01/03 - Pip - AMPS 194, +2 58, +3 50, +4 49, +4.5 50. + 5.25 58, +6 61, +6.5 74. +9 122, PMPS 205, +1.5 265

Pip ate a little bit (enough for his shot) but then he had diarhea and now he's not interested in his food at all.

I gave him a lil bit of cerenia hoping it will make him hungrier, but is there a medication you all give for diarhea?

I feel like its going to be an active cycle, go Pip go <3
 
Last edited:
Pip ate a little bit (enough for his shot) but then he had diarhea and now he's not interested in his food at all.

I gave him a lil bit of cerenia hoping it will make him hungrier, but is there a medication you all give for diarhea?

I feel like its going to be an active cycle, go Pip go <3
Hi Sarah, is the loose poop a new thing? Sudden?

I use Animal Essentials Colon Rescue (on Amazon) and Jarrow S. Boulardii (also Amazon) with loose poops.
They seem to help Ivy a lot.

I hope Pip feels better! ❤️‍🩹🥰
 
Hi Sarah, is the loose poop a new thing? Sudden?

I use Animal Essentials Colon Rescue (on Amazon) and Jarrow S. Boulardii (also Amazon) with loose poops.
They seem to help Ivy a lot.its

I hope Pip feels better! ❤️‍🩹🥰
its not the first time but it had been a few weeks, I will order both of those today :)

Thank you Staci you're a sweetheart 💕
 
I do have some fortiflora for another cat, could it help?

he hasn't gone back to poop but hasnt eaten either after his small breakfast at AMPS
 
I do have some fortiflora for another cat, could it help?

he hasn't gone back to poop but hasnt eaten either after his small breakfast at AMPS
I’ve read that FortiFlora can help as an appetite Stimulant, they seem to like the taste of it if you sprinkle it on top of their food, so it could be worth a try.

Has Pip ever had pancreatitis? Not trying to scare you or anything and maybe it’s absolutely not that, but that’s what Ivy had last year.
She started with loose poops which continued to get worse over a day and it turned out she had pancreatitis. She stopped eating and I had to force feed her. That’s when I started S. Boulardii with MOS to get the loose poops under control.
I could tell something was wrong with Ivy as she was hiding in a corner completely not interacting and in a meatloaf position.

So just questioning that with Pip, it’s something to be aware of when their appetite is off and they can have diarrhea.

It’s good you have Cerenia in the house as that’s one of the medication’s given and possibly ondansetron if he is nauseous, do you have that in the house?
It’s a prescription that you can get at any regular pharmacy.
Info - A Primer On Pancreatitis

My Cat Has Diarrhea - What Do I Do?


How to Use S boulardii for diarrhea
 
ok so Pip is at 58 at +2, he still didnt want to eat until I put a spoonful of HC aging royal canin in gravy in his bowl and now he is finally eating, will test again in 30.

I will definitely call his vet on Monday if Pip is still having loose poops and or his apetite doesnt come back.

Go my little surfer boy you can doooo it! 🏄‍♀️
 
Last edited:
50 at +2.5, gave him a table spoon of the HC food.

testing again in 30

I am pretty nervous to be honest!
It good that he's eating now. That'll help him through this low. Is he carb sensitive? Sometimes you don't need HC, but if it's all he'll eat right now, then go for it. Monster always gets a good bump from just eating her LC food.
They can scare the crap out of us with those lows. Just keep doing what you're doing and he'll be ok!
 
he's still being much more picky than usual, wont have the dm, wont have the tiki cat, even snubbed the fancy feast after eating about a 3rd of a can pre shot.
I put the bit of HC on top of the fancy feast and then he ate the HC plus a bit more fancy feast.

Still at 50 at +3... come on Pip just come up a wheeee bit...
 
The good news is he's holding steady for now! Looks like he hits lowest of his cycle by +4, no? That's not too far from now. If you need to you can mix honey in his food to help bump him up if he's not wanting to eat much now.
Sorry I'm not a whole lot of help, but I'm just not as experienced as some others.
Maybe @Mary & Jude is around.
 
