3/21 Blackie AMPS 403, +3 448, +4 496, +6 429, +9 431 Dose??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9695

We haven't seen a dropping number since yesterday's amps, so I am pleased. That doesn't mean there haven't been any - I didn't check after +4 last night. I'm still going to need some dosing guidance for later today.

WCR: Blackie seems fine. He went outside yesterday a few times and walked around the house. He hasn't been eating as much at shot time (had me scared last night), but he's been eating fine overall. I'll see if I can check ketones again later today. They were negative yesterday afternoon.

I hope everyone enjoys this Sunday.
 
Re: 3/21 Blackie - AMPS 403

I'm hoping that you'll start to see some movement in Blackie's numbers soon. His shed is still building. It takes at least 5 days for a shed to form and the first dose is typically held for that period.

Are you testing for ketones? With numbers this high, I'd encourage you to get some Ketostix at the pharmacy and test regularly.
 
Re: 3/21 Blackie - AMPS 403, +3 448, +4 496

I guess I jinxed us. Now Blackie is going up. I didn't think I missed the shot this am, but he sure is rising. I was training a friend to test which is why I got a +4 on top of the +3. I hope Blackie's numbers come back down.
 
Re: 3/21 Blackie - AMPS 403, +3 448, +4 496, +6 429

Checked ketones - negative. And finally getting a little drop. He's been on 1 unit for 48 hours and still in the 400's. Can I move to 1.5 tonight?
 
Re: 3/21 Blackie - AMPS 403, +3 448, +4 496, +6 429

Hi, no dosing advice from me of course, just offering encouragement. :) You seem to be doing a good job being patient even though it's hard. Good for you teaching a friend to test. Does the friend have a diabetic kitty or is it to help you out with Blackie?
 
Since Blackie hasn't been below 400 since we started Lantus Friday night, I think I should raise his dose to 1.5 tonight. I hope someone will chime in and let me know what they think.

Sarah, I was training a friend that lives nearby so she could come test if DH isn't available. It would save me a trip home from work. And I'm hoping she'll be our pet sitter next time we need to go out of town.

Blackie is laying in the sun on the patio heating up that black fur. I went out and tested him there for +9.
 
I agree, these numbers call for going German with his increase this time, because the starting dose was probably set too low. I would shoot 1.5 tonight. Good luck with the dosecrease!
 
Hi Ele,
Normally, any dose is held for a minimum of 6 shots /6 cycles / 3 days. When you are just starting, the first dose is held for 10 shots/ 10 cycles / 5 days.

With lantus, you have to fill up that gas tank that Blackie has and until it's full, you won't see much of a change in his numbers.

At the start, almost all of the Lantus goes into that spare tank, the reserve. Then, as it gets to the top, it puts less in the spare tank and more into Blackie for use right away.
Think of when you get meds for yourself, and the dr says you should start feeling better in 3 days or so, it's similar in that the meds are building up in your body.

Now, every time you increase your dose, what happens? Yup, that tank is low and so the first few shots are going to that spare tank, and filling it up.

It is very important that you don't rush the increases or you could steamroll right past the perfect dose for Blackie.

Your ss shows that you have been on this dose for how many shots? That number will determine when it's safe to go up with your dose.
I don't think there is a single person here who has not agonized with the slow process of increasing but the process works and we can't deny that fact.
When it's time to raise the dose, you will see how things start to slowly change in your test results on Blackie's ss.
 
Gayle is right, usually in LL we hold starting doses for 5 days. However, in the German protocol there is a provision for increasing faster in some cases:

"Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU."

IMHO, it is not necessary for an experienced caregiver with a cat who was regulated on a higher dose of a more potent insulin to sit in the 400's for 5 days.

Of course it's up to you which way you want to proceed, as you can see there are lots of different options. :smile:
 
Thank you so much for the feedback. I did feel the starting dose of 1 unit was too low, as he was at 3+ units on PZI. It really makes me feel better to know that there is a protocol to follow. I will increase to 1.5 tonight and keep a close watch on Blackie.
 
Hi Ele, I think you've made a good decision to raise Blackie's dose to 1.5. Remember what Gayle says, however, that each time you raise the dose the shed will be topped up, too (and you might not see improved numbers for a few days) (the shed has first dibs on the insulin).
I was going to look at Blackie's profile, but it seems that the link is wrong. It links to the read-only FDMB table of contents. Can you fix it?
Good luck.

Ella & Stu
 
You're new and already a exception ! :lol:
Best of luck with the dosecrease!
But... ... it might take a day or two before you actually see it in action.
 
Blackie likes being the exception. :mrgreen:

I had the link to my profile on the old board, but it won't even let me log in now. I guess I'll have to create a new profile on Google. I'll try to get to that later today.

Thank you everyone. We'll let Blackie fill his shed and see how he does.
 
It was time I updated our profile anyway. So I copied it over to Word and linked it in google. Thanks for letting me know it was broken.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top