3/19 Shadoe pmps 353 +16~85 no shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Good morning.
Yesterday’s Condo

Shadoe seems to have invented her own new protocol, but I have thus far been unable to break the code.

Seriously, what's she running on here? The shed? And if yes, what can I expect from a 14u shed that needs filling?

Anyways, last nite was pleasant but weird; I am calling it her drunken curve, zig zagging back and forth blue/green. And this morn she is STILL blue! I really don't understand these numbers.

Yesterday's recap:
220 - amps (regular 14uL for u/s vet visit)
- at vet's office from 8am to 130pm
254 - +7 (taken at vet's with Shadoe's meter)
112 - pmps (reduced to 10uL for dental vet visit)
79 - +3 ( :shock: on a reduced shot?)
108 - +4
77 - +6 ( :shock: what IS she doing?)
- she gobbled up some juicy gravy laden ff grilled something or other at the midnite fast cutoff time, then we went to bed
137 - today's amps :shock:

There was a day not too long ago when I could not buy a blue, never mind know what green looked like, and now we are waking up to blue? I am going to need so input on what could be up with Shadoe and what to do with her doses when ps are low.

So, Shadoe has settled with the fact that she is not getting food right now. She climbs on the table beside me to meow in my face, then jumps up onto another table and sniffs the air in the direction of Booboo's kitty crack bowl haha_smiley haha_smiley but one finger-shake at her and she jumps down to start the pout. She goes off aways, sits in her meatloaf pose, looking comfy and patient, but keeping the corner of her eye on me, waiting for movement towards the kitchen area. I have chosen to join her with a sympathy fast, so it's just coffee for me right now.
We'll be at the door when it opens at 8am, in 90min.
 
Re: 3/18 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

There was a day not too long ago when I could not buy a blue

:lol:

What? has Shadoe started reading Max's condo? Yesterday's recap and today's AMPS...well, you're right when you say weird!!!

Good luck on the dental. May Shadoe have any easy time of it. I love her "poor me" photo.

Can't wait to hear more about Oliver this weekend!
 
Re: 3/18 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Uh Gayle, today is the 19th, not the 18th. I did the same thing in my subject this morning and just changed it! :lol:
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Amy,
Oh sure! Now you tell me!
I can get lost crossing a room, so I always look at the most recent new condos and use the same date because I am never the first one of the day haha_smiley I just follow the leader blindly.

I am going to have to speak with Mad Max, or maybe Randi can speak to him, and let him know that Shadoe has a BIG brother coming soon so we will not allow Max to lead Shadoe astray with crazy numbers.

I am so stressed with this dental and getting ready for Oliver's arrival. After dropping Shadoe off and waiting till the nice vet tells me what needs to be done, I want to head over to Petsmart to get some stuff. I am list crazy, an addict of the lists, and I still don't know exactly when to expect Oliver, so I don't know how much time I have to get everything ready nailbite_smile

:YMSIGH: Time to get ready and have more ~O)
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Sending good & easy dental vibes to you & Shadoe!! Moonie has had 2 dentals in 2 yrs, and was fine..
Why are their numbers so crazy?? Because they are CATS!!!!!!-Please update when you hear from vet! Good luck Shadoe..
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Good morning,Gayle!
Sending good dental vibes for Shadow and for You.... ~O) ~O)
Your Big boy is still at US (I think).Poor sweet guy! I read yesterday about his travel plans. What the story!
Have a nice day and try to have lil nap when Shadow is at vet! (ya,)
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I am going to have to speak with Mad Max, or maybe Randi can speak to him, and let him know that Shadoe has a BIG brother coming soon so we will not allow Max to lead Shadoe astray with crazy numbers.

Oh come on Gayle. Max and Shadoe were neck and neck on the dosing scale. Of course he is
going to divulge to Shadoe all his new tricks, lol. You almost shot a green this morning.
OMG that is kind of freaky, especially after the u/s yesterday.
What you don't want Max to tell Shadoe is how a little sister beats up on her big brother.
We have that in our house.

Sending good dental vines today and hoping Shadoe forgives you for the secnd trip to
the vet and the fast. :-D Great that you have some Petsmart shopping to keep your mind
off the dental. So excited to hear all about Oliver tomorrow. I am so happy that adorable
boy has a home with you.

Oh and BTW, just love that picture of Shadoe. What a beauty.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

OK I am home and stressed so I'll head out to shop for goodies for Oliver.
They don't know the exact time when the dental will be done, but will call me to let me know what was found. I said if you have a couple to pull or something, fine, but if you have a dozen, ya better call me cuz I don't think I want all done on the same visit. Only the major crap ones, that MUST be done are OK. I left a copy of her ss updated to the 203 at +1.5 ( no shot, but I tested her at +1.5 just before leaving).
I have to go back to drop off Shadoe's meter, they are gonna be so happy to see me so soon, and maybe they will have some info on when she will get her work done.

