01/06 Tıfıl DKA Urgent question??

Status
Not open for further replies.

ISIL&TIFIL

Member Since 2011
the old condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59910

Hello everyone,
Tıfıl is at home now with me...
I fed her now with w/d, offcourse she is still not feeling well...:(
Tomorrow the vet will test for potassium again, maybe he will decide to give some extra potassium addition to the lactated ringer...
Tıfıl's numbers today were;
amps 247,
+1.5 258
+3 320
+6 295
+9.5 237

I still think that she needs more insulin, I am waiting for 6th cycle. What about not waitin, this an emergency isn't it?
Should I increase again?


Tıfıl took something like 200ml of lactated ringer today....
I still think that tıfıl MUST take potassium in addition, should I buy a supplement or something...He is going to check the potassium level everyday, so I can see if it's working or not...

EDİT:
FORGET THE INCREASEMENT, SHOULD I BE SCARED OF +1 144?????????????????
 
Re: Tıfıl DKA New post Dosing???

Thanks god PMPS 194!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Yehuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuuu
yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam cat(2)_steam
 
Re: Tıfıl DKA 01/05 New post

:RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT


(Maybe change the subject line to this: 1/05 Tifil PMPS 194 :-D
and take down the 911 -- you can replace it with the question mark if you have a dosing question)
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194 :)

Yay for Tifil! You look ever so nice in blue! Pink just isn't your color.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144 ???

WHAT WONDERFUL NUMBERS!!!!!!!!

This is so heartwarming to see!

celi
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +1.5 141

Some one else will have to tell you if you should be scared. I think you should be watching closely and testing often, as you are.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +1.5 141, +2 138

So happy to see some improvement in Tifil :-D :-D :-D . No point wasting your worry just yet (if you have any left after the last few days!) just keep testing and updating. What a nice break for her body to see some blue.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

So far so good.....nice job of testing. I think she does not need a dosecrease right now :-D

Is she eating on her own yet or are you still assist feeding her? It's important that she continue to get lots of calories and water....so mix water in her food.

Great job!
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

You're doing great. Let's get more eyes on your condo to answer your questions...and so that you can get some sleep!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

Those are some really nice numbers for Tifil. :mrgreen:
Is she eating okay?
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

I got 3 different results for +3.5 120, 73, 139....second was with a small amount of blood so maybe it can be wrong...tıfıl is sleeping in the closet, I didn't want to take her out so I did the testing in the closet with blind eyes :)
She made her poo poo, claps for tıfıl :)
So if she is hypokalemia she should be constipated, shouldn't she?
Or maybe the iv fluids and watery foods made her stool come out...

She is not eating, I am assist feeding her :)
Ok I will use this word but I am sure god is laughing at me, mine is nothing to do with assist feeding :roll:
I had to go and have a bath, I am a vegie and I was covered with beef all over me :cry:

She doesn't look good, she has a suffering look on her face :(
and she is really week. After I feed her she shakes her head and she looses control :( she stumbles to one side :(
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

I don't have experience with DKA or hypokalemia, but I know that muscle weakness and constipation are among the symptoms of hypokalemia. I think the extra fluids and wet food did help to relieve her constipation. I am concerned about her weakness, and perhaps someone else here can address that issue. When do you take her back to the vet?
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

Tomorrow morning, after 7 hours...
I think she needs potassium, maybe my vet will decide to give her tomorrow (I hope)
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

Isil, just in case that 73 at +3.5 was the closest to correct number, I would get another test in about 30 to 45 minutes from that one. Please post the number. Sorry to keep you awake.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA but PMPS 194, +1 144, +2 138, +2.5 109

+4.5 100 :)
We are going good..
I will feed her,
She is still hiding :(
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+2.5 109,+4 100

Such good numbers for Tifil! Hiding makes her feel safe, it is okay. My cats always do this when they don't feel well or when someone they don't know comes to the house. Sometimes they hide just to have quiet time alone. When one of my cats is sick I make a quiet place with a bed, food, water and litter box so that he can be by himself.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+2.5 109,+4 100

Tıfıl also always hides when someone comes to the house, so my husband made a closet for her, it's square and it has a cat door on one side..so tıfıl gets in and hides there as she wishes....Now she is in there but I will take her out to feed her...she hates me @-)
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+2.5 109,+4 100

Again, those are some really nice numbers, Tifil. She's surfing along, nicely. I'm sure she wants to rest. And, I'm also sure she doesn't hate you.
That sounds like a nice cozzy closet your DH made for her.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+2.5 109,+4 100

Thank you Dyana :)
I wish I can catch her while she is making her little toilet and I can check for her ketones....
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Isil:

PLEASE -- do not give Tifil any supplements. You need to have labs run to know if anything needs to be added to what Tifil is already getting. I said this previously but it bears repeating. There are huge problems internationally with product safety when it comes to supplements. Unless you are absolutely sure of the purity of what you're giving, you could do more harm than good. Likewise, giving a sick cat any supplements or over the counter medication, you could also complicate your cat's recovery.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Isil,

When does Tifil nadir? If it is at +6, you are almost there, then her #s should start rising.

