6/18 Chin +4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 142,+8 295 PMPS 383,+2 438

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

No, do not give insulin. That is too low for you to shoot. Do not feed, if you haven't already. Can your schedule accommodate a stall? You can adjust by 30 mins per day.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

Yes my schedule is flexible, but she did already eat...and it's already been 30 minutes since AMPS BG
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

That's fine that she ate. Are you going to be around to monitor, plenty of strips and MC and HC food? You might want to wait another 30 mins and test again.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

Yes, I have some of her dry as well as some of the "gravy" foods...since she already ate a decent amount (for her) should I just wait another 20 minutes or so (to +1 ) and retest? See where we are then?
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

Good Morning to you,your doing good hang in there.


by Anne & Zener » Tue Jun 18, 2013 8:35 am

That's fine that she ate. Are you going to be around to monitor, plenty of strips and MC and HC food? You might want to wait another 30 mins and test again.
Liz

Wait test 30 like Liz said
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

it was already +30 before I got liz's suggestion....Now is +45min

If her numbers DO come up, at what point would I want to give shot? Not at all until she's high or when?
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60 Give insulin???? Help!

You've shot a 209 before. How about when she's above 150 or so? Even a little lower if you're comfortable with that. Don't feed her any more because you want to see the numbers without food influence.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60,+1 75 Give insulin???? Help!

yep. retest in 30 mins from last test, dont feed anything though.

I would hold off on giving insulin because you dont know if Chinas numbers only came up from the food. And if they came up from the food and you shoot, they might go back down too low. So we need to make sure China is at a safe number that isnt influenced by food before you shoot...

I hope that makes sense, and anyone please feel free to correct me if needed :-D

You are doing good, just keep testing and posting :smile:
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60,+1 75 Give insulin???? Help!

How about when she's above 150 or so?

So keep testing until she gets in that vicinity before shooting? And then how would that affect the PMPS time/shot? Would I need to back up her PM's until 12 hours after she DOES get the Lantus?

Thanks again for this wonderful board!
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60,+1 75 Give insulin???? Help!

Whatever time you shoot today becomes "AMPS" and we can help you get back on your normal schedule by shooting a little earlier each day.

You can edit the subject line of your first post in this condo today to "6/18 China +12 60, +13 75 Stalling" something like that

If you look at Jupiter's SS you will see that on 4/21/13 I stalled. Do you see how I put in the numbers in like "48 @ +12.5" and so on... you can do that too on your SS because you will need the AMPS, +1 and so on for after you shoot. Does that make sense? If not please just say so, and I will do my best to explain better.
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 60,+1 75 Give insulin???? Help!

Yes, keep testing and do not feed. Give her shot when you see a number where you feel comfortable. Then get a +1 and +2. You can adjust the shot time by 30 mins per day, either all at one shot or 15 mins in the AM and PM. If she bounces high tonight, you could probably adjust more.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 189

Given the +13.5, SHOOOOOOOT!!!

Unless you gave China a boatload of HC food, that's the start of a bounce and not a food spike.
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 189 Stalling

OK...at +13.5, got 189, which I assume is due to feeding?? She had gotten a "heavy" 1 unit dose yesterday....do you think I should reduce her back to 1 or even .75 unit or continue waiting today?
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 189 Stalling

Good job! Keep the dose consistent. Typically, you should hold a Lantus dose for at least 3 days. So shoot the 1+.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 189 Stalling

I don't think that fist between 75 and 189 in 30 min. is due to food -- unless you were feeding very HC. This is probably the start of another bounce. I would shoot the same dose as you shot last night. If you want to be sure of what's going on, you can wait another 30 min. if your schedule can accommodate shooting 2 hrs. late.
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 189 Stalling

Unless you gave China a boatload of HC food, that's the start of a bounce and not a food spike.

No...she ate her normal Friskies this morning at +12 and just a little more Whiska's at +13

So what now? Go ahead and shoot? or wait?

