6/10Screechy AMPS 322, +7, 154 PMPS 342

Status
Not open for further replies.

mtdenise

Member Since 2013
This morning's dose was cycle #7 on the new dose of 1.5. Do I continue with the same for now or increase again?
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

I don't see enough night time tests to be able to determine if he's going lower at night (as cats often do), or not.
Could you get some night time tests in tonight, like a before bed test?
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

Unfortunately, the +3 and +4 tests are my before bed tests. Screechy gets his PM shot at 8:45-9 p.m. I may try to get a +6 tonight but I have such a hard time falling back to sleep once I'm up, so I'm always exhausted the next day after I do that.
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

I just went searching for your last condo http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=97214 to read what you replied to my response yesterday. What days is your company going to stay with you? If you raised the dose and he went lower at night, would you be able to keep him upstairs with you, so that you can test him and monitor him and feed the curve, if necessary?
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

mtdenise said:
Unfortunately, the +3 and +4 tests are my before bed tests. Screechy gets his PM shot at 8:45-9 p.m. I may try to get a +6 tonight but I have such a hard time falling back to sleep once I'm up, so I'm always exhausted the next day after I do that.
I know. It's a learned thing. If I opened the computer to post my number, I'm up for hours, so I don't turn on the computer. I just turn on the light, get the cat, go to testing spot, test, treat, turn off light, and go directly back to bed.
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

No, I can't take him upstairs. He's my foster that I agreed to take in to avoid him going into boarding. I also foster dachshunds and have a cat who's not fond of other cats, so he can't be upstairs with us. Maybe I should leave his dose where it's at until after my company leaves. I'm also wondering if I shouldn't be on the relaxed insulin forums since overnight testing is extremely difficult for me. I love Screechy to pieces, but I think I signed on for a little more than I can handle with this foster.
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

I think you're doing fine, and are such a good hearted soul to take care of beautiful Screechy. He really is a handsome cat cat_pet_icon Just try to get those before bed tests and we'll see more of what he's doing at nighttime.
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

Thanks Dyana. I really am trying to help him the best I can without completely having this disease consume my life. Back on 6/1, I did wake up every three hours to test him, but he was only on 1 unit back then. Maybe I'll try to do that again on Saturday night (that's easier than during the week). I do appreciate everyone's help and support on here. Sometimes I just feel like pulling out my hair when I see his numbers bouncing around. It's nice to have the calming effect of the people on these boards.
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

Whenever you feel frustrated, you have us to lay it all out to.
A curve on Saturday would be good.
When are your guests coming?
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322

They break up the visit. They arrive on Wednesday 6/12 and stay until Friday and then come back the following Thursday 6/20 and leave on Friday.
 
Re: 6/10Screechy AMPS 322, +7, 154

Ok, every time I get a number in the 100s I always think that can't be right! I'm so used to higher numbers with Screechy.
 
You really don't need to be testing around the clock! If you feel like you have a handle on where Screechy's onset and nadir are, you can use those numbers to your advantage. If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see that I rarely get lae in the cycle tests. During the week, I'm at work and at night, I really do like to get some sleep. Gabby has an early onset and nadir so i work my testing around that information. It's an unusual night that I'm up late testing. In the beginning of this dance, I was nervous and would stay awake and not function well the next day. It may take some effort on a weekend to get a curve or get some additional spot checks but once you have a better sense of Screechy's patterns, you should be able to have more flexibility.

FWIW, with Relaxed Lantus, you still need to get a minimum of your pre-shot tests and at least one additional test each cycle. You'll still need to monitor closely if numbers are dropping. RL doesn't mean you don't have to test!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top