6/16 Pepper +18 381 - Ft. Collins update, eating update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nancy&Pepper (GA)

Member Since 2012
yesterday

We are in Ft. Collins. The flight was pretty scary for Pepper but once we got to the hotel in Ft. Collins he calmed down considerably. He's been lying around the room and everything would be fine except he won't eat! He absolutely refuses all his favorites. He hasn't had insulin because he hasn't eaten at all. It's 6:00 PM Ft. Collins time and he isn't allowed to eat after 10:00. I really don't know what to do!
 
Re: 6/16 Pepper +18 381 - Ft. Collins update

Yay for arriving! :-D Pepper, eat yer fuds! Paws crossed for the treatments this week. Hugs to you, Nancy, and to your sister.
Liz
 
Re: 6/16 Pepper +18 381 - Ft. Collins update

Hi Nancy,

Pepper's stomach may be upset from the flight. I don't think you should force food on him at this point. Just let him continue to relax and make sure that he has water available. Fingers and paws crossed that he will get hungry soon and will eat something before the 10 P.M. cut-off time. Do you have any baby food with you for this sort of thing? If not, perhaps you can find a market. Beechnut stage 1, turkey and broth or chicken and broth, are very mild.
Thinking of you and wishing you best of luck for tomorrow. I hope one of the knowledgeable beans will give advice about whether or not to give any insulin. Perhaps it would be safe to give at least a reduced dose if he gets much higher.

Ella & Rusty (who often will not eat for several hours after a long--6 hour--car trip during which he doesn't eat anything)
 
Re: 6/16 Pepper +18 381 - Ft. Collins update

sending eating vines....

isn't KFC ( the meat inside) generally hard to resist for most kitties? Maybe you could get a piece of that. just a thought?
 
Re: 6/16 Pepper PMPS 381 - Ft. Collins update, eating update

OMG, that cat!! Not minutes after I posted that condo,I looked over and Pepper was chowing down on a plate of Fancy Feast I left out for him. I guess he was just being a cat! Crisis averted! Thanks everyone! Tomorrow is our first appointment at CSU!
 
Try to remember, Pepper is in very strange surroundings after a HUGE change in routine. Let him do things in his own time. Obviously, he'll be settling in.
 
Hi Sienne. I felt really bad for Pepper, he's had a hard day! It was just that I was starting to panic because he wouldn't eat. I was so relieved when he finally started to eat. I cracked wise mostly because I was a bit embarrassed that I had panicked so much literally minutes before he started eating .
 
I think any one of us would have been panicky. The good news is that he ate. You can now relax and have chocolate or an adult beverage!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top