01/02/13 Emmy AMPS 175(9.7), +1 207(11.5),

Status
Not open for further replies.

jennyb

Member Since 2012
made sure she ate good, before shot. +1 207 (11.5), +2 167 (9.3), (feed her 10 crunchies), +3 157 (8.7)(fed her 18 crunchies), +5 196(10.9), +6 232 (12.9)
Yaaaay!

What the??? Is this, PMPS 137, +1 211, +4 423. I'm confused, I fed her, shot her, I'm sure she got her dose, I always smell her fur to make sure i don't smell insulin. The only thing I can think of as different is I had to go out for an hour or so, so I fed her some medi-cal diabetic before I left at +1 just in case she dipped a little lower than the pre shot like the + number chart said and now it's crazy high.
 
Re: 01/02/13 Emmy AMPS 9.7, +1 11.5,+2

U.S. numbers, please!

For the amount of data you have, you may not want to start a new spreadsheet. It's your call.
 
Re: 01/02/13 Emmy AMPS 9.7, +1 11.5,+2

Sienne and Gabby said:
U.S. numbers, please!

For the amount of data you have, you may not want to start a new spreadsheet. It's your call.

sorry I did it again changing the numbers now, have to start new one the old one is messed up, and no one from tech help would help me fix it.

When I have time I may re do it into one in the next week or so, it was driviing me nuts.
the old one is still in my signature.
 
Jenny sent me a PM.
I don't understand what is happening, with Emmy, her PMPS was137, +1 was 211 , so I gave her a few Medi-cal diabetic food from vet like 8 crunchies, then her +4 is 423.

Medi-cal is the same as Royal Canin here in the US. Did you give the diabetic dry food? If so, it's going to be way high in carbs (38%). A lot of vets consider a "diabetic" diet as one that's high in fiber. It's old school thinking. The High Fiber canned food is 29% carbs. So, basically, you now have data to share with your vet about what his preferred diabetic diet does to Emmy's BG numbers.

As far as "crunchy" treats, unless you absolutely know they are low carb, I would donate them to a non-diabetic cat. They are also very high in carbs. Gizmo "shared" a crunchy treat (he found a sample pack of Temptations in a box that had canned food that I'd ordered, chewed through the bag, and had treats scattered all over the hall. Gabby ate 2. Her BG levels spiked.)
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Jenny sent me a PM.
I don't understand what is happening, with Emmy, her PMPS was137, +1 was 211 , so I gave her a few Medi-cal diabetic food from vet like 8 crunchies, then her +4 is 423.

Medi-cal is the same as Royal Canin here in the US. Did you give the diabetic dry food? If so, it's going to be way high in carbs (38%). A lot of vets consider a "diabetic" diet as one that's high in fiber. It's old school thinking. The High Fiber canned food is 29% carbs. So, basically, you now have data to share with your vet about what his preferred diabetic diet does to Emmy's BG numbers.

As far as "crunchy" treats, unless you absolutely know they are low carb, I would donate them to a non-diabetic cat. They are also very high in carbs. Gizmo "shared" a crunchy treat (he found a sample pack of Temptations in a box that had canned food that I'd ordered, chewed through the bag, and had treats scattered all over the hall. Gabby ate 2. Her BG levels spiked.)

WOW! that is crazy. Thanks so much for the info, I guess I'll use the diabetic for in case she goes hypo(heaven forbid) lol. That is insane, that something my vet gave me specifically for a diabetic cat is horrible for her. I am feeding her orijin but, sometimes persuading her to eat is hard if she's not hungry,(if her numbers were low) so I was giving her the diabetic stuff because she would readily eat it.

Thank so much
jennyb
 
Hi Jenny from a fellow Canadian. Have you looked at the list of foods on Dr. Lisa's website? It doesn't include Orijin but even the Orijin website says that their dry cat foods are 20% carb using the guaranteed analysis. That isn't exactly comparable to the As Fed By #'s used to calculate the numbers in Dr. Lisa's list, but it does tell you it likely isn't low carb. We consider anything less than 10% to be low carb. Some of the Merck wet foods listed on the Low Glycemic web site are over 10% carbs and we'd consider them medium carb food. Good luck on the transition to wet, it can be a challenge, but is worth it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top