Shadow- dose help... again =(

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowboy

Member Since 2013
Sorry, I need help again.

Decreased to 2.5 yesterday morning. Things were good during the day. PMPS was ok- then husband forgot we were decreasing dose and gave the 2.75. Was high at +3 so I felt ok going to bed.

AMPS was low- 93- recheck 20 minutes later is 89.... What do I do??

Also- we switched to the ReliON meter
 
If not, then don't feed, and lets see if we can get his numbers up high enough for a shot.

That 93 is on an AlphaTrak correct?
 
Okay, he went up pretty high last night, so he's coming down from a bounce.

How flexible is your shot schedule?
I mean, if you shoot an hour late this morning, would you be able to shoot at that same time tonight and tomorrow?
 
Shadowboy said:
No, we switched to the relion at AMPS
Okay, that's good to know.

You have 3 options.
Skip the shot, give a reduced dose now, or stall without feeding and try to wait for his numbers to come up high enough so that you are comfortable shooting the full dose (2.50).

I would not do option number on (skip), but that's just me.

I'm going to go look at the ss again.
 
If it were me, and I was going to be home all day to test and monitor and had all the supplies I need, then I think I would give his full dose now. But if you feel unconfortable doing that, then you can give a BCS dose now like 2.00 and then go back to the 2.50 dose tonight. Does Shadow have any other health issues and has he had ketones before?
 
Going to go test him again now and see where we're at...

No other health issues now- when he came to me he had pancreatitis and a UTI.

No ketones since I've had him.
 
Basically, you don't have much room to stall and reset your shot schedule, so I would try to make a decision fairly soon.
You can skip if you want, but I wouldn't choose that option, but it is up to you.

He will come up, once you feed, and the you can always feed him higher carb if he continues to come down, and the new dose of insulin will not have it's initial affect on his numbers until around 2 hours from now.
 
BG 94- gave a 2 unit dose. He's been responding differently to insulin lately, which is why I went with the 2 units. Hopefully it's ok. Will keep a close eye on him today. Thanks for your help!
 
Shadowboy said:
BG 94- gave a 2 unit dose. He's been responding differently to insulin lately, which is why I went with the 2 units. Hopefully it's ok. Will keep a close eye on him today. Thanks for your help!
Good job.
I would write 2.00 BCS in your units colomn for this morning, and write the time (+12.5?) in the Remarks section in your spreadsheet.
Feed him and start this cycle's testing with a +1 or +2.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top