3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86 PMPS 186 Advice for morning?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barb & Checkers (GA)

Member Since 2009
Yesterday:
oops, somehow got someone else's condo in here....back to tech forum.lol

I like these lower numbers for Checkers, but never sure what to do with dosing. I always do a +11, but the nadirs are low, and isn't that what we dose for?
If he is 59 at +6 and 79 at +7, I'm afraid to give full 1u, at PM., for fear he will drop during the night.

Last night I gave .75, and got up for +6 (1:30 am)...and he was 124.
Does that mean,he could have had the full 1u?

This morning he was 169 @amps.....gave .75 again, and got a 86 at +3.

Does anyone want to give dosing advice to this inexperienced bean?
I do not feel capable to experiment on my own, even with these small amounts of insulin.
Thank you.
 
Re: 3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86

Barb, the dental may have made a big big difference...You have been giving Checkers 0.75 for 5 cycles now with positive results :mrgreen:
I am not a dosing helper, but with the numbers you are getting it would seem that .75 is a great dose for him!!!
This is fantastic! Great job--those dentals do wonders...Happy Caturday!
 
Re: 3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86

With Lantus, you stick with the current dose unless a reduction is earned. I'm having trouble with your links to previous condos and there's no profile on Checkers so I don't recall how long he's been diabetic. For a newly diagnosed FD (i.e., within one year of dx), a reduction is earned with a BG under 50. I believe Checkers doesn't fall into this category so reductions are earned with a BG under 40.

Unlike other insulins, we don't slide doses based on pre-shot numbers. Looking at your SS, it looks like that's what you've been doing. Since you've had Checkers on 0.75u for almost 5 cycles (the almost is for the skinny 1.0), leave him there and don't tinker with the dose. You are going to need to monitor drops and not reflexively feed HC since you need to have Checkers earn the dose reductions. It's easy to steer numbers with HC so there's nothing to be panicky about.
 
Re: 3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86

Thank you Ladies. I will stay at .75, It scares me to go low when I'm not home to monitor, as it does everyone else, I know.
I have a copy of his profile from the old board, that I will copy and paste to Google Docs, if someone will tell me how to do it.
Checks was dianosed a year ago Feb. I found this board in 3/09, and with help from folks here, I was able to get him diet controlled, in the low 100's.
This Jan, he shot up into the high 200's and low 300's , and I couldn't get him down again. This is why I had a dental done, after only 6 months of his last one.
He had a UTI last month and took Clav for that. If his glucose hadn't already been high, in all probability, he would not have gotten the UTI, so I stll don't know what changed in Jan.
Dental revealed "pockets" of receding gums in several places. If those pockets were filled with bacteria, could have affected his bg. Don't know for sure.
Thank you for reviewing Check's SS
 
Re: 3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86

I think there are instructions in the Tech Forum on how to manage the Profile link.

As for condo linking, copy and past the http line. It may not be active since you don't seem to leave a space between what you've written and the link. (Or there may be something else going on. I'm not that tech savvy.)
 
Re: 3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86

I agree that 0.75 looks like a good dose for right now, let's just sit on this dose until the numbers tell us to change (at some point either he'll start dropping lower in mid-cycle, or he'll start to lose the green, and then we'll look at what adjustment might be needed). Great job!
 
Re: 3/20 Checkers AMPS 169..+3/86 PMPS 186

amps-169
+3-86
+6-110
+11-192
pmps-186

I realize I lowered his dose too soon. So now, should I still stick to the .75?
Be kind please, I'm new at this. nailbite_smile
Thank you.
 
No worries Barb. We've all made missteps. Like Libby pointed out, if the decrease doesn't hold, you can always bring the dose back up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top