higher carb snack as she drops, we're finding that her regular food seems to work.
I agree and maybe I reacted too fast in giving her the 11% at her nadir, perhaps lc would have done it at another time but she's been on lc all morning. Dolly, like most, is just unpredictable. Thanks for your response. Have a good day.:):cat:
 
Thanks so much Lyla. I do use Dolly’s spreadsheet as a guide but I think I want near exact matches, I know not realistic. The other day I said to my husband, oh my God I can make my own decisions on Dolly’s care. I have always been a detail oriented person, it was a big part of how I made a living. Not as an excuse but a reality, this isolation ( for us over 2 years) has changed who I am. We don’t see anyone, especially now, most of my family have Covid. The lack of social/verbal interactions, not seeing my grandkids, great grandsons, one a new baby, they all have Covid and it terrifies me. I am distracted by this. Bottom line it has affected my confidence. It’s not just Dolly but everything in my life. I am working on getting more focused so I can feel comfortable with the decisions I make for Dolly. It starts today. Thank you so much for caring and offering your guidance. It really has helped me as I read it. :):) Have a great day. :D Now she jumped to 86 so I feel what did I do wrong? I do know that’s a perfectly fine number but maybe I reacted too fast considering it was at +4, her nadir, sometimes, but she might have started going up on her own except that’s not always the case. Days like 12/21/20. Thanks again Lyla.
I know it's hard when you're detail oriented and looking for that exact match. You don't have to be that precise. I can give you too many examples to list of when I sent Butters' numbers right up by my food choices. At least I kept her safe, though:). There is always the next cycle to try something different! Keep up the great work with Dolly:bighug:. Look how far you both have come.

The isolation sounds very tough on you and you have a lot on your plate. Hang in there. Prayers for your family that they all return to good health quickly.
 
maybe I reacted too fast in giving her the 11% at her nadir
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
we all do and have. we all just want to keep them healthy and safe.
i'll save you the effort of finding on our spreadsheet all the times we gave hc and syrup for a yellow or a blue! :rolleyes:
i see elise chimed in above as well. she's probably lost track of all the times she coached us to not give more than might be needed. :kiss:
sometimes we manage it, sometimes we don't. yesterday end of am cycle is a great example of when we didnt. o_O
 
I know it's hard when you're detail oriented and looking for that exact match. You don't have to be that precise. I can give you too many examples to list of when I sent Butters' numbers right up by my food choices. At least I kept her safe, though:). There is always the next cycle to try something different! Keep up the great work with Dolly:bighug:. Look how far you both have come.

The isolation sounds very tough on you and you have a lot on your plate. Hang in there. Prayers for your family that they all return to good health quickly.
Thanks for being there and giving caring advice. So much appreciated!! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
we all do and have. we all just want to keep them healthy and safe.
i'll save you the effort of finding on our spreadsheet all the times we gave hc and syrup for a yellow or a blue! :rolleyes:
i see elise chimed in above as well. she's probably lost track of all the times she coached us to not give more than might be needed. :kiss:
sometimes we manage it, sometimes we don't. yesterday end of am cycle is a great example of when we didnt. o_O
Thanks, I took a peek :oops:. Have a wonderful day JOJI and Kit :D
 
I think the key to all of this is to not be too hard on yourself. Easier said than done, I know. I'm a perfectionist as well. As it is, you're going above and beyond by doing TR to help Dolly and you're doing a FANTASTIC job. Do our cats get overcarbed sometimes? Do they dip below 50 because we overslept or thought they were actually heading up? Might they be slipping into the 40s while we get much needed sleep? YES TO ALL! We're doing the best we can and that's all we can do.
 
I think the key to all of this is to not be too hard on yourself. Easier said than done, I know. I'm a perfectionist as well. As it is, you're going above and beyond by doing TR to help Dolly and you're doing a FANTASTIC job. Do our cats get overcarbed sometimes? Do they dip below 50 because we overslept or thought they were actually heading up? Might they be slipping into the 40s while we get much needed sleep? YES TO ALL! We're doing the best we can and that's all we can do.
Thanks Katherine, if only we could be mind and body cat readers. When Dolly has dipped low she never acts any different. Thanks for bringing up all the scenarios, it lets me know someone else has been there.:):)
 
Try not to be so hard on yourself. We all look at the data and do what we did in similar situations. Much of the time it works. Sometimes it doesn’t. :bighug:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...5-5-25-85-9-pmps-132-135-2-105-3-87-4.241246/

Dolly’s not eating this morning. Vomited a little.
Good Morning :cat::)

I gave Dolly some of Friskies new "Extra Gravy" pate tonight. Unusual for her to go up at +4. I know it wasn't really enough of a rise for a food bump but..... Everything I've read on this food is that is diabetic friendly, has less carbs than regular Friskies Pate, not gravy, rather meat juices. Maybe for Dolly this is just not the right food. She really liked it which makes it suspect :p. Going forward, better safe than sorry. Goodnight and thank you all for your kind and helpful responses.:cat::)
 
Last edited:
Hi Adriene, I think that the Extra Gravy in this case just means extra juice/soup whatever. I remember seeing some discussion on this on our FB group recently. If you use the carb calculator, you can get a rough estimation of the carb% from the guaranteed analysis on the label.

If she likes it and it turns out to be low carb that may be the end of your food woes for now! Of course, being a cat, she can very quickly "unlike" it as well! :rolleyes:

She has been pretty flat tonight. You all within meter variance. :-)

Good night!
 
Back
Top