06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 +10.5=267 PMPS=261

Status
Not open for further replies.

carfurby (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97978

Furball was happy & purry this morning. I think she is headed up for a bounce from last night. I had to move her food dishes to different places because little ants have started coming in. I can't seem to get rid of them. It is frustrating because I have to leave food out for Furball. All of the plates she could find last night were licked clean, but there was one with the food untouched. I think she would have eaten it if she could have found it. Does anyone have a natural way to get rid of ants? I don't want to use chemicals that might hurt the cats. Thanks for your suggestions.

I ordered some Fortiflora from ADW because I also needed some test strips. Their price was similar to Amazon’s price. That was the cheapest price I found. I just hope Furball will eat it. I did use the shop link at the top of the page.
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

Morning Carla,

Bad ants, keeping Furball from fuds!! I recently read another post with an ant problem, and someone suggested putting the food bowl inside a bigger bowl filled with some water. Ants can't make it to the food then. Maybe it is worth a try?

Hope he comes down some today. Have a great day!
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

Morning Carla,

I've heard that dried bay leaves are supposed to deter ants... My gram and my mother both used bay leaves for ants. Gram used to leave one on her cupboard shelf, mom kept them in an open plastic sandwich bag. I don't know if its OK with cats though, do I'd google it first just to make sure. I'm sure you'll find lots of natural remedies to try.

Hope Furball slides down a bit today. Have a good day,
Kathie
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

I've heard of surrounding the food bowl with water, too.
Ants are a pain.
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

Morning Carla,
Ants, out out darn ants!!! Me too on surrounding the food with water. We use a spray that gets rid of them, but you have to find the spot they're using to come in and only spray that spot. So you end up on your hands and knees, following the ant parade . It's usually a light socket or electrical outlet. I'll be glad to hear the remedies other people give you.
Sending get out ant vines and beautiful bounce clearing vines to you and Furball.
Have a great day Carla. xoxo mary and ollie
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

Come on down Furball! We have done the food bowl inside a shallow bowl of water as well when we have had that happen. Ants don't like water and can't get to the food. I hadn't heard about the bay leaves, but that is worth a try. Have a great day Carla!
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

Hi Carla, I'm learning a lot from your condo, as I sometimes see ants here, too. I've never heard of the water bowl, and sounds like a plan. I'm glad you ordered the Fortiflora and betting Furball will like it.
 
Re: 06/20 Furball +10.25=220 AMPS=276 Ants ?

Hi, Carla, good luck with the Fortiflora. I hope it helps!

Ants. Ugh.
I've used pie tins before ~ with a little water and cat food bowl in the middle.
Also, I've used these ant-bait stakes with MUCH success. We live on a huge ant colony. Well, maybe not, but it sure seems that way sometimes. For immediate ant-clean-up we have used this ant spray (all natural ingred.).
 
Thanks everyone for you suggestions on the ants. I think the water idea sounds good.

Furball is in a really good mood this evening. We got some playtime in with a shoestring. I increased her dose to 2.5 units this evening since I am off tomorrow. Hopefully this will get her back to those nice blues and even some greens again.
 
We've used Grant's bait stakes, too, and they work. If you put them in places where cats won't try to play with them, they are great. We've also used Combat ant baits. Actually, we have never had a problem with cats trying to get at the baits. Otherwise we use the "kill the scout" technique. If the scout doesn't come back, the rest of the colony looks elsewhere. :lol: Borox works for roaches, but I don't know about ants. Sprinkle it where you see the bugs. We have tons of ants outside our house and I find if I put the ant baits near the doors, they don't come in.

I like the bay leaf suggestion. I'm going to give that a try when the occasion presents itself.

Have a great evening, Carla & Furball,

Ella & Rusty
 
No bounce! Furball is good at ruining your predictions, Carla. Crazy cat. :lol: :lol: How about some blue tonight, FB? We've used borax for ants. It dissolves the exoskeleton, according to our environmental engineer friend.
Liz
 
Come on down Furball!! Maybe she is waiting for the weekend. ;-)

We've done both...bowl in water and Grants sticks. We put the sticks, like Ella, where the cats can't get to them. Both methods worked great.
 
Come down out of the yellows, Furball!

We're having ant issues too, though I'm hoping I can find something that will work on them. Baby powder works pretty well at stopping them from entering a little bit. And I read that vinegar works well on scent trails. But there are some new ideas in here that I want to try on the ants. Like those bait sticks. I'm just hoping these aren't the new crazy ants.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top