5/16 Dumdum AMPS~366 +6~90 PMPS~82 +6~192

Status
Not open for further replies.

akilo

Member Since 2013
A strange day :shock:

AMPS 366
+3 304
+6 90
+8 52
+9 47
+10 70

PMPS 82
+1 147
+3 151
+4 162
+5 159
+6 192
+7 228

yesterday condo

I just feed him and decrease the dose to 1u and wait to see what will BG shows.
I am not so sure that we are going to hold dose(1.25u) or not(decrease to 1u) tomorrow morning. Due to Dumdum's immune system problem, the vet says sometimes he might drop to a low number, just like 5/7 showed, but it doesn't really means we have to decrease the dose, it's possible that happened occasionally.I think I'll see his tomorrow morning's AMPS then decide what to do.

The other thing that vet says is that Dumdum might need to dose less at night. Without knowing why, his BG always lower at night, that probably shows that the insulin stay in his body at day time always last more than 12 hours, so I can still give him shot at 12/12, but might have to reduce dose at night. I'm not quiet sure how it will work, but I think I'll discuss with vet tomorrow...

Now all I know for sure is that tonight I'll need a cup of coffee... ~O)
 
Re: 5/16 Dumdum AMPS~366 +6~90 PMPS~82

Hi Akilo!

This morning he was clearing a bounce and often times cats will come down pretty fast when they clear those extra hormones and glucagon out of their system. I'm glad you reduced his dose. I would hold the 1u dose and see how he does.

It is quite common for cats BG to run lower at night so I would not shoot less insulin at night. Dumdum is not doing it that often. Look at Nekos SS. She runs low just about every night. There a others who do the same...if you have time to look around at different cats' condos and SSs, you'll see it is common.

Let's see Dumdum does with the reduction and whether those low numbers this morning makes him bounce again.

Have a great evening!
 
Re: 5/16 Dumdum AMPS~366 +6~90 PMPS~82

Yup, Leo liked to dredge the lagoon at night, making mamabean shoot low numbers at PM. Stinker. I *always* got up in the night to test, but partially because that would remind him to eat. Stinker.

There were times I would shoot a lower dose at night, but it was the exception, and I did it because I had enough data to kind of predict what he would do and I didn't want him earning reductions I didn't think he deserved. I wouldn't advise you do this as a general rule, but there will probably be times that you do it for a specific situation.

Good luck!
 
Re: 5/16 Dumdum AMPS~366 +6~90 PMPS~82

It looks like a wired curve that I'm not sure should I go to bed or not.
The curve looks didn't go up, but didn't intent to go lower either, Just flat. I've never seen before...
But I like blues anyway. :mrgreen:

I'm trying to give him more food to raise the BG at night now, and hope this way brings good numbers so that I can convince our vets not to shot different dose day and night.
Dumdum now is begging me for food with shiny eyes. :cool:
 
His BG goes up at +7, I think it might go back to 4xx in the morning. Due to his low but flat numbers, I guess maybe I can dose 1.25 for one more day(and with more food) to see what will happen? Or try with skinny 1.25u? I think as the experience before, 1u might be hard to keep his BG at good nadir in day time...(Now he eats much more food than April)
 
Dumdum going up and down like he does is normal. It takes time to balance it out. Some cats can take a long time.
You can not force his cycles to be flat ..... his body has to learn that.

I agree with Marge that you should stay with the 1 unit.
Lantus likes a consistent dose and if you change back and forth, you will get wonky numbers.

The goal is to have nice flat cycles with numbers always in the blues and greens ( like Shadow- see her spreadsheet) .
Ideally you want to see more and more numbers that are green ....
the numbers you want to go away are the high numbers which is all up to Dumdum's pancreas. He can't do it until his body is ready and able.

I was able to get Shadow in remission because I listened to the people here like Marje and Sienne. My vet was not worried about getting her to remission and if I had listened
to the vet, Shadow would still be on insulin.... most likely all of her life.
It is something to consider.
 
Thank you Marje and Rhiannon, I shot 1u this morning. Hope it's still lots blues today. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top