The office is closed between 2 and 4pm for something today, so I think I would like her to stay till after 4pm. If there are any issues, it's better she is there than home. I don't want to bring her home too early.

And Randi,
Booboo rules the house here. She may weigh just over 5lbs, but she stands up to Shadoe's 12lbs and I have no doubts that Oliver and his 16lb will be put in his place by Booboo in short order. Size don't fizz Booboo, so tell Max that Shadoe totally understands! :lol:
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Hey Gayle,

sending good thoughts for dental day - I know you must stressing to the max! Buy yourself something pretty - or better yet some yummy chocolates, and no - I dont wanna hear about your trainer, today is an exception for chocolates.
don't stress, take it easy and stay positive ((((hugs))))
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Easy dental vines for Shadoe. Love that shaved belly pic...poor starving Shadoe. I got the same look this morning, but 4 times over :roll:
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Hoping Shadoe does great! and mom too :).. with Nova gone all day for her dental I started getting pretty desperate to blood test something with fur.. I think Jerry and Hitch noticed me looking at them funny ;).. a shopping trip for the new kid is a great idea for a distraction!
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Easy dental vines for Shadoe....and calm, relaxing ones for mama. Hope all goes well today, Gayle! LOe the poor me picture.....too cute.

Sherry & Zoe
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Sending vines for a smooth dental. I love that soft shaved tummy photo! Poor starving Shadoe.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

OK the shopping was fun; I got a new jumbo LB (I hope it's good enough for a 16lb cat), new scoop, a mat for his food bowls and another for in front of the LB to catch litter trail on exits, a big bag of chicken Pure Bites snacks, and finally a nice round foam bed that looks the color of Oliver's lighter browns. The sides are high so I am hoping it will big enough to hold him in all snuggly. I'll see what foods he likes out of Shadoe's assortment, then I'll stock up on his favorite lo-carb flavors.

I am not sure, but I think miserable little Booboo actually misses Shadoe, despite their fake tiffs. It's not the first time that I have come home to a bit of a hairball hurl or something from Booboo, and it's always when Shadoe is not here and Booboo is left here, home alone, and her kitty crak bowl uncovered so she can eat whenever she wants. Maybe that's the problem. She can free feed and does exactly that, only too much.
It's ok though; soon, Oliver will be here and I will try to stagger any vet visits, so that Booboo is not left alone. What am I talking about? There is NO WAY I could carry 2 cases to the vets, one with a 12lber and the other with a 16lber!

The vets office called while I was at Petsmart; they started and Shadoe was just being put under anesthesia around 1030am EST. It's been almost 90min so I think it's time to walk over there and ask "So, how's it going??"
I am sure they love/hate me, but never know what to expect from me.
I think I shall surprise them and be pleasant on THIS visit :twisted:

OK I am to visit the vets and then head out to pick up some more syringes and stuff. Maybe I can get Oliver his own one touch because I don't want him arriving and then \i have to mix up his numbers on Shadoe's meter.

Update shortly.

Oh yeah, I forgot to comment on the 'poor starving Shadoe' - that belly has enough to hold her just fine for a few extra hours. She is one solid girlie.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Vet just called. Work all done.

Only one extraction of a molar, some recession and gingivitis, and the lower all looks very good, but on the whole, the vet was very pleased with their condition considering it's her first dental ever!

I will pick her up after 4pm-ish, and they will give me some pain transdermal cream for inside ear flaps like before and also some injections. For her pm shot, she suggested that if Shadoe is low, like 150 - 200, maybe wait. Otherwise, go with a half dose.

We will see later how she does.
More later.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I am sure they love/hate me, but never know what to expect from me.
I think I shall surprise them and be pleasant on THIS visit :twisted:

I was pretty sure (and some days still wonder :) ) that all the staff at my cats vet hospital must cringe when I come up to the door, call, or email.. I often apologize, and tell them that I swear if they ever diagnose some EASY TO FIX problem with one of my cats, I will follow their instructions blindly and not want to get involved! :).. they say that I'm the type of pet owner that makes dealing with all the crappy pet owners tolerable.. It may help that I also bring muffins for them on a fairly regular basis :). Try it, it's good for the guilt of being high maintenance! :)
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

The dental is over. Big sigh of relief that all went well.
Such good news and amazing numbers today. It's like she knew
you might have to reduce her dose so she started off low.
What a smart girl.

