5/21, Cleo PMPS; +2 61'+2.75 69;+3.75 69;+5 90;+10 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95714 yesterday's condo

AMPS 274 - Gave 1u

Well, yellow is better than pink! If this is a bounce, the last bounce only lasted 4 cycles..in the past, it looks like it was 6 - so some improvement there.

Cleo is acting/feeling good :-D

Have a safe Tuesday to all kitties and beans!
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo AMPS 274;+2 270;PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

PMPS - 58

I am waiting 30 minutes, with no food, and will test again.


Any suggestions on what number BG should rise to before I shoot nailbite nailbite_smile nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

Are you ready to shoot low again? Plenty of test strips, HC food on hand, able to stay up if needed? Got those shooting low to stay low instructions?
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

You shot a 74 before with 1 unit back on 4/15.

I would like to see a rising number for sure before the shoot/no shoot decision.
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

If it won't throw off your schedule too much for tomorrow, yes another 30 minutes, and test again.

Three options here:

1. skip the dose entirely and get bouncing numbers again
2. cut the dose in half and maybe get some bouncing but not as much
3. give the dose and monitor closely

If you shoot, you'll want to get a +1 and a +2 to see how the numbers are trending.

ETA: If this were my cat, I'd feel comfortable dosing at around 65, give or take a few points. But this is not my cat. What number do you feel confident shooting and supporting with food?
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

I will test again at 6:15, and post. I don't want to skip, she waited a long time for her dosecrease because of me. I don't want her to backslide - if she is not rising much, maybe I will do a reduced shot.

I will post in 15 minutes. She sure is easy to test when she just hangs around on the counter waiting to eat :-D
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

Good for you not wanting to skip. That sure does set them back and can be done if needed but giving some insulin and supporting is so much better I think.

I will be watching for you at 6:15.
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

I'm here too. Watching to see if Cleo rises a tad more....

For a 58, I would definitely stall..... ( which you've done)
especially since you didn't have a +10 or something like that to see the trend....
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

I actually came home at lunch break yesterday since she was lower in the morning! Her am and +2 were still high today, so I felt comfortable - but Cleo likes to throw me a curve. She is so funny, she keeps getting down from counter (she has a kitty condo as her helper stair), sticking her head out the sliding door, then turning and looking back at me with an expression that says, "this is your last chance...feed me or I am leaving :lol:
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

hmmm.....
I know that most of time even our "experts" won't shoot under 50.

I myself, would keep stalling....and don't feed yet.

How many hours has it been since a feeding? The longer the gap, the more likely numbers will keep going down instead of up.
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

I think it has been a long time. I leave food out, but all was gone. She may have gone up to 6 hours with no food. Should I feed her a little LC? Never mind, I see your post! :-D
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

I hear "feed me"

0109-312x331.jpg
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

Jane:

Is this correct:
+12 - 58
+12.5 - 62
+13 - 57

So far, this looks like a pretty good surf. I'm not sure what 6:45 is in terms of your +time.
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

Cleo is surfing. You can continue to stall. However, there are 2 things to consider. Lantus onset will be in at least one hour and numbers will either be flat or start to rise. In addition, you'll be feeding which will bump up numbers a bit. In other words, if it were me, I'd shoot.

If you opt to shoot, for your peace of mind, I'd suggest you get a +0.5 and a +1.
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

PMPS - 57 - gave 1 U

I will test again in 30 minutes. She is eating Friskies LC. I won't let her pig out, so she will stay a little hungry!
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS 58 SHOULD I SHOOT

Sounds good!
She threatened to report me to the Human Society for "starving innocent kitties!" :o :shock: :o
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS; +.5 69

I'd test at +1.

I'm suggesting you monitor closely so you have a feel for what happens with shooting low. This will help you to feel more informed about how Cleo reacts in the future. (Well, to the extent that Cleo will be consistent in the future and we all know the likelihood of a cat being predictable!!)
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS; +.5 69

Woohoo, Jane! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You win the BOS award today!

Liz
 

Attachments

  • balls of steel.jpg
    balls of steel.jpg
    4.1 KB · Views: 653
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS; +.5 69;+1.25 71

+1.25 - 71

LOL Liz, if only!

Re: tomorrow am. I will be able to test at +10 & +11. But, I will have to leave 15 minutes after I shoot.

If she is below a certain number, should I leave out some MC food? DH will be home, but only to observe :roll: I can get home around +6 to test.

Any opinions welcome :smile:
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS; +.5 69;+1.25 71; +2 61

+ 2- 61

Could she be dropping from the insulin now? At what point should I feed some MC?

Nerves are kicking in now!
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS; +.5 69;+1.25 71; +2 61'+2.75 69;+3.75 6

+3.75 - 69

She is still eating some LC at each test. Approx 1 - 2 tsp.

Whispering, "I have been so lucky "catching" her to test tonight." antijinx

If she is still surfing at +5, is it safe to go to bed? Should I put out more than just LC food if I do?
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS; +.5 69;+1.25 71; +2 61'+2.75 69;+3.75 6

I might put out a combo of LC and MC just in case.

You're doing a great job tonight!!
 
Re: 5/21, Cleo PMPS;;+1.25 71; +2 61'+2.75 69;+3.75 69;+5 90

+5 - 90

She is eating about 2 tsp of MC, and I will leave plenty of LC out also.

Thanks to all you guys- Rhiannon, Deb, Liz, & Sienne - You are so appreciated :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top