01/10/20 Otto age 8 months diabetes. New with enough doubts ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mayka Otto

Member Since 2020
Hi, my 8 month old cat was diagnosed diabetic 1 month ago. I've been giving him wet food for a few weeks but his glucose hasn't dropped. Yesterday I started with Prozinc 0.8 / 12h insulin and I'm really scared if there was any hypoglycemia. Please, I need guidance on how I should do it, where I can find a table to record the measurements. I'm from Spain and I don't speak English, Mr. Google helps me ...

Yesterday values 10AM 335, insulin 0.8 units, +4 137, +6 348. 10PM 302 insulin 0.8 units, +4 200, +6 267.

Values today 10AM 333, 0.8 units, +3 200, +5 185.

In what value should not be injected? And I use glucometro bayer contour next. What value would hypoglycemia be with prozinc?

U40 syringes how to make divisions to adjust doses?

I appreciate any comments, this is surpassing me because my health is not very good.

Thank you
 
Hello and welcome to you both.
It is very good you are testing your kitty’s blood glucose levels.
I am going to tag someone who uses Prozinc insulin to help you.
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Also @Wendy&Neko as your kitty is very young.

I’m not sure how to translate this into Spanish on my iPhone sorry.
 
Last edited:
Hello and welcome to you both.
It is very good you are testing your kitty’s blood glucose levels.
I am going to tag someone who uses Prozinc insulin to help you.
@MrWorfMen's Mom
Also @Wendy&Neko as your kitty is very young.

I’m not sure how to translate this into Spanish on my iPhone sorry

Aquí está la traducción del mensaje anterior:
Hola y bienvenidos a los dos.
Es muy bueno que esté probando los niveles de glucosa en sangre de su gatito.
Voy a etiquetar a alguien que usa insulina Prozinc para ayudarte.
la mamá de @MrWorfMen
También @Wendy&Neko ya que tu gatito es muy joven.
No estoy seguro de cómo traducir esto al español en mi iPhone lo siento
 
Welcome to FDMB. So glad to see you are home testing your cat as that is the best tool we have to keep our cats healthy and safe.
Your cat is very young to be diagnosed with diabetes but it does happen. The good news is the condition is treatable and your kitty can live a long healthy life with proper care.

The readings you've been getting are fine and not any where near hypoglycemic levels. We recommend that you do not give insulin if blood glucose test pre-shot is less than 200. With your human meter, normal range BG is 50 to 120. If BG drops to 50 or below, you need to take immediate action with food or glucose to get BG up. Right now I would aim to keep BG no lower than 90 until you have collected more data to know how your kitty is reacting to the insulin.

HERE are the instructions for setting up the spreadsheet and THIS DOC explains how to use the spreadsheet. If you need assistance to set up the spreadsheet, please let us know.

You can use U100 syringes along with our CONVERSION CHART to be able to make finer dose adjustment.

Translation:

Bienvenido a FDMB. Así que contentos de ver que está en casa probando a su gato, ya que es la mejor herramienta que tenemos para mantener a nuestros gatos sanos y seguros.
Su gato es muy joven para ser diagnosticado con diabetes, pero sucede. La buena noticia es que la condición es tratable y su gatito puede vivir una larga vida saludable con el cuidado adecuado.
Las lecturas que has estado recibiendo están bien y no en ningún lugar cerca de los niveles hipoglucémicos. Le recomendamos que no le dé insulina si la prueba de glucosa en sangre pre-inyección es inferior a 200. Con su medidor humano, el rango normal BG es de 50 a 120. Si el BG cae a 50 o menos, usted necesita tomar medidas inmediatas con alimentos o glucosa para obtener BG. En este momento, mi objetivo sería mantener BG no inferior a 90 hasta que haya recopilado más datos para saber cómo su gatito está reaccionando a la insulina.
AQUI están las instrucciones para configurar la hoja de cálculo y ESTE DOC explica cómo utilizar la hoja de cálculo. Si necesita ayuda para configurar la hoja de cálculo, por favor háganoslo saber.
Puede utilizar jeringas U100 junto con nuestro CHART de CONVERSION es para poder realizar un ajuste de dosis más fino.
 
@Veronica & Babu-chiri Tagging a member from Mexico. Etiquetar a un miembro de México.

Sorry, I have no special knowledge of diabetics in young cats, though it's usually not type 2 diabetes. What signs led you to a diabetes diagnosis. Was a fructosamine test done?
Lo siento, no tengo un conocimiento especial de los diabéticos en gatos jóvenes, aunque generalmente no es diabetes tipo 2. Qué signos lo llevaron a un diagnóstico de diabetes. ¿Se realizó una prueba de fructosamina?
 