What a fun shopping trip you had. I so wish we had Petsmart in Quebec,
Honestly, is this another country? confused_cat

Just might have to head over to Ontario, visit all my kitty friends there and shop
till we drop.

Oh Gayle, they do make kitty strollers you know so you can take all 3 babies to
the vet at the same time. Now how cute would that be? :-D
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Was dropping in to wish you guys good dental vines, but it looks like I'm a little late...oh well, the thought was there!! Glad to hear that it's over and all is well with only one extraction. Hope Shadoe recovers nicely and the whole household has a wonderful day.

Petsmart...gotta love that place :-D
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Glad to hear that the dental went so well. Is she home now? Here's to pampering poor Shadoe for the rest of the day.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

Yet another successful dental!! Yippee! As for the 2 cat carriers, I've taken my 2 kitties to the vet together for almost 19 years (and they both weighed 15lbs for most of their lives). You just get them in and out of the car separately. Even better, have someone at the vet office help you. :cool: Sending lots of healing vines to Shadoe's sore mouth!
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental day NO shot

I'm glad to hear the dental was successful. FWIW, I gave Gabby baby food as a treat after her extractions (no chewing involved!)
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental done +11.5~391 need dose advice

I picked Shadoe up at 5pm (+11), and her BG was 391. She has a temp of 40.1; I'll check it again in a couple hours. They said they have no idea why she has a temp.
We are now 20min late for pm shot -what do I shoot?

I thought anesthesia brings down numbers? And Shadoe's go up?
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental done +11.5~391 need dose advice

can you get another test to see if she's going up or down? Seems like a lot of the kitties don't start dropping until later.

Since you have R, I would probably go with a lower Lantus dose and use R to cover as necessary, just because it doesn't take as long to clear out the R if she starts dropping.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental done +11.5~391 need dose advice

read the label on the transdermal cream to make sure it doesn't contain steroids. or call the vet and ask.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done +11.5~391 +12.5~373 dose advice?

Ok she is now at 373, coming down a bit.
Her dental was completed before noon, and she has been lounging around at the vets office all day.

What about if I go with .5R and another 10uLantus?

Suggestions and thoughts?
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental done +11.5~391 need dose advice

that sounds good, as long as she is eating well. Is she eating well? Just get a bunch of early tests (sorry Shadoe) in case you need to intervene.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe amps 137 Dental done +11.5~391 need dose advice

No advice here, other than what you are comfortable doing, as Libby suggested a lower dose, but you want to make sure you're comfortable with what you decide.
And be prepared to monitor closely of course.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done +11.5~391 +12.5~373 dose advice?

Hilary, the vet gave me Codeine transdermal cream, the same as when Shadoe had pancreatitis. The stuff is a bit hit too; last time I used it, Booboo licked it all off the inside of Shadoe`s ears!

Against my advice, they gave Shadoe a small amount of metacam for the fever.
Her 40.1 at 520pm EST.

For the temp, I will take her temp myself in a couple hours and see where it is.
Currently Shadoe is scooting around all stoned out of her mind, trying to git that bandage off her front paw. She just can`t believe that it does not shake off haha_smiley

Ronnie, what, me have a problem monitoring haha_smiley it`s a wonder that Shadoe still has ears.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done +11.5~391 +12.5~373 dose advice?

Hi Gayle
Just stopping by to see that Shadoe is back home and happy.
Cute she is running around. That's a good sign.
You take a cat's temp?? Now I wish Booboo could use a camera.
You need a new profession girl.
Hope it is gone very soon and the lower dose will be fine for her.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done +11.5~391 +12.5~373 dose advice?

Went with 10uL and 0.5uR at 7pm / +13. I'll have to work my way back to 6 for shots.

I took the bandage off her front leg; she was happy and scooted under the sofa to lick the paw clean.

I was told that if you put rubbing alcohol on the pads, it would help with the temp lowering. Is that right?

They extracted the upper right P4; all the rest were good to keep.

I have 6 syringes of Baytril and am to give 0.6ml each morning as she received one shot this morn and they are to be given every 24hrs.

I asked for a copy of their Feline Dentistry & Anesthesia Record; it's pretty interesting. I am glad I have a copy.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done +11.5~391 +12.5~373 dose advice?

Sure I can take her temp. I have the same thermometer as they use so it'll be hers now haha_smiley
My vets office is very very good at telling me how to do things cuz it means I show up there less often!

She has settled down nicely now; that bandage on her front paw was just pissing her off, and now that it's gone, she has relaxed.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done +11.5~391 +12.5~373 dose advice?

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Sure I can take her temp. I have the same thermometer as they use so it'll be hers now haha_smiley .

