Mindy & Max
Active Member
Friday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9607
Wow, so it was a roller coaster weekend. Did a curve on Saturday. Tried to up the dose on Sunday. Nearly went hypo Sunday evening. After vomit, called after hours vet line...that vet said not to shoot next am if not above 200...and said I shouldn't have shot pmps at 85. I probably shouldn't have, but was trying to follow protocol, tho realized later that because I was shooting 30min early, should have reduced dose another .25U. Anyhow, crisis averted and I've gone back to 2U dose and abandoned dose increase to 2.25U.
Ended up coming down with stomach flu in the middle of the night Sunday, so was home from work yesterday.
Tried to call vet yesterday am. Vet I've been working with only works like 2 days a week, and Monday isn't one of them. She's supposed to call today...will probably be upset that a) I haven't brought him in for a curve at the office, and b) that I tried to increase his dose.
My instincts were telling me not to increase since he was on a general downward trend with his numbers anyway...and now I know that instinct was right--but wanted to try the increase when I'd be home to watch and test, not wait until Monday to have vet say to increase, but then I wouldn't be home to see what happened.
So...I have questions, but today is crazy busy at work with not being here yesterday so I can't be around much. Max is doing fine for the moment...I'll bring the questions tomorrow.
Wow, so it was a roller coaster weekend. Did a curve on Saturday. Tried to up the dose on Sunday. Nearly went hypo Sunday evening. After vomit, called after hours vet line...that vet said not to shoot next am if not above 200...and said I shouldn't have shot pmps at 85. I probably shouldn't have, but was trying to follow protocol, tho realized later that because I was shooting 30min early, should have reduced dose another .25U. Anyhow, crisis averted and I've gone back to 2U dose and abandoned dose increase to 2.25U.
Ended up coming down with stomach flu in the middle of the night Sunday, so was home from work yesterday.
Tried to call vet yesterday am. Vet I've been working with only works like 2 days a week, and Monday isn't one of them. She's supposed to call today...will probably be upset that a) I haven't brought him in for a curve at the office, and b) that I tried to increase his dose.
My instincts were telling me not to increase since he was on a general downward trend with his numbers anyway...and now I know that instinct was right--but wanted to try the increase when I'd be home to watch and test, not wait until Monday to have vet say to increase, but then I wouldn't be home to see what happened.
So...I have questions, but today is crazy busy at work with not being here yesterday so I can't be around much. Max is doing fine for the moment...I'll bring the questions tomorrow.