Mis disculpas. Mi español se limita a "Jerónimo está en la universidad" desde los días en que compartíamos una casa cuando era profesor de literatura española.

@Gill & George
Tagging a member who lives in Spain and may be able to help you find supplies.

Etiquetar a un miembro que vive en España y que puede ayudarlo a encontrar suministros.
 
Hi, my 8 month old cat was diagnosed diabetic 1 month ago. I've been giving him wet food for a few weeks but his glucose hasn't dropped. Yesterday I started with Prozinc 0.8 / 12h insulin and I'm really scared if there was any hypoglycemia. Please, I need guidance on how I should do it, where I can find a table to record the measurements. I'm from Spain and I don't speak English, Mr. Google helps me ...

Yesterday values 10AM 335, insulin 0.8 units, +4 137, +6 348. 10PM 302 insulin 0.8 units, +4 200, +6 267.

Values today 10AM 333, 0.8 units, +3 200, +5 185.

In what value should not be injected? And I use glucometro bayer contour next. What value would hypoglycemia be with prozinc?

U40 syringes how to make divisions to adjust doses?

I appreciate any comments, this is surpassing me because my health is not very good.

Thank you
Hola Mayka,
Yo vivo en Andalucia.
Que comida húmeda le estas dando, yo tengo que comprarlo todo on line por que las que venden en las tiendas de mascotas y centros veterinarios por mi zona no son adecuadas, tienen un porcentaje de carbohidratos superior a el 10%

Tu gatillo es muy jovencillo, me pregunto como fue diagnosticado con diabetes? Puedes contarnos un poco como fue diagnosticado con diabetes?
Tuvo infección? corticoides por ejemplo? Cuales fueron las pruebas que confirmaron la diabetes?

Estamos aquí para cualquier duda que tengas, no te de miedo preguntar.

Hi myka, I live in Andaluia.
What wet food are you giving your cat, I have had to buy all my supplies online, the pet stores and vets locally don't have appropiate food, they all are over 10% carbs.
Your cat is quite young, I wonder how he became to be diagnosed with diabetes? Could you tell us a bit about how he got diagnosed? did he have an infection? steroids? what tests were done to confirm the diabetes?

We are here to help you with any questions you may have, don't be afraid to ask.
 
Hola, gracias a todos por vuestra ayuda.
Otto lo recogió de la calle con aproximadamente 4 meses y comencé a notar que bebía mucha agua y tenía hambre a todas horas. Cuando lo llevé a ponerle su primera vacuna, le dije al veterinario y no le importó si dijo que podría ser por el calor o por comer (creo que acana wild praire), también comió latas de Kitten Animonda. Al ver que cada vez que comía mucho y no engordaba en su segunda vacuna, le dije que hiciera analítica dejando glucosa 340. Fabricaron fructosamina y dieron 525. Sin infección ni corticosteroides.
Está comiendo latas Animonda, Granatapet.
No puedo descargar la hoja de cálculo y la necesito para saber cómo van los valores. ¿Por favor un poco de ayuda para tenerlo?
¿Y puedes decirme marcas que sean de tipo paté?
Gracias
 
Hola, gracias a todos por vuestra ayuda.
Otto lo recogió de la calle con aproximadamente 4 meses y comencé a notar que bebía mucha agua y tenía hambre a todas horas. Cuando lo llevé a ponerle su primera vacuna, le dije al veterinario y no le importó si dijo que podría ser por el calor o por comer (creo que acana wild praire), también comió latas de Kitten Animonda. Al ver que cada vez que comía mucho y no engordaba en su segunda vacuna, le dije que hiciera analítica dejando glucosa 340. Fabricaron fructosamina y dieron 525. Sin infección ni corticosteroides.
Está comiendo latas Animonda, Granatapet.
No puedo descargar la hoja de cálculo y la necesito para saber cómo van los valores. ¿Por favor un poco de ayuda para tenerlo?
¿Y puedes decirme marcas que sean de tipo paté?
Gracias
english translation
Hi, thank you all for your help.
Otto picked him up from the street with about 4 months and I began to notice that he drank a lot of water and was hungry at all hours. When I took him to get his first vaccine, I told the vet and he didn't care if he said it could be because of the heat or eating (I think it ends up in wild praire), he also ate cans of Kitten Animonda. Seeing that every time he ate a lot and did not get fat on his second vaccine, I told him to do analytics leaving glucose 340. They made fructosamine and gave 525. Without infection or corticosteroids.
He's eating cans Animonda, Granatapet.
I can't download the spreadsheet and I need it to know how the values are going. Please a little help to have it?
And can you tell me brands that are pate like?
Thank you

Hola Mayka,
¿Y puedes decirme marcas que sean de tipo paté?

