6/11 Poe AMPS 279 +2 304 + 6 290 +11 280 PMPS 333 +2 294

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 dosing ?

I'm seeing a lot more yellows on Poe's spreadsheet :-D
Yes, stay with this dose for at least 6 cycles.
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 dosing ?

I know yellows aren't ideal, but so much better than purple, and tonight will be the 6th cycle.

I worry about changing a dose, especially an increase, during the week, when I can't be home to monitor. According to the protocol, the next .25 up would put him at 1 unit, which is where I started when he was first diagnosed, and that sent him way low where I had to skip, and then reduce.

I know I'm a little bit ahead of myself right now, but it's easier to ask the questions ahead of time and it gives me more time to read up and understand more.

Thanks
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 dosing ?

I think for some cats, when you see the kind of reaction that Poe had initially, it's because the insulin is like a "shock" to their system. We sometimes see this when a cat switches to a new type of insulin. I suspect that if you stuck with the 1.0u, Poe's numbers would be more like what you're seeing now. In other words, I think it's OK to increase.

I also think you need to do what allows you to feel comfortable. If you want to wait until closer to the weekend to increase, that's fine. It's not "required" that you increase. You just don't want to leave Poe at this dose indefinitely if you're not seeing numbers that you like better.
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 dosing ?

Thanks, Sienne.

The "shock" makes sense, and although these recent numbers are better, I think I will increase, but ride this .75 out til the weekend when I can test much more often. Maybe the roller coaster will start to level out as I seem to get closer to a good dose for him, even though I know that can change again. Plus, I am getting a better understanding with each cycle as I look at his ss.

Thank you again :-D
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 dosing ?

Hi guys .. I can't remember if I've made it to poe's condo before or not so welcome from us! Good luck with the extra juice when you do take it .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 +2 304 + 6 290 +11 280 PMPS 333

Hello Peter :)

Well, we hit a purple at AMPS +11 :roll:

Next is that PMPS +2 :-D
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 +2 304 + 6 290 +11 280 PMPS 333 +2 444

lol He is licking his chops ha just got done eating :lol:

I just did his PMPS +2 OMG 444!! Can someone explain this to me? I am a bit lost now :sad:
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 +2 304 + 6 290 +11 280 PMPS 333 +2 444

He is still on steroids for the asthma right?

Get another test when you see a weird number ( high or unexpected low) - the meters can glitch if they dont quite get enough, or too much blood

Wendy
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 +2 304 + 6 290 +11 280 PMPS 333 +2 444

He is, I give him that dose early in the morning though, after his AMPS +2

I'll do another test and post

Whewwwww ok 294 THAT makes more sense...my heart jump started again. Makes me wonder about this meter and if maybe I missed something like that before?
 
Re: 6/11 Poe AMPS 279 +2 304 + 6 290 +11 280 PMPS 333 +2 444

nah they just do that sometimes.. it doesnt get enough blood by like practically nothing and it messes up. You just do a retest. Doesnt happen often. My meter does it too and it isnt the same as yours.
 
I found a coupon for a free Bayer Contour meter if I buy the strips, so I will hopefully get that over the weekend as a back up and maybe a comparison if needed.

I'd like to post the link for everyone to see, but I don't know where...would the main board be a good place?
 
In the supply closet.

The bayer contour is the meter I have got btw. Honestly though the relion is a good meter. Dont stress it.

I suspect you are worried more because of all the yellows and pinks. Did you change anything after the 27th? food type? more steroids? Was that when his appetite went back to normal?


Wendy
 
His appetite has never been a concern...he's always eaten. Nothing has changed but dosages really. The steroid is inhaled, and that's only once every 24 hours, which I give him right after the AMPS +2.

I will probably increase him again to 1.0 starting Saturday when I can be home to monitor. His yellows are much better than what I had before, but think an increase will put him in the blues and greens nicely (at least I hope).
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top