01/07 Basil AMPS 89 PMPS=46; +1=83 +4.5 73

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lydia--(Rosie & Basil) GA

Member Since 2009
We like this number!

And he is a frisky kitty today.

Last night, we got up and tested. To recap:
PMPS=128, +5=85, +7=79, +10=97

Since he ate 1/4 can of food some time after +7, I don't know how that affected +10.

Last night, at bedtime (of course) he turned wildcat on me and was running around playing with anything he could find and being very affectionate. He was adorable. And looking good. :)


Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71

Very nice day for Basil. Good work Lydia. Glad you got the nighttime checks. That tells a lot. +10 may be up because of eating. Usually if they eat within 2 hrs. of a test it can raise the BG. Keep up the good work.
 
Re: 01/07 Basil's Sister

Thanks, everyone. A little digression. Basil's sister Rosie is quite chubby. Well, she's fat. We've been working to get her to lose with very slow success--but some success--for several years. She eats about 150 to 160 calories a day and she should be about 11 or 12 pounds. So, we've been worried that she is diabetic. In fact, I had her tested several years ago and she was normal. Well, I popped her ear today, at +8 or so after eating and she was 69. Whew!

We now return to our regularly scheduled kitty, who says, "Yes! The cazy people are after someone else's ear at last!"
 
Re: 01/07 Basil PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

I know we can't shoot this. What should we do? SHould we feed him? A full dinner and test afterward? Do the shot after that when we get to 70s?

He ate all his food by about +6.5 today.

We are here this evening and have plenty of strips. And food.
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

The usual steps are to stall for 15-30 minutes without feeding, then retest to see if he is rising. However, I like to feed the 40's so I would probably give a little bitty snack (a tsp or so) of low carb food just to get him out of the 40's.

This earns a dose reduction! When you do shoot, Basil's new dose is 1 unit. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

Off to carry this out. I'll report back. Thanks!!

Give the tsp and shoot or give the tsp, wait 15, test and shoot?

Then when do we givehis real dinner? Which should be now?
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

and don't shoot yet! (in case I wasn't clear enough). Don't think you're planning to....
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

Thank you! We're thrilled.

What kind of number am I waiting for to shoot. The low 70s?

I don;t think a tsp will get him up there. Or is this a lather, rinse repeat until we get to the 70s? SOrry to be dense.
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

basically we're waiting to see a clear rise. We don't want it to be a food spike rise (that's why we don't usually feed at +12 if we're stalling a shot). The insulin should be petering out pretty soon because it's the end of the cycle, so we just want to make sure that natural rise is happening before we shoot. A number in the 70's would be good but it doesn't necessarily have to go that high.
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

Okay. He is MAD at me. His sister and the dog ate and he got a paltry tsp!! I'll blame it on you. :)

We'll test again shortly and report.
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46; PMPS+30=59 Pls Advise

He went up to 59 about 30mins after last test and about 15min after eating.

Too low yet to feed dinner and shoot?
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46; PMPS+30=59 Pls Advise

tell him just wait, won't it be fun when he gets his dinner and everybody else has to watch?

hmmm, 59 is still a little borderline in my book. How about stalling another 15 minutes?
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46; PMPS+30=59 Pls Advise

Okay. 15 minutes and a test?

If so, can you tell me what would be over the borderline at the next check? LOL

So he doesn't eat my arm while I post?
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46 Need Advice ASAP Pls

Lydia and Basil said:
Okay. He is MAD at me. His sister and the dog ate and he got a paltry tsp!! I'll blame it on you. :)

:lol: :lol: :lol: When they are mad, you can really tell too, right....the tail is swishing and the ears are back and the eyes are staring daggers...I have a mental pic of your Basil.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

Congratualtions on your dosecrease...Basil looks like a real sweetie pie!
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46; PMPS+45=60 Advice?

65 looks good IMHO, what do you think? I can tell you're ready to shoot. :smile:

Then feed that kitty and get a +1. Good job! And congrats on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 +5.5=71 PMPS=46; PMPS+45=60

Yup, thank you, Ronnie. Deep breathing and considering eating an ice cream pop!

We are all fed, shot and waiting for a +1.

What we are talking over now is whether to start trying to get back an hour and 10 minutes, 15 minutes at a time, starting tomorrow, or to let a couple of days pass on this schedule since we did a dose decrease.
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 PMPS=46; +1=83

Lydia and Basil said:
So I think a +1 of 83 is pretty nice! Anyone else agree?
This is a Nice-a-roni number! Very tasty (like macaroni?)
Glad you guys are doing so goooood!!
 
Re: 01/07 Basil +2.5 78 Advice Pls?

Hi folks,

Just to recap,
PMPS was 46,
We delayed 1hr 10min and got a dose reduction

Does this look like we need to test during the night? (It's past my bedtime and we were up for a mini curve last night)

We can do tests during the night if people think they are necessary. Please let me know your opinion.

We also could get up and feed and/or leave out food, icluding frozen cubes of LC for delayed feeding.

Thanks!
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 PMPS=46; +1=83 +2.5 78 Advice Pls?

hi lydia. basil's doing so well!
if it were me, i'd leave some food out before going to bed and then set the alarm to get a sleep test in a couple of hours.
jmo...
 
Re: 01/07 Basil AMPS 89 PMPS=46; +1=83 +2.5 78 Advice Pls?

nice job tonight Lydia, and Basil says thanks for the extra snackus.
 
I fed him what I think should be enough to keep him happy overnight and am going to bed. I never got to sleep before the +4.5 and I'm bushed. To me, these numbers, with some food, look very good, esp with the reduced dose. I doubt we'll do more testing until AMPS.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top