The good news is he's holding steady for now! Looks like he hits lowest of his cycle by +4, no? That's not too far from now. If you need to you can mix honey in his food to help bump him up if he's not wanting to eat much now.
Sorry I'm not a whole lot of help, but I'm just not as experienced as some others.
Maybe @Mary & Jude is around.
Still very grateful that you are here thank you!
Testing his +3.5 now
 
52 at +3.5, gave him the rest of the HC since he really doesnt want to eat anything else for now.

Come on Pip, just a lil bit higher please
 
Still steady, possibly on the rise. It's good that you got him to eat it. I think that'll help him come up until he starts to rise naturally on his own.

Pip, this is not usually how we handle dose increases come on up to the beach now. 🌊⛱️
 
Looks like you've both got this. Your putting the hc food with the regular was exactly as you're supposed to. I mean, he's on the low end anyhow. And since getting him to eat us very important, it won't hurt him in the least. Just keep monitoring and he should do fine. Especially as it's almost time for him to start climbing up a bit. Congrats on the a level head through this. I had read and reread what to do IF, so many times. And still felt like a chicken missing its head.
 
Honey or karo would be fine. Just don't be like me and give so much. They say but a few drops us enough to do the trick
 
Wow! Im surprised the HC didn't help more. If it were me, I would probably mix some in to see if he'll eat it. He should be coming up soon.
 
And remember, from here he should be rising. So take a few deep breaths and test again later. I'm sure you'll see him above the 50 again. ❤️
Those first limes are so scary. Heck, even the second time. But you have the data to show he goes up from here, and the hypo toolkit which you've been using amazingly to keep him from going too low. You've both got this 💖
 
Hi Sarah!

How long has it been since his last test of 50? You want to continue feeding him 1-2 tsp of HC (you can mix honey/syrup into the food to make it HC if you are out of HC food) and then testing about 30 mins. later until his bg numbers begin going up.
 
Hi Sarah!

How long has it been since his last test of 50? You want to continue feeding him 1-2 tsp of HC (you can mix honey/syrup into the food to make it HC if you are out of HC food) and then testing about 30 mins. later until his bg numbers begin going up.
its been 23 minutes since I gave him syrup, he ate a whole can of HC and is not hungry anymore (not much apetite today :( )
 
its been 23 minutes since I gave him syrup, he ate a whole can of HC and is not hungry anymore (not much apetite today :( )
I made the mistake the first time, of giving him too much of the hc food at once. I'm sorry that I didn't think of that.
I was later told once his numbers dip below 50, to give him 1-2tsp only at each feeding, trying to raise his numbers. Your instinct is to load them with the food. But in giving too much at once, they'll become full and then you can't get them to eat more after every 30min testing that's still below 50.
I'm not saying you did this, but I did and you definitely don't want to do that. It's even scarier when you need to get those carbs in them, but they're refusing food. My Nico would go for hours on end of below 50.
 
Oof, stressful times. C'mon Pip, just a few steps up please. 💚

Syrup boosts don't last long, I believe, and you're supposed to continue to try feeding? But I haven't actually done this, so someone else should please weigh in. (I panicked when Gen went symptomatically hypo and took him straight to the hospital, but this was before I had a Libre or was on this board - and we haven't had a lime since).

Just chiming in on the S Boulardii - seems to have helped with Gen's loose stools as well, though we're doing a funny balancing act between that and a laxative at present.
 
58 30 minutes after syrup.

Should I give more or give him a little break?
I would see if he will eat a bit more HC (syrup + food, if that's what you have)--about 1 good tsp or so. You can sprinkle some Fortiflora on it, and sometimes that entices them to eat. Then, test again in about 30 mins. I'd like to see him out of those 50s. His nadir is typically around +4, so he should be coming up on his own soon.
 
I found a can of MC and managed to get Pip to eat a spoonful with fortiflora on it.