En esta lista puedes encontrar numerosas y distintas comidas que son adequadas para la diabetes.
Yo como tu uso animonda y granata pet (la symphonie y la delicatessen), también uso Ferringa, también es tipo pate , y les gusta mucho a mis peques.
Ten cuidado con el sabor, ya que no todos los sabores son adecuados (menos de 10% carbohidratos), la lista tiene los sabores que puedes darle con tranquilidad a Otto.
lista comidas en Europa

From this list you will be able to find appropiate foods for your cat.
I like you also use animonda and granatapet (symphonie and delicatessen), I also use ferringa, this is a pate style, my little ones love it.
Be careful when choosing flavours not all flavors are suitable for diabetics (less than 10% carb), the list contains the flavours that you will be able to feed Otto.

No puedo descargar la hoja de cálculo y la necesito para saber cómo van los valores. ¿Por favor un poco de ayuda para tenerlo?
Cual es el problema? a ver si te podemos ayudar descargarlo.
Tienes una cuenta google?
Usas un PC o movil?

What problem are you having? lets see if we can help you download it.
Do you have a google account?
are you using a PC or mobile phone?

Un abrazo, y mucho animo
Gill
 
Last edited:
upload_2020-1-14_21-13-31.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-1-14_21-13-31.png
    upload_2020-1-14_21-13-31.png
    215.1 KB · Views: 190
Hello, can someone please tell me how you see the graph? And what should I keep doing, measurements, doses?

Thanks Gill for the recommended cans but Feringa which is pate type, the ones I bought from turkey rabbit is with pieces. I have been able to make the table but for the group to see it, what should I do? Thank you very much for so much help when you are a little blocked by the diagnosis and with the fear of hypoglycemia. A hug to all!!!
 
Last edited:
You need to "Publish" your spreadsheet and add the resulting link to your signature.
To publish starts at step 5 of the following:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/
To create a signature click on your user name (Mayka) in the upper right and then click on "signature". Then add link to your spreadsheet and save the signature.

Your spreadsheet shows you have some margin, but not much, to increase the dose. You have littler margin since since you are seen as low as 106 this morning. You also have some margin sinc you are using a human meter which reads lower than pet meter/vet laboratory results. I do not like that your preshots are high and it you can't a better/flatter curve changing the type of insulin to Lantus or Levemir should be considered since those insulins usually result in a flatter curve.
 
Hello Larry,
Thanks for your reply. I have already put the table to the FDMB group. And with only 6 days of Prozinc is it worth to switch to Lantus? Sorry for my ignorance because I am not an expert on the subject.
Thank you
 
I wouod continue to use your vial of ProZinc and see if you can get lower preshots without the lowest BG going lower than I say about 80 on a human meter. If current trent continues I wouod very slight increase dose of ProZinc.
When the vial of ProZinc is getting low that is when I would consider switching insulin to Lantus or Levemir..
 
Thanks Gill for the recommended cans but Feringa which is pate type, the ones I bought from turkey rabbit is with pieces.

The chicken with Squash and catnip, is pretty smooth. It is not mousse like consistency.

If your guy is really fussy and likes something really smooth then the Kattovit sensitive is a very smooth pate, like a mousse.
The other pate types to look at are Animonda VomFeinsten 'adult' have a look at the list for suitable flavours and their carb content, my cats seem to really like this, some of these are smoother than others, I haven't really paid attention to which ones though as I try to feed my guys a variety of flavours and textures to keep them interested. Zooplus.es has stopped stocking it, but I have been able to buy it in their Germany store (zooplus.de)

El Ferringa Pollo con Calabaza y Catnip, es bastante suave. Pero no tiene la consistencia de un mousse.
Si a Otto le gusta muy suave el Kattovit sensitive es muy suave, como un mousse.
Los otros tipos de paté que uso son Animonda VomFeinsten 'adulto', eche un vistazo a la lista para saber cuales son los sabores adecuados y su contenido de carbohidratos, a mis gatos parece gustarles , algunos de estos son más suaves que otros, realmente no he prestado atención a cuáles, trato de alimentar a mis gatillos con una variedad de sabores y texturas para mantenerlos interesados, y no me ponen queja. Aunque ahora zooplus.es parece haer dejado de venderlo, pero you lo consigo comprando en la tienda zooplus alemana (zooplus.de)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top