5/16 Cain PMBG 53 Skipping dose tonight

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

I just got a PS number of 65. Should I shoot on that number? I've shot in the 70s before but not sure about this one. And uh I could try stalling but I already stay up really late to get the +2 at night before bed. Should I shoot and keep close watch?
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65 Is this safe to shoot?

If you have supplies (strips, HC food, karo) and you can be there to test, I'd shoot. It is a safe number to shoot and he could be surfing into his PS. I doubt he went up very much last night at the end of the cycle based on his latest trends.

Please be sure and get a +1 and +2. I have to get off here in a bit.....are you ok to handle the numbers? The link to the Handling Low Numbers sticky is in my signature block. I can probably check in for your +1.

What do you think?
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65 Is this safe to shoot?

I just checked everything and I have strips and karo, and 2 1/2 cans of HC food. I'll be home today until the evening jog if he lets me.

He does tend to go low before PS doesn't he?

Ok, I think I can do this. I'll go ahead and shoot, and I'll get the tests at +1 and +2. I'll feed him right at shot time too. (Best way I can get his shot in. :) )
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65 Is this safe to shoot?

Some cycles he does go lower which is probably a second dip....like yesterday morning. But he's been relatively flat. Which is awesome.

Ok...I'll check back on you in an hour. Good shooting. Remember...shoot low to stay low. When it's safe (e.g. you have supplies, are going to be home and are rested, and you have the data that you have collected), the goal is to shoot every number above 50.

For shooting your lowest number yet, you get the BOS award!

 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65 Is this safe to shoot?

Yay I got an award! :-D :lol:

Every number above 50 huh? Wow. I don't think I want a 50 staring at me.

OK alarm is set for +1 check. He's happily eating food now. Change that, he's now on my bed cleaning his front legs. One of these days he'll clean the rest of himself.

Hmm, if he does this tomorrow, I have to do something different cause I'm going to be gone around his nadir and most of the evening. But we'll cross that bridge tomorrow. :)

Thank you very much, Marje! I appreciate the fast help. :D
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65

You're welcome. Let's see what he does today/tonight and then figure out tomorrow. :-D See you at +1
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +1 73

+1 is 73

It also helps if I set the alarm to the upcoming time and not the time I gave the shot. >_>
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +1 73

Lovely food spike! :lol: on the alarm ;-)

We are headed out now for a bit so I don't know if I can check in at +2. I will if I can. But there are others to help and you have been doing great managing low numbers.

If you have any questions, I will be here another 15 mins and I will check in before I go.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +1 73

Thank you, Marje. :-D

I'll definitely ask for help if I can't manage his low numbers. :-D Lot more people on during the day at least.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +3 67; +4 57; +5 59; +6.22 67

+5 59
+6.22 67

Now I'm trying to remember if I feed him in the +5 hour. I didn't write it down if I did.

More surfing!
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +3 67; +4 57; +5 59; +6.22 67

BEAUTIFUL!!!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Great job, Jennifer!!!
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +3 67; +4 57; +5 59; +6.22 67; +8.25

+8.25 73

Still nicely surfing.

Tests might be a little less done for the next few hours. I'll try to get some in while I can.

Edit: Woops! Looks like I missed the +7 test. I keep forgetting to reset the alarm today.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +4 57; +5 59; +6.22 67; +8.25 73; +10

+10 58

Dropping again. Hmm. He's currently in his no food till PMPS test time right now.

Edit: Though he just snuck in a bite while I was in the restroom. I didn't get the bowls up yet cause I had been busy. Hopefully it won't affect much.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +4 57; +5 59; +6.22 67; +8.25 73; +10

Remember the second dip? That's what this is. He already nadired, came up, and is now dipping.

Jennifer....if you are exhausted, it's ok to skip a shot. He will get back on track.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +6.22 67; +8.25 73; +10 58; +11.1 54

+11.1 54

I guessed it was his second lantus dip. I managed to get at least three hours of uninterrupted sleep before the +5 last night. I think I might be able to monitor him, but hourly might be difficult. If he surfs well, I can get more sleep between the +2s. Hmm, I'll have to think about it.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +6.22 67; +8.25 73; +10 58; +11.1 54

Jennifer

I have to sign off....our 17 year old CKD cat is having some difficulties and I might have to take him to the ER. I'm sorry but this came on suddenly...I'm afraid he might have had a seizure.

Use your best judgment. Remember that if you shoot a reduced dose for this cy le, he will likely still do the same thing as a full dose so you might really consider skipping if you are tired. If you do skip, try to get a test to make sure he's coming up.

Again...my apologies...got to go.
 
Re: 5/16 Cain AMPS 65; +6.22 67; +8.25 73; +10 58; +11.1 54

BG is 54 for a pre-shot. Yikes.

Seriously considering skipping tonight with a 54.

Oh no, hopefully your cat is ok, Marjr. And it's ok. Take care of your cat!
 
Re: 5/16 Cain PMBG 54 Might be skipping

I just took another test and got a 50. Yeah I'm going to skip tonight. Not enough sleep lately though I will most certainly still get tests. If someone sees this before I sleep (which is in two hour or less), can you suggest some times to test still? I'm thinking a +5 or so. Definitely a before bed test.

He'll still have some insulin in his system thanks to the depot/shed thing, right?

Allows me to push his shot time closer to what I'd like to.

Marje, good wishes for your cat. Hopefully everything's ok. And thank you for the help.
 
Jennifer

I'm glad you skipped so you can rest. If he's coming up by the time you go to bed, you don't need to get up and test. If he isn't up but isn't dropping, test in a couple hours. He will be draining his depot but should not be able to hypo without a new shot.

Gus has finally settled down. We didn't go to ER but we really think he had a small seizure. Will explain more in condo tomorrow....just checking in with you before I go to bed. Gus is now resting quietly.

Hope you sleep. Ni ni
 
Re: 5/16 Cain PMBG 53; +2 53 Skipping dose tonight

+2 is 53

He's the same number. :) I'll check in a couple of hours.

Oh wow a seizure. Feel better, Gus!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top