That was about 15 minutes ago so I will test again in 15.

Should i reduce the dose back to 2.75 this evening?
 
I would see if he will eat a bit more HC (syrup + food, if that's what you have)--about 1 good tsp or so. You can sprinkle some Fortiflora on it, and sometimes that entices them to eat. Then, test again in about 30 mins. I'd like to see him out of those 50s. His nadir is typically around +4, so he should be coming up on his own soon.
he's at 61 at+4 hahaha... it's out of the 50s but Baaaaaarely

he really doesnt want to eat anymore for now he is napping

should i do another test in 30 or wait a bit longer?
 
Last edited:
Should i reduce the dose back to 2.75 this evening?
Under TR he has earned a dose reduction.

Yes, I would test him in 30 mins. The food/syrup will remain in his system only about an hour or so, and you want to continue testing to ensure he doesn't drop back down into lower numbers once the food is out of his system. You're looking for a pattern of flat or rising numbers.

Some notes from today:

Regarding food and honey: Food can give them a bg boost for about two hours; honey/syrup is a shorter bg boost. You always want to remember that, in about two hours, the food/syrup will no longer be in his system (unless he eats again), so it's important to test again about 1-2 hours after feeding either food/syrup to ensure he hasn't dropped too low again.

Today was a good chance to learn how Pip responds to carbs--the LC/MC wasn't boosting him; he needed the HC to get out of those lower numbers, and even that was not having that much of an affect today. This is important data that you've gathered for the next time you need to carb manipulate him to boost him.

Notice that drop yesterday and today from the AMPS number? That's a good indicator to you that he's going to have an active cycle. When you see drops like that, you'll probably want to begin feeding a higher carb food to try and prevent a large drop. You don't want to feed too much (1-2 tsps food) because you might need for him to remain hungry through the cycle in case his numbers remain low (sort of like they did today) and you need to continue feeding him. You might even find it necessary to test Pip at +1 for a while to see if he begins diving (he seems to do this more in the a.m. cycle), and, if so, intervene with food. The idea is to use the carbs to break the bg drop at the insulin's onset and flatten out his surf. Big drops can sometimes cause bouncing, so they are good to avoid. Here is a note I have pasted on Jude's spreadsheet (from Wendy) to remind me of this:

"★A guideline that may help you to decide if you need to pull an all nighter [or an indicator that he is going to have an active cycle] is the +2 value compared to preshot value. If the values are about the same, it's a normal Lantus cycle with some downward movement. If the value of +2 is quite a bit lower, then it's more active and needs more attention paid. If the +2 is higher (such as last night), it's a quiet cycle and you can go to sleep."
 
Last edited:
I wouldn't give him any more to try and boost him with the honey. He's moving up already, and will continue to do so naturally, now that he's passed his nadir. I was told that you want 2 good numbers (out of the lime), before you can stop hovering/testing.😅
My only concern would be if you drop back down, you might get the higher numbers again. In dosage. But, who knows? Maybe he just needed that higher dose for a heartbeat to help. Just don't be afraid to go back up again if he needs. Or maybe what some revert to as a Fat 2.75. Like measuring out the 2.75 isn't hard enough.😅
It doesn't look like he's a bouncer, so hopefully you don't see him skyrocketing tonight.
You both did great for your first low number. Congrats on persevering
 
Yes, Pip has earned his first dose reduction! Good timing that this happened on the weekend when you can monitor.

In my part of Canada, I can get s. boulardii as Florastor in most pharmacies or pharmacy sections of grocery stores.
 
I tested his plus 9 and then had a lil nap.

Pip has not had any more diarhea but he also didnt eat much.

I hope he is hungry for his dinner in 40 minutes :)
 
Pip's apetite is finally back he had a can of fancy feast beef pate and his bg is 265 at +1.5

Hopefully we can both safely sleep tonight but I will test him at +3 just to be 100% sure :)

Thank you everyone for helping me with this first lime (49 but still) you are all the best 💕
 
Back
Top