You ARE crazy. Takes a team of 3 people wearing the protective gloves that go up to their shoulders to get any of my cats temperatures.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353

Gayle, your vet is going to be SOOOOOO happy when you show up with a second diabetic kitty. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353

saw your update in ur FBwall,

"temp at 8pm is 97.6 F" what does this mean? that its going up? how is she doing?
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353

Nurse Gayle! :lol: You are a real Pro with all things CAT! Great job Gayle...
I am so glad she has that bandage off and is relaxing now....hope her recovery is speedy and that you all have a relaxing evening...so happy when those dentals are done ...I hate dentals! :sad: But, it needs to be done and we have to be grown up about it all...geeeeez. Glad it's over for you...((Gayle))
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 temp down

Her temp should be between 37.5 and 38.5 or 39.5 Celsius which is 99.5 - 101.3 or 103.1 Farenheit.
She was at 38.1C / 100.58 F during the dental, and at just before she was coming home, her out-the-door tempwas 40.1C / 104.18F

When I took her temp, taking care to insert the meter to the side so I was not measure the poop temp, and I got 97.6F but maybe I took it out too soon. I thought the numbers were stopped rising.

Anyways, she seems good to me now. She has been gobbling her food, bit by bit, cleaning that paw now that the bandage is off, and cleaning her shaved belly. She is no longer hiding under the sofa, her numbers are down in blue again, and I think the buzz is wearing off now.

The vet said there is one stitch from the extraction and it will dissolve. I am to bring her back in a week to check that everything is all good and back to healthy.

When I went back to the vets to yell about their not using Shadoe's meter to test, then did not even give me the number, plus they say she has gained weight but could not be bothered to mark it on her sheet that I was given, the young vet was there. She mentioned that Dr. Vihos had said I am getting another kitty. She did not seem enthused about seeing more of me haha_smiley Gee that's a shame. :twisted:

I told her that I am bringing Oliver in with his paperworks shortly after he arrives and has had a chance to settle in. She agreed that it would be a great idea to get his file all set up and have a little meet and greet.

I'll get Shadoe's +2 in about 15min.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353

Libby and Lucy said:
Gayle, your vet is going to be SOOOOOO happy when you show up with a second diabetic kitty. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Libby, I spit out my iced tea when I read that.
How did forget that one.
Gayle, oh they are going to have fun with Oliver.

What time is he coming tomorrow. You must be so excited.

Great BG number and temp.
Awsome work Mama Bean Gayle
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

Huh, well now isn't this just so special.
She is feeling fine, eating and cleaning, purring and pleased with herself.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

She is pulling a Max on you.
That's my girl.
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

AND she is happy about it!

I gave her 2 kinds of food and she is going back and forth between the two.
She is not eating lots but has a bit of one, then goes away and then comes back and has a bit of the other, then goes away.
Oh and she is being picky; some of the pieces are not to her liking, so she takes them out of the bowl and drops them on the floor, then goes back to the bowl!

And now she is doing her major after-meal grooming, lick the paw, wipe the face, lick the paw, wipe the face. What will follow is her lick the belly activity.

her +2.5 is 50; maybe we can stay with the 10uL!
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

Glad Shadoe's dental went well!

BTW, you mentionned DR Vihos. She did Tom's dental. I like her. I just started at that clinic after I fired my previous vet.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

What an amazing couple days for Shadoe. Definately one tough cookie...just like her bean!
Excited to hear stories onces the new addition arrives.

Glad things went well for Shadoe today. Hope it continues.
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

Sonia,
Dr Vihos is awesome; I just LOVE her to pieces. She is the epitome of a vet IMHO. She is so good with the animals and literally coos at them all the time. She is who I have been calling 'the nice vet'. If she told me something had to be done, I would go with it. She's been there for over a decade that I know of, and likely longer.
The one I call 'the young vet' or previously 'the stupid vet' is Dr. Steede. You will recognize her as the one with dark hair and Avril Lavigne makeup.

I love that I can walk over there in 2min; I don't think they love that as much as I do haha_smiley
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

I guess our stab-in-the-dark dose was a bit much for tonight, eh? Glad she's coming up...
 
Re: 3/19 Shadoe Dental done pmps 353 +1~191 +2~61

hey Libby, we do what we can.
Shadoe's style is for R to hit around +2 then disappear. The lantus, if it shows up, will not be till later, so what we picked was not really a surprise. In hindsight, I could have gone with maybe .25R, so next time I'll try that dose.

Now, for the am, I'll see how things go. I am thinking that if her numbers are fairly OK, I will set aside the R because Oliver will be arriving and I will have to spend a fair amount of time with him to settle in.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top