@Marje and Graciewe don’t know how low she might be going at night to really validate
When a member is new here and numbers are high, we usually suggest they get a +2 and/or before bed test. Once numbers start to come down more into the normal range, and the +2 is similar to or a lot lower than the PMPS, you should be testing again to see how low the kitty is going. I know I’ve told you that before@Marje and Gracie
Ok, I will test 5.5 in addition to a 2/2.5 every night. Would you do any further test than these? I realize, if there is a significant drop (say 65 or below?) at 5.5 & based upon number I would test again +6/6.5...
I am not accustomed to testing past a before bed which is why I am asking your opinion. Thanks
@Marje and Gracie, I go back to 12/27/18 and look at Nelli SS since then- as I did before I reached out to you.When a member is new here and numbers are high, we usually suggest they get a +2 and/or before bed test. Once numbers start to come down more into the normal range, and the +2 is similar to or a lot lower than the PMPS, you should be testing again to see how low the kitty is going.
What you are missing is what to do if the +2/+2.5 is the same or lower than PMPS.@Marje and Gracie, I go back to 12/27/18 and look at Nelli SS since then- as I did before I reached out to you.
I read it as this >is what I’ve been doing? Protocol I’ve followed? Many of the +2/ before bed test have been higher than BG @ PMPS? This is why I did not test further- What (seriously) am I missing?
Yes, I have been here for 7 months- apparently am not getting it >yet?!
My intention today, as I’ve learned over past several months... do not waste people’s self-less time with bothersome questions- forgetting instructions I’ve been told before.
@Marje and Gracie130 at PMPS to 80 at +2.5. I sure wouldn’t wait until +5.5 to test again.
@marje... again, I went back over SS to 12/27/18 and see where I (correctly?) did not test past before bedtime, >based upon this test relative to PMPS?you are missing is what to do if the +2/+2.5 is the same or lower than PMPS.

Ok.We try to give support early on so members know when they should test next.
You are going to have to be less cryptic, please, because I don’t understand your question. If you are asking me if you did the right thing by not testing past +5.5...well, I never stopped testing until I saw a rise. But that’s me and that was my cat who is not Nelli. I probably would have tested in another hour or so...past midcycle..so if she was up, I could sleep the rest of the night.@marje... again, I went back over SS to 12/27/18 and see where I (correctly?) did not test past before bedtime, >based upon this test relative to PMPS?
I’m sorry but I need to clarify this because I believe you are missing-
You aren’t irritating me. Insofar as an “I need attention day”, there is always an entire list of new members who really do need attention and help. They don’t even know where to start....I’m sure you remember those very early days because I remember mine.@Marje and Gracie
Of course. I may not have been clear in #5 above but I stated same thing as you are here.
I do know where to get written resources and will become more independent... promise.
I apologize for, what sounds like to me, irritating you. Nelli will be fine- maybe I was (just) having a I need attention day.
I will check my look in the mirror next time before I (seemingly) might be in one of these modes!


@carfurby thanks, I appreciate your wishesI hope Nelli feels better soon. Sending prayers.![]()

... yesterday lookin’ great Thanks MarjeI am always happy to give dosing advice when asked regardless of how long or short a time a member has been here or how experienced they are
, I was feeling a bit beat up by you. I appreciate your words here 

Oops, posting, texting and, email are often difficult for me to come across in what I meant or sometimes my tonejust because she did that on 12/27 on a different dose does not mean that’s what she would do again.
.
. 
I very much disagree. I looked back over past posts I’ve made to you before and have consistently advised you that if the numbers at +2 are similar to or less than PMPS, you need to do more testing. This occurred both on 1/3 and 1/4. On the former, she had dropped 14 by +2 which is similar to the PMPS. On the latter, she dropped 52 which indicates to me you would have seen a fairly active cycle.Oops, posting, texting and, email are often difficult for me to come across in what I meant or sometimes my tone.
You are right, going back to >as far as 12/27/18 Nelli was on a different dose. I was going back from 12/27 to present which did cover two different doses.
I need to be as clear as possible:
Based upon the test after each PMPS going back to 12/27 (thru two different doses) I asked for help understanding what might have happened regarding her recent high (unusually high all of a sudden numbers?) numbers?
*My original asking you to help me understand doesn’t change. If you’ll look at her SS since 01/01/19, every night at each test following PMPS, there was no reason to test again- “testing again to see how low the kitty is going”, wouldn’t you agree?
I take responsibility for not being clear.
Thanks![]()
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number. Onset begins around +2 for most cats. You'll probably see an active cycle if the +2 is the same/similar OR lower than the preshot number. Continue testing!
+3 - Often lower than the PreShot number.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle. NOTE: ECID. Not every cat has a mid-cycle nadir. Adjust the hours on this example to fit your cat.)
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (one of the quirks of Lantus/Basaglar/Levemir: some cat's blood glucose numbers dip around +10 or +11... not to be confused with nadir).
+12 - PreShot number.
Ok.I very much disagree. I looked back over past posts I’ve made to you before and have consistently advised you that if the numbers at +2 are similar to or less than PMPS, you need to do more testing. This occurred both on 1/3 and 1/4. On the former, she had dropped 14 by +2 which is similar to the PMPS. On the latter, she dropped 52 which indicates to me you would have seen a fairly active cycle.
Both nights, I suspect she went even lower because that’s the way she was headed at +2. Remember this chart (bold is mine):
Except neither of us was. It’s important you know the history before you judge.Geez and we wonder why people leave this forum!!!
Just isn’t necessary to be rude & derogatory.
Thanks for your post. I appreciate them.patience & kindness
"Relentlessly beat me up"... Sigh, from my perspective, trying to get through to you relentlessly is more like it.I got beat up but never again like this/this way. To relentlessly beat me up in public was not kind.
This certainly should have- could have been done through a Conversation.
I kept trying to deflect and defend myself in face of the public- if I didn’t care I would have swallowed and walked.

Geez and we wonder why people leave this forum!!!
Just isn’t necessary to be rude & derogatory.
Except neither of us was. It’s important you know the history before you judge.![]()
Becky, make no mistake, people leave each and every forum on the board, including the one you just came from, for a multitude of reasons. The number is usually commensurate to the size of the group.No judgement here. History in not relevant...
Forgive me... I can only guess at yet another cryptic comment. You think it's interesting I've "liked" certain posts? "Liking" a post is how one electronically registers their approval of an online post or comment. It never occurred to me the action would require an explanation. For the life of me I can't imagine what about the "likes" makes them interesting, let alone "very" interesting.Very interesting (at minimum) @Jill & Alex (GA)... your like (s)?
In so far as this thread goes... no one is pulling you back, but you. You pulled attention back to this thread by tagging me and posting a question to me... not vice versa.Please let me move onwards and up with Nelli.
I'm not dwelling anywhere, Krystina. You dragged me into the conversation. All I'm "guilty" of is "liking" some posts in this thread.Why continue to dwell in the past?
Not that you're due any explanation for my reasoning, I'll respond anyway...Jill, you obviously have an opinion of what transpired between Marje and I on Sunday.
Instead of shooting off Like (s) behind closed doors, why didn’t you surface, offer your own opinion; remark?