01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383 +2.75 198

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205

Happy New Year Cheryl & Whiskers! Looking good at +6, Whiskers is making progress & you are too ;-)
She is so close to Blue.. would you be willing to get a +9 spot check?
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205

Hi Nicole and Baby,

Happy new year to you too cat_pet_icon . Yes I can do a +9. will post it than.

Thanks Again.
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205

Sure anytime ;-)
I know it can be frusturating when you don't see results quickly.. Baby was only on insulin 4 months before going OTJ & I know it felt like forever... so hang in there, Whiskers is right on time.. his time :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205

O no.. please don't base my experience as an idea.. I have seen kitties here a month, I have also seem them here a few years, some never get OTJ... no way to tell. :YMSIGH: Cheering Whiskers & you on though! Whiskers is on 1.50.. he may end up needing more insulin.. time will tell & advisors will too ;-)
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432

Great job on getting data today.. really great job ;-) hang in there.. others will be by with any thoughts.
How is Whiskers? Appetite? Litterbox, etc?

**I got to thinking.. does Whiskers eat within 2 hours of shot time? Do you ever feed a snack at +9?
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432

Happy New Year Cheryl and Whiskers!!

Frip and I have been here 7 months.. but all I wanted is to keep him healthy with me the longest possible time… I never really expected OTJ… :-D
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432

Hi everyone,

Thanks for the encouragment, we really appreciate it.

I almost always feed Whiskers twice daily, after AMPS and PMPS. She does get snacks after each blood glucose test, because she hates them, crying after each poke, and we were told to offer affection and snack (freeze dried chicken) to encourage and make it easier. She was also feed treats from the table by my sister (who is deceased), so Whiskers is always begging. I do give her table scrapes if they are protien, not a lot thou, just small amounts as I a concerned about the effect on her blood glucose (not feeding consistant amounts and at the same time, etc.) Sometimes I think giving extra food helps sometime not. Any advise along those lines is appreciated.
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383

Hello,

Whiskers PMPS is down a little from her +9. Strange. I think someone (sienna?) told us it is called a double dip?
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383

Hi Cheryl, edit your subject line & put question in there so you can get some eyes & answers hopefully.
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383 question?

HI, GUYS!!

HAPPY NEW YEAR...and will bump your post.

celi & binks
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383

hi there,

may I ask, how old is your insulin?
I was looking for a current date on your SS, just wondering on that.

the double dip, I often see it around +11, and as noted in this sticky New to the Group

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


I would like to suggest a couple of evening checks, at least a before bedtime check, might help to see where Whiskers goes.
Let's see what others can add.
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383 question?

Hi Celi,

Thanks. Happy new year to you!

Whisers and I keep try to get her to come down.
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383 question?

Yup. I remember mentioning it -- that drop late in the cycle is, in fact, referred to as a "double dip."

This may sound like a dumb question but it looks like you were getting your PMPS not all that long ago. I know it's hard for you to get PM spot checks in. Is there any reason you can't shoot earlier? If it's possible for you to shoot earlier in the AM, our PM shot would be earlier and you could get at least one PM spot check. If you can get a spot check tonight, we may have enough info to decide on whether a dose increase is warranted.
 
Re: 01/01 Whiskers AMPS 375 +6 205 +9 432 PMPS 383 question?

Hi Sienna and Roni,

Our insulin is 75 days old. It is a vial. It is clear with no floaties, has been stored in it's box in the refrigerator, not on the door, on shelf. I know it expires after 30 days, I just can't afford more if it is still working. If not I'll try to figure something out.

I work till 10:30pm and give the PMPS as soon as I get home at 11:00 pm. So the earliest I can give it is 11:00am otherwise any earlier would be less than 12 hours. I can go do a +2.75 right now. will post in a minute Thanks
 
Wow! Whiskers in blue! So exciting! Roni & Sienne gave some great info. I know how it is when you don't have the $ but I'd suggest a new supply. I know you said you have a vial, if you got a RX to a hospital they might sell 1 pen & there is a coupon for $25 off a new RX so a new supply would cost $25
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top