6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34 +1 47 +4 81 PMPS 329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

Ok I am not home and DH is managing. At PMPS=7 I measured him at 45 and gave him LC with a big drop of syrup (out of HC). Then DH tested 90 minutes and he was at 59 so I mistakenly thought Tiggy was going up as I assumed the syrup would have worn off by then.

Now - and eek - Tiggys AMBG is 34. No symptoms. DH is managing and he wont test that much so I said to give 2 big drops of syrup in LC and measure again in 60 mins. And no shot this morning.. so I can expecting a big bounce cos of all this !

So also he earned another decrease but I also wonder ...

Q: if we are still seeing depot effects from the 9 units dose? because on such a big dose it might take longer for the depot to drop. The skip will help clear the depot though.

Q : but then I am not sure whether to take another dose decrease to 8.5. Or to hold longer at 8.75. And I also wonder given my increases are 0.5 - shouldnt my decreases be too??

Wendy
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - skipping /I am not home

Good idea to skip and yes it will help to drain the shed. I know w/ Tess a drop of honey wears off in 2 hours and karo is higher on the glycemic index so it might last a little longer. Plus ECID. Sorry no dosing advice here.
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - skipping /I am not home

AMBG+1 = 47

DH is giving another dose of syrup now just in case.

Wendy
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - skipping /I am not home

DH is doing a fine job. :-D You might want to use the ? Icon and put "dose q" in the subject line to get the right kind of attention.
Liz
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - dose question

I'd take the reduction. Worst case scenario is that if the reduction doesn't hold, you increase the dose. Safety always trumps everything else!
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - dose question

High dose kitty. I consider anything over 4 units high dose. Per Roomp and Rand protocol, increases and reductions are by 0.5U for a high dose of insulin.
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - dose question

Well, that sure is a wake-up call. Hope Tiggy surfs the rest of the day. Congrats on the dose reduction!

Have a good day at TBP, Wendy!
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34!!! - dose question

Nice catch and reaction by DH today. Congrats on that reduction.

Jule (&Punkin) wrote a good post on Tiggy's 5/13 condo about increases and reductions for higher dose cats. There is some fine tuning of the protocol that you can do for your cat based on how you know he responds. The idea of a reduced dose after a low can be a useful tool to drain the shed and make subsequent cycles manageable. In contrast, Cindy's Tip is at just a bit higher dose than Tiggy, and she's been using mostly .25 unit decreases. However, she also hasn't seen the 30's, and has had to skip/reduce to drain the shed. My own experience with Neko is not as good an example. We started at .25 unit reductions, but the SRT treatment messed with things shortly after our first reduction and I ended up always going down by .5 units after that until we got to "non-higher" doses.

To answer the dose question, I think a .5 unit reduction is a good idea, because Tiggy got into the 30's.
 
Re: 6/10 Tiggy AMBG 34 +1 47 +4 81

Hi Wendy :-D Congrats on the dose reduction. And yikes--what an AMPS! I hope all is well with all the furbabies :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top