01/03 Sam Siam amps pmps 128

Status
Not open for further replies.

donna & sam siam

Member Since 2011
Sam is falling into low numbers this morning. Checked at +2 & was 47. Fed him small amount of his regular food. 20 min later he was 44 so gave more food with about 1/3 t honey. 20 min later 45 so gave a little more food & about 1/2 t honey. Am I doing ok? Didn't want to over do it since he isn't that much lower than 50 but am keeping close eye.

**Just checked again, 20 more minutes, 49. Going to hold off food & check again soon unless I hear different. Time now is about amps +3.25.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=59948
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47

You are handling it great.....and Sam Siam earned a dose reduction with those 40's! Usual reductions are done in 0.25 increments.

Get a +4 check, for sure.....then base if he needs more food and homey based on that. Usually check every 30 minutes until you get 2-3 rising numbers and then get another check later in the cycle to be sure he has stayed in good numbers and not slid back down.
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47

Thank you Sherry! Since every situation is different I could only use the protocol as a guideline, but I didn't want to move to fast. I'm so glad I'm home today! It's my last day of vaca. :cry:

Ok, just checked at +4 & it's 55. Going the right direction! :-D
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47

No problem.....you are handling it great. The protocol is VERY helpful.....gives great guidelines!

Enjoy your last day of vaca!
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47, +4 55

Those are pretty nice numbers, minus those 40's! You handled it fine...better than I did at first!
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47, +4 55

Great cycle and great job of steering the numbers!

A suggestion -- since you were getting several tests, you can list the numbers in the comments section of your SS or another way of listing them out is how I do it in Gabby's SS. (You'll need to manually adjust the color in the cells, though.)

I've used both honey and Karo with Gabby since she's sensitive to gluten. I've found that because honey has a lower glycemic index, it takes longer for it to bring numbers up. You may want to have karo in the house, as well. It does work faster than honey and there are times when you don't want to have your cat surfing in low numbers.
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47, +4 55

Sienne,
Thank you again for your suggestions. I was so happy that it went well this morning pulling up his numbers slowly. dancing_cat Would you agree that Sam deserves a .25 decrease this evening? I don't want to mess things up again. Since I'm not used to seeing such good numbers it makes me leary about shooting when it's in the low 200s or even less. As you can see, this morning I shot at 214 & he went low. But that may have been because he really didn't want a full 1.5.

Thanks to all of you for your support and encouragement! Sooo glad this happened today since I am home. Let's pray all goes well in the morning cause I have to go back to work.

Just checked & Sam is 88 at +6
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47, +4 55

First I dont thimk I ever posted to you, but I just read your profile..and saw Sam's pix!!
Moonie's back end isnt great either, & she also sits with her leg(which has neuropathy) straight out like Sam--So I am wondering if Sam has some neuropathy?..But Moonie has made many adjustments to her condition..She walks half on her hocks, & half on her toes, and still can jump on the couch but we have steps for her onto the bed.-Let me know her symptoms, maybe could be neuropathy, which can be helped somewhat with methyl B12..
Yes tonite would be a dose reduction of 0.25U Sam is doing so so well for a new FD!!
Reducing the dose would reduce the big drops Sam is having.--You are doing a great job!!
Sam you are looking real good! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47, +4 55. +6 88

great job handling the numbers today. :mrgreen:

I would definitely take the 0.25u reduction tonight. Sam earned it. :smile: If he bounces all the way to the moon, you can shoot 1.5u one last time if you want to, then reduce in the morning. Yesterday he didn't bounce off of his green, though, so hopefully he won't bounce tonight either.
 
Re: 01/03 Sam Siam amps 214. +2 47, +4 55. +6 88

Hi Donna,
What a great, green surf for Sam today. You are doing so well. Congrats on the dosecrease!

Ella & Rusty
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top