5/23 Buster PMPS 299, +3.5 154

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tara & Buster

Member Since 2012
PMPS 148
+3 94
+5 59
AMPS 190

I guess Mr L didn't like those lower numbers last night :roll: I disagree! No, we cannot agree to disgree, either, Mr L! Buster seemed sleepy and lazy this morning. Oh, the life of a cat. Hope he comes down safely - no duck diving while I'm at TBP, Bu!

Previous Condo
 
Re: 5/23 Buster AMPS 190 - BOING!

Hi guys .. yikes, no more bouncing buster boy! Come on back down .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/23 Buster AMPS 190 - BOING!

Tara

Please tell me how we confused you on the caliper dosing so I can help sort it out. I bet you are doing the right thing because he looks purty good! But please let me know. Last thing I want is for anyone to walk away confused because I didn't explain it clearly.
 
Re: 5/23 Buster AMPS 190 - BOING!

Hey Marje! Thanks for reaching out on this. I read your notes on using micro pipettes, etc. many times. Awesome work! But...I don't get it. All I did was zero out the calipers and then set them 1.0. It looked pretty close to the 1u marker on the syringe so I just figured the lines were slightly off or the plunger didn't start at the 0 line. I understand that 1u in one syringe isn't necessarily 1u in another syringe - they are definitely not made equally. I don't understand what I'm supposed to add or subtract to the caliper dose to make the amount accurate?

I suppose it doesn't much matter - it's just a label and if the calipers say 1.0, but the Terumo measurement of 1u is really 1.076 (or whatever) I'm just not accurately correlating the numbers. So when I say I'm dosing 1u, I'm really dosing 1.076. But, I think if I just use the caliper measurement consistently, it should suffice for "a measurement" to work with.
 
Re: 5/23 Buster AMPS 190 - BOING!

With Terumos @ 1.52mm/U, 1.06 mm would be more like 0.7U Lantus for Buster. Impressive. :mrgreen:

To convert mm to units for those Terumos, multiply by 1/1.52

But properly measured mm do suffice as "a measurement" to work with, no big reason to change. Just be aware those are "Terumo" mm not units on the SS.

You have an apparently effective approach for reductions and increases even if 0.06 mm = 0.04U = a rather small bead of Lantus. ;-)
 
Re: 5/23 Buster AMPS 190, +4.5 224 - BOING!

OH! Can you see the light shining down on my lil pea brain? :idea: I think I get what you're saying. I'm measuring mm with the calipers, but the syringe is measuring u's and they aren't the same amount. It's like metric vs standard. 1mm is not the same as 1 inch, to exaggerate it. It's just that in this case, the difference is very small so it's hard to tell. I'm really not a stupid person, I swear... :oops:

To keep it simple, I think I'm going to continue on as I have been, although it's technically a bit off. A consistent dose is the end goal. One way or another, we're gonna get to ZERO!

Thank you Marje and Dale for the explanations!! ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 5/23 Buster AMPS 190, +4.5 224 - BOING!

Sorry about the bounce. I hope Buster comes back down soon. I think the most important thing when using calipers is to get a consistent dose. Just make sure you are always using the same measurement for 1 unit and it doesn't matter if it's the same measurement other people use.
 
Re: 5/23 Buster PMPS 299

Holy crap on a cracker! Tested poor Buster 4 times because I couldn't believe the first reading of 320 and I really didn't want a stinky pinky on the SS after such wonderful numbers as of late. Got some interesting results:
320
276
325
278
I don't know why the numbers varied so much. That seems like more than 20% variance to me. I tested myself at 92 - yay - so I just averaged the 4 readings out to 299. Makes me wonder though. We started a new batch of test strips - maybe those others were wonky?

Going out for dinner with the DH - have a great night!
 
20% of 325 is 65 so you could have gotten as low a reading as 260 and be in the range. But still...BUSTER!

Glad you got out!

Ok...you recent going to be happy with me. On his SS, under units...those are actually caliper readings? What worries me is that I'd those are the caliper readings, your dose changes are way too small. I'd say at the very least, your dose changes should be 0.1UNIT. For me on Terumos, 0.1 unit is .15mm because I get ten drops of insulin to the unit and my measurement of 1u is 1.52 mm. So if I was shooting a dose that was 1.06 mm reading, and Gracie earned a reduction, then I would change my caliper reading to 0.91 mm as my new dose.

Make sense? Let me know if you need help sorting this out :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top