5/28 Topper AMPS 267 Dose Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=96225


I gave a partial furshot lastnight. I think most of the insulin went in him.

He's had more lower numbers, AM on the 26th he dropped to 71, AM yesterday he dropped to 64. I can't have him going that low. I'm so nervous about him dropping too low that I can't sleep. With my age and health I simply cannot go without sleep. I'm feeling very ill and last night I fell because I get really wobbly when I don't sleep. I can't be doing stupid things like that.

I guess he's just going to have to be a little higher than he should be. I need help in trying to keep his nadirs above 100. According to SLGS the dose should be reduced if the numbers drop below 90, I guess this is correct because I've seen it advised in a couple of threads. But I'm confused because he didn't start dropping this low until we raised his dose to 4.50, it was reduced back to 4.25 after his bg dropped to 49. I don't know if I'm supposed to reduce to 4u since his bg has twice since dropped below 90, or wait and see if it straightens out on 4.25?

I guess with the furshot his bg is going to be messed up for a few cycles?

Please advise on dose.

Also, yesterday, the reason I tested him and caught the bg 64 was because he was asleep sprawled on the floor and did not wake up when I spoke to him. I nudged him with my foot and got no response, I thought he was dead. I yelled at him and nudged harder and he jerked awake and seemed confused for a few seconds. I don't know if it means anything but he's never done that before.

Thank you, I apppreciate any advice or comments.
 
The numbers from yesterday's PM cycle don't look like a fur shot and you don't have any info other than your AMPS for today. If the numbers today are good, chances are it wasn't a fur shot.

The reason it's important is that you count consecutive cycles if you are planning on raising the dose.

With regard to your question about reducing the dose, I suspect the drop below 90 was due to the depot not yet having a chance to catch up with the reduced dose. In other words, I'd hold this dose until Topper drops below 90 again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top