6/10 Momo AMPS~392 +6~382 PMPS~373

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
AMPS 392
+4 388
+6 382
PMPS 373
+4 342
yesterday condo

Momo's third day of Lantus. The numbers seems a little bit better, but still no yellows.
Because it's the 6th circle, her mom want to ask if she can increase the dose tomorrow.
Those numbers make her worried and anxious.
Thanks for reading and replying. :smile:
 
I think an increase is in order. I will try to get some other eyes on whether it should be to 1.25 or 1.50.
 
Does she have syringes with 1/2 unit marks to make the .25 doses easier to estimate? Consistancy is needed with these insulins.
 
She only has 1u mark's now, but I bought 0.5u mark's syringes and mailed to her today. I'm not sure she can get them tomorrow or the day after. We've discuss about this before, she said she will measure and mark 0.5 for temporarily use, so it will be fine if need to increase to 1.25u.
 
I'm still waiting on some confirmation about increasing by 0.50.

The protocol says
Increasing the dose

Most cats need to have their dose increased. Do it in 0.25 IU or 0.5 IU steps (0.25 IU if the cat is getting a low dose and/or relatively low BGs, 0.5 IU if the cat is getting a higher dose and/or relatively high BGs). Hold each dose for 5-7 days. However, if the cat is producing continuously high BGs (nadir always >=300 mg/dl), only hold the dose for 2-3 days before increasing it by 0.5 IU. Alternatively, if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose). From this point onward test for ketones once per week, or more often if the nadirs are still >=200 mg/dl.


She's only been using Lantus for 6 cycles, so I'm just not sure if she's had a chance to build up the depot fully, yet.
 
Marje, Sienne, Jill, and I discussed it, and we think increasing to 1.50 units would be right for Momo.

Please tell your friend Good Luck With The New Dose :cool:
 
OK I will. Thank you Dyana (and Marjem, Sienne and Jill). :-D
She has finished the shot this morning, so she will increase to 1.5 at next circle.
 
Oh, I was hoping to catch her before she shot this morning. Well, maybe Momo will see the dose threat and come down today ;-) you never know. They are cats.. :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top