3/19 Max amps 273--3 questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mindy & Max

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=9516

Had a good night, but cruddy morning. Max peed on the bathroom counter while I was in the shower. Not cool. He's never done that before and I'm not sure what was up with him.

Anyway, I posted this question on the general FD health forum, but figured I'd put it here too. Got a OneTouch UltraMini meter in the mail yesterday, so I tested it out last night. It read 338. I've been using a Maxima AST from the start, and from the same spot of blood it read 269. I did do a control test on the AST (OneTouch didn't come with control solution), and it was reading normal. Which meter do I believe? I only tested with the AST this morning as I didn't have time to mess with the OneTouch, plus that one takes a lot more blood and Max won't sit long enough to get it.

Second Question: We have a family function I'd like to go to tomorrow night. Normal shot times are around 6:20am and sometime between 6 and 6:30 in the pm. We'd have to leave at 4 to be at this event, and likely wouldn't be home until 9--it's 40 minutes from home, so it's not like I can just run home and go back. It is not an appropriate event to bring my pet to, not to mention that Max doesn't travel well and is a high-stress kitty when not at home. Is there a way to work his shot around us being gone? Can I give a small dose, like .25U before we leave, then the 1.75U remaining when we return? And then can we still be on normal shot schedule on Sunday? This isn't the only time this is going to happen, so I've got to come up with a plan to handle this.

Until I found out about this event time last night, I'd been planning to do a curve on Saturday, then increase his dose on Sunday. I'll be home all day on Sunday to keep an eye on him and do several spot checks to make sure he's not dropping too low. Is this still a good idea, even if I have to leave at 4? I've got enough data for PMPS that I'm not worried about getting a test at 6pm, really, but don't want to screw up his levels if I'm increasing his dose on Sunday.
 
Hi Mindy,

one thing I learned about meters, having three of them, is stick to one meter or you'll drive yourself crazy.

The One Touch is a good meter. Trusty meter, my favourite meter, lol. But honestly you're going to get a slight variation and I would suggest stick to a meter that is comfortable for you and no meter hoping!

As for the dose/scheduling questions, I will leave for the experienced members to guide you with that.
 
In my admittedly limited experience, I found that the One Touch reads on the higher side in that range. This comes from a few readings of my own plus noting that other people have commented on it from time to time.
 
Thanks for the info on the OneTouch. I figured I'd keep it in the closet in the event I find myself without strips for the AST since they can only be ordered online. I can get the OneTouch strips at the limited local pharmacy in a pinch, but they cost twice as much as the AST strips.

Anyone have any input on the Saturday/Sunday dosing?
 
I agree with what others have said about the meters. Most strips cost a small fortune at pharmacies! I buy my strips for the Contour on line, as well.

Trying to split the dose is not a good idea. The problem is that you could easily end up giving more insulin than you need. Also, since Lantus is a long acting insulin, you really can't split doses. So, there's a dilemma. You can move your shot time but then you're locked in until you can migrate the time back to get you to your usual schedule. In addition, you really don't have enough lead time to shift the shot time in small enough increments to not effect the shed. If you remember how we did the adjustment for daylight savings time, it's a good model for a time shift that doesn't disrupt the shed. I hate suggesting this, but IMHO, your only alternative may be to skip the shot. I may be missing something obvious, so let's see what others have to say.

As far as a curve on Sat., I think you can still do most of one. Just get tests every 2 hrs until you have to leave for your family function.
 
But won't skipping the shot altogether do more damage to the shed than a reduced or split shot?

If I feed a full meal at 4pm, should I give a 1U shot (normal dose is 2U right now) rather than skipping it altogether? I would probably then give a chicken-only snack when we got home so that food-wise he wouldn't be starving by the normal am feed/shot time.
 
I have to agree with Sienne here about the shot. Lantus is not an insulin you can split. It is much safer to skip the shot than to split the dose. He will be high but he will come back down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top