OK...saw new posts just since I did this one...I'll go ahead and give her the same amount of insulin I gave her last night, and retest throughout the day
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 189 Stalling

And get at +1 and +2 test. She is most likely to go up to high numbers as her liver and pancreas panic a bit over those nice normal, but unfamiliar numbers. But you don't know for sure so test to see. :-D
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, +13.5 AMPS 189

OK..gave the 1+ and will retest at +1 or +2 (or in between or both)...Called the vet (who I hadn't talked to in awhile) and he still doesn't understand that she could be getting low numbers on less than 4 units ONCE/day (which is where he wanted us to start) but he agreed that at 60, it was too low...he has the idea that the Lantus doesn't "peak" for 12 hours, so once/day would be right. Told him AGAIN about this wonderful board and that I'd been learning a lot from here....and that I was testing multiple times/day so had a pretty good idea of how the Lantus was working..Told him she seems to be at her nadir about +6, so he kind of had to rethink his idea of only once/day

Now if I can just get him to actually sign on and do some reading, we'll be great....but he's not "into" computers
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189 @ +13.75

Great job, Chris! You are a wonderful bean. :-D Maybe you could print out the protocol published in a vet journal for the vet? I can find the link for you. Surely it's here somewhere... Here is the reference but you have to pay, http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/19592286.

Cat metabolism is about twice as fast as human metabolism so humans can get Lantus once a day but cats do better on twice.
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189 @ +13.75, +1.5 182

Excellent! That is a great number, about the same as the preshot and below renal threshold. :-D Just feed some LC and test again at +3.

I think this is the PDF for the protocol.
download/file.php?id=9164
Liz
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 6

Recap of today..at usual AMPS time, BG only 60 so no shot
+13....BG 75...no shot
+13.75 (new AMPS) BG 189...gave heavy 1 unit
+1.5 BG 182

+3 BG 66 ????
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 6

Surprise!

How about giving China a teaspoon or two of LC and re-testing in 30 min.

Also, you may want to review this post on handling low numbers. I'm at work and can't check in regularly.
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 6

a teaspoon or two of LC

I did give her some of her regular food, but what's LC? This is the 2nd time I've seen it and although it might be incredibly obvious what it is, I'm not figuring it out

Unless it stands for Low Carb...and that she did get a little of this last test time
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 6

LC is for Low Carb food. Don't worry, I didn't know at first either. MC is for medium carb, and HC is for high carb.
 
Re: 6/18 China +12 60,+13 75, AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 6

Thanks for verifying that for me Melissa..right after I posted that, I could only think Low Carb was what it meant (unless there's something really unusual I hadn't heard about yet)

She did eat a little, so will retest after an hour
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37

Recap of today..at usual AMPS time, BG only 60 so no shot
+13....BG 75...no shot
+13.75 (new AMPS) BG 189...gave heavy 1 unit
+1.5 BG 182

+3 BG 66
+4 BG 37

Gave her a teaspoon of syrup with a little more LC food...anything else?? Retest in 30 min
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37

Do you have any high carb food? A couple tsp would be good. How much syrup did you give?

Remember to breathe.
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37

She'd only go for about a full teaspoon of syrup but did eat a little less than 1/2 can of Fancy Feast (but it's a LC variety)

I have some gravy type food if I can get her to eat it
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37

Usually we only give a couple of drops of syrup. She should be good as is. I'll keep an eye out for that next test.
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37

I should have been more specific...my "teaspoons" are not much bigger than you'd see in a baby spoon

At +4.5 we're up to 75....WHEW!!...at least better!
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 7

I did the same thing with Lucky I put about a teaspoon in his cat food, sure did get him up and I had high numbers next day.Learn by doing MOL Hope china surfs threw.
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189@+13.75, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 7

Hi! Saw your post and the 75 is a good number for China right now. Be aware that syrup typically lasts only a couple of hours, so check at +5 and +6 to see that he doesn't drop again. You will need dosing advice for his next shot. Usually a reduction is called for for a reading below 40 (or 50 for newly diagnosed cats). Good job.