When was the last time she ate before you got the 83? I'm wondering if there a food spike in that #?

Make sure you are not feeding her so much that she gets too full b/c if she drops too low you will want to feed the drop and you don't want her to be too full. But I know she needs to eat b/c she is ill. It's a very difficult balance, I know.

You are doing fantastic taking care of Tifil and she does not hate you. She loves you dearly for all you have done/are doing for her and she knows how hard you are fighting for her wellness.

Were you able to get a ketone check yet?
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

She's looking great for her BG, Isil. I know you are worried and I hope the assist feeding and the fluids will help her.

I have to echo Sienne's sentiments: please let the vet test her potassium and let him decide if she needs to be supplemented and if so, with what. Please keep us posted. HOping she will decide to eat soon.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

I agree w/what the others have said, PLEASE do not give Tifil any kind of supplements or meds w/out test results, especially re the potassium. You need the labs, first.

Is Tifil the only cat in your house? If so, maybe if you can't actually catch her urine for a ketone stick test you could scoop some of the wet litter if it's fresh into a cup, put a tiny bit of water in there, swish it around some and test that. I don't know how much dilution effect the water would have on the urine and therefore the results but I know at least 2 of us on the board have done this (I am one, with Tinkerbell) and it at least gave us some idea. Tink tested negative when I did this, and she has never had ketones.

Does anybody know what effect the water would have on the urine & hence the results if Isil tried this?
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

i don't know, desi, but i know people sometimes put plastic wrap over part of the litter box, making little bowls with it so that some urine can get caught.

isil, my daughter who is also vegetarian is sending you sympathy for you being covered with beef. i'm sure that's not your favorite thing! you are doing all the right things for tifil. i think God is saying he sent Tifil to the right person, not laughing at you. you're doing such a wonderful job - we're all cheering for you.
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Hello
It's morning and I only slept 2 hours (maybe)...
Tıfıl i 60 now, she didn't go up, after 2 hours we have AMPS...if she is low I have to skip the shot....

I got a ketone test with pure urine...it's ++
I degree success :)
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

great job getting another ketone test. i'm so glad you at least got a couple of hours of rest. good morning!
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Isil,

Vyktor was also staggering when he had DKA. So glad Tifil is showing some improvement and so sympathise re the beef. I am vegan so having a carnivore in the house has its challenges!

Serryn
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

I'm so glad the ketones showed some improvement. Hang in there Isil. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Isil, that's great that the ketones are clearing. What a good sign that is!

I too am a vegetarian and you are right, dealing with carnivore food sometimes just grosses me out, especially when I am doing s/thg like deboning chicken to make cat food. YUCK, YUCK, DOUBLE YUCK!

I have been a vegetarian for almost 30 years. My late husband was a carnivore and we had a deal: he didn't ask me to eat meat and I didn't ask him to eat tofu! Kind of like the same deal I have w/the cats!

Good job with Tifil girl!
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Tifil really stayed kind of even all night. Please post right away at the preshot test. I know the low number is scary, but w/ DKA insulin is important too. The low number could also be a result of not eating much. How much were you able to get her to eat? And, NO, Tifil does not hate you! She knows all you are doing is out of love for her. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

No Isil, Tifil doesn't hate you....she loves you as much as WE all do! She might get irritated but she does NOT hate you!!! Good job of taking care of her!!!! I agree with someone else's statement above - no God's not laughing at you, He knew Tifil belonged with you and can laugh WITH you when you feel silly.

BIG BIG HUG!
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Great job, Isil!!! You know your darling girl loves you...she knows all you are doing for her is because of love.

So happy to see the ketones diminishing. You are amazing!!!!
 
Re: 01/05 Tıfıl DKA PMPS 194,+1 144,+2 138,+4 100,+5.5 83

Hello,
I have an urgent question...
First I want to say the good news, I tested for ketones and the result is "traces"
I tested it again and the result is "traces" again....yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

My question is, tıfıl didn't have amps shot, she was very low, an it's strange that she is 160 at +10.5...
After 45 minutes whe have pmps shooting time...
what am I going to shoot?
I gues 3.25 is way too high for her now?
I need urgent advice..
Thank you
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top