3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - dose help rec'd

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy and Kitty

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9632

ETA his +6 score.

Kitty hasn't had two blue AMPS in MONTHS. There are only two things different:

1. We're at .25! I may have been creeping closer to .2. His mid-day and PMPS scores are in the 70's and 80's.

2. He has not gotten his usual early morning snack. On most days, DH is up and gives Kitty a snack about 90 minutes before AMPS, but his schedule hasn't allowed that for a few days. Seems like we may have some evidence here for the power of pre-test snacks to bring down BG -- as counter-intuitive as that seems.

I think 107 is still considered low enough to move to a new dose on Monday. Two low blues don't ruin a dose, right?
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107 - food and BG

I have a feeling your hunch about the snack may be right.

No, two blues, especially low ones, don't ruin the dose. However, there's no rule that says you HAVE to move down after 7 days. If you want to slow it down a little, nothing wrong with that. What's a couple more days in the grand scheme of things? Monday is a long way away, though, so let's see what happens. Maybe the snackus thing will bring his green all the way back and then there will be no worries at all.
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106 -how can this be???

What???? confused_cat Kitty has been GREEN for MONTHS. He has not had a mid-day non-green score since November, when he was at 3 units. Now this!!

Yesterday his AMPS was blue, but he came down to 73 in mid-day, and he was 82 at PMPS.

Now two blue tests in a row. He hasn't budged. He ate 1/4 can about an hour before this test, but that's not uncommon.

I have been giving all the shots since Wednesday, because of DH's schedule. DH tends to err on the side of a drop MORE, I tend to err on the side of a drop LESS. Now that we're down to drops, maybe I've gone from .5 to .2?

I know this is only a few points. But look at his spreadsheet. This is VERY unlike him. Yes, I'm worried. :cry:
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106 - I don't understand

I hope the low bloos are due to a .2 dose, and are just quick blips on an otherwise beautiful SS. Hoping to see that Kitty is back to all green tomorrow!
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - fatten dose?

Is one day enough time to say a dose is not holding?

I've been giving the shots since Wednesday, and I think I may have taken him down closer to .3 than .25. Should I give him another day to adjust? Or fatten the dose tonight?

I'm hoping to shoot in 15 minutes.

:cry:
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

I don't think one day is enough time. I also think if you tested 15 min. on either side of that +6, you could have gotten a green number. I would try to keep the dose as consistent as possible - which can be hard when more than one person is shooting. Remember that Lantus likes consistency. Shoot your regular dose. I also try to get a few more spot checks either tonight or tomorrow so you're not hinging any decisions on only one mid-cycle test.
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

I would give it one more cycle, these numbers aren't bad, they're just not what you're used to.

Eating/drinking/litterboxing all ok?
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

Thank you, Sienne and Libby!!!

The fact that he's given me three blues, all around the same score, make me think he did NOT go green today -- the first time in five months, which is scary, given that we were thinking GUM. (He heard me think, didn't he?)

What concerns me most is that we started the new dose, .25, Monday night, then I took over as of Wednesday morning. So Kitty had only three cycles of the new .25 before I may have started to drift -- by maybe .05, but maybe that's enough.

I will hold it tonight. If he's blue in the morning, I'll add a little fat -- say, .35.

Sound good?

Thanks. I know this seems trivial to others.
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

Libby, box is normal. Activity seems normal - in fact, he played, which tells me his BG really is higher, not just testing error. (It's just how he is.) Food -- we're having Fancy Feast issues. He asks for food, I feed, he turns away, I wash it down the drain and give him a different can... But he's definitely consuming sufficient amounts.

off to shoot.
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

Hey - you're doing great! I'm just here to be a cheerleader!

It's ok and Kitty is ok - take a step back, breathe deeply AND look at your cat! Just look at him. How does he look to you? Do you think he even knows the difference between 88 and 108? And do you think he cares.

look at him - he's healthy - because of you, he's happy - because of you, and he's doing great - because of you.....

And no it's not trivial - this is your cat, this is his health and it's important to you and important that you understand and feel comfortable with what is happening.


Cheer over! :cool:
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

I've been there, I understand. Your plan sounds good. And DO NOT let him hear you thinking about Bazooka! Convince yourself that you never even knew of such a possibility, because they can read minds.
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

Sienne, that's just my mistake. We use vials, and we started a new vial on March 1. HOWEVER: Last week, I had three rotten syringes that let air into the vial -- remember, you suggested the switch to GNP. Could that air have compromised the vial? I can get a new vial Monday -- it's only a week early.

Kitty could definitely sense my nerves. DH is the better shot-giver. He usually handles evenings and weekends. I have to have him on the table, whereas DH just grabs scruff and shoots.

This is crazy, Hillary, but I think he feels the difference. When his numbers rise, he temporarily "feels better," and he plays. Jill pointed that out to me a long time ago.

And there's the Doublemint Factor. It's like the movie Poltergeist -- I have to clear my mind... he KNOWS what scares me!
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty AMPS 107, +6 106, PMPS 108 - help pls

p.s. No drinking that I can see. Maybe he's getting a little less liquid from the food? I'll mix more in, just to try.

I will get a bed check tonight, and will test more tomorrow.

Thank you, everyone.
 
Re: 3/20 Kitty - no bedcheck because...

I failed twice to get enough blood. I got upset, he got upset... so I fed him a good +2 snack and am going to bed. Will get more mid-cycle checks tomorrow. Ni NI
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top