John
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 10

OK...I think we got past that one, she's up to 103

Would it be safe for me to stop the every 1/2 hour BG checks? She's getting a little peeved at me. She is acting more like herself..during those lower numbers she was just laying on the floor (and she's usually UP somewhere...not much of a "floor" kitty)

Maybe check one more at +6 and then maybe +8 (and if those are both good) leave her alone until the PMPS?
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 10

Chris, you could probably test in one hour at +6 as you suggested and that would be OK. As already mentioned, the syrup can wear off after a couple of hours so we don't want her to drop again. Depending on the +6, we'll see when the next test should be.

And China has earned a .25 unit deduction. :-D :-D

Now that things are under control again, do you mind going to your first post and removing that 911. Thanks!

You are doing great today!
 
Re: 6/18 China AMPS 189, +1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 10

Thanks again for helping me and helping China! This has been a scary day but I felt like I wasn't doing it alone, and had lots of support from you all

Will retest at +6 and see where we are!
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

Recap of today..at usual AMPS time, BG only 60 so no shot
+13....BG 75...no shot
+13.75 (new AMPS) BG 189...gave heavy 1 unit
+1.5 BG 182

+3 BG 66
+4 BG 37
+4.5 BG 75
+5 103
+6 142

Think it's safe to back up some and retest at +8 or +9 ? Then see where we're at when it's time for the PMPS?
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

Sounds like a good plan. When you do you BG summaries, it's always good to list the food/syrup given too, so you can see how that influenced the numbers. For example, +4 37 1/2 can low carb + 1tsp syrup. So next time China goes low, you can figure what worked and what needs to be tweaked.

Just for future reference, when she goes low again, it's best to give food in 1-2 tsp amounts instead of 1/2 can. There may be times when you need to keep her later and you don't want to fill her up early. Unless you know you have a cat with a hollow leg. :lol:

All in all a great cycle! And a reduction too. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Great job today. :-D
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

it's best to give food in 1-2 tsp amounts instead of 1/2 can

But those Fancy Feast cans are so tiny...LOL.....I'm used to the big Friskies cans I use more to keep the BIG cats out of her food so I can really see how much she's eating

Will remember to keep it smaller if there's a next time (I'm sure there will, but my blood pressure can live without it for awhile)

Since I gave her the "heavy" 1 unit, think tonight I should go back to 1, or maybe a "light" 1 or even back to .75?
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

When kitty goes into the 30's, a full .25 reduction is suggested, especially for new cats. Any way of doing a "heavy" .75?

And now that you've been through the process, it'll be easier the next time China throws you a low. I was lucky, Neko started me off slow with a 49. :lol:
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

Hey I just wanted to say you did a fantastic job today!!!! congrats on reduction
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

Any way of doing a "heavy" .75?

I'll do my best....those tiny little lines aren't made for us older folks who have a problem with our arms being too short...LOL

And yes...I was really worried when we went from 60 to 37...that's just too low for comfort!!


Thanks again to everyone who's helped babysit China and me all day!
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

You did great! I'm sorry I wasn't around to lend a hand. I'm at work during the day and usually can't follow the Board too closely. Congrats on the dose reduction.
 
Re: 6/18 China 189,+1.5 182,+3 66,+4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 1

295 at +8 so I'd think it's safe to assume we've gotten through today's craziness, but I'm a little nervous about the PMPS shot since she usually tests lower at night. Will do my best to do a "heavy" .75 and maybe test at +2 and see where we're at
 
Re: 6/18 China +4 37,+4.5 75,+5 103,+6 142,+8 295 PMPS 383

Recap of today..at usual AMPS time, BG only 60 so no shot
+13....BG 75...no shot
+13.75 (new AMPS) BG 189...gave heavy 1 unit
+1.5 BG 182

+3 BG 66
+4 BG 37
+4.5 BG 75
+5 103
+6 142
+8 295
PMPS 385.....gave .75 Lantis
+2 BG 438

If can stay awake and get a BG at +4 or +6 I will try

Wow what a day! If I'm learning, the 383 is most likely a "bounce" off the lower numbers from earlier today due to her pancreas doing some panicking of its own?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top