01/09 Leo AMPS 153

Sonia & Leo

Member Since 2018
Last condo, Tuesday

Good morning!

I’m not sure what Leo’s up to these days. When I increased his dose on Jan 3 to 5.63, he went down to 38 the following cycle. I took a reduction but just an 8th of a unit. Now it seems like a failed reduction. I’m wondering if I should increase back up by an 8th and feed him higher carb to prevent a drop under 40. (I’m sure he’d like that!) His 4 P’s are good (he’s never been very playful). His appetite is very good but I’ve noticed him drinking a lot more water over the past few weeks.

So I’m wondering…patience pants or dosecrease? Any thoughts?

Have a great day everyone, stay warm or cool, whichever you prefer!!

Be happy healthy and safe kitties!
 
Have you had Lab work to check his Kidneys lately? What are you doing for his CKD? ( get Wendy or Marje for dose advice)
upload_2020-1-9_11-37-51.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-1-9_11-37-51.jpeg
    upload_2020-1-9_11-37-51.jpeg
    19 KB · Views: 141
60 at +5!! Ok, it looks like I was worried for nothing. I just needed to get my patience pants on! I forgot things go slower in LeoLand! :p
 
Have you had Lab work to check his Kidneys lately? What are you doing for his CKD? ( get Wendy or Marje for dose advice)
View attachment 50544
Thanks Joy. He just went down to 60. I should know better than to expect immediate results with this fluff ball! I'll see how things go in the next couple of days. I'm glad I didn't call in the "big guns" this morning for nothing, they're all so busy lately. He always does this, just when I think he's not responding, he does. :rolleyes: I swear he reads my mind and my posts!! I only wish it was reciprocal!
 
Have you had Lab work to check his Kidneys lately? What are you doing for his CKD?
His last lab work was in September, so 4 months ago. I'm feeding him Weruva, as low phos as possible and omegas. I was planning on BW at 6 months to see how his kidneys were doing but I'll probably try to get him an appointment sooner rather than later. I was also going to speak to her about phos binders (again) and Calcitriol.
Thank you! :bighug:
 
Great greens! I would not have increased as Leo had greens yesterday and the day before; so I definitely would have waited. Good thing you did !! Those ugly patience pants ..:p
For the drinking, I would think of kidneys also !!
 
Great greens! I would not have increased as Leo had greens yesterday and the day before; so I definitely would have waited. Good thing you did !! Those ugly patience pants ..:p
For the drinking, I would think of kidneys also !!
Thanks Lyane, glad I waited also. Bobby lent me these pants, they're "hot pink" all I need is a discotheque! :p
 
Glad Leo gave you some green today. With that 68 two days ago, I would have suggested waiting.
Thank you Carla, I'm just wondering how to shake the blues even though I appreciate the lack of pj parties. My patience pants are on and I'm going to wait it out. :bighug:
 
Well - since I came in at the end of this conversation, no suggestions from me:p

Leo is looking very good in his green suit and I am so happy that he visited the lagoon for you today :D:D way to go Leo!!
 
I'm glad you posted later that he went down...I was going to say to give that boy a little time...but he beat me to the punch...Good for Leo!

I've noticed that Luci typically needs 2 or 3 days before she starts to respond to a reducie...just recently had me issuing a threat to increase and she hit the old lagoon - hard! I guess there's a little adjustment time - the question is how much time? Seems the three day rule is pretty good...we just get jumpy because we can count - they can't...Leo looks good :)
 
Sonia,
Tina and I want Leo to be in top form and keep thinking about that extra water drinking. Tina drinks a lot, and has been for months, but she also gets subq fluid . . . and I was under the impression it was great for her to be getting fluids the "natural" way. I sure wish we didn't have so many concerns with our amazing cats! My vet is tired of all my concerns and wants to wait 6 months between labs. I wish we could do our own blood testing at home - you know, a simple prick of the ear with a CBC readout:)
Give the big fancy boy a big hug!
 
Back
Top