5/13 Tiggy PMPS 319

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

His AMBG was 29!! I tested twice. Maybe its the new wet food 2%. Anyway i gave him some HC but now I dont know what to do. Usual logic is stall and dont feed and wait till the BG goes up but with a BG in hypo land I had to give him HC. So now I know his BG is going to go up anyway.. so what do i do about shooting??

Wendy
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Hi guys .. wow, crazy low start this morning! You were right to feed, you don't want a cat that low .. of course, it is also an automatic reduction ... My "guess" would be to continue to test and if he is rising then shoot .. but PLEASE wait for more experienced eyes!!
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Holy smokes! That's a jump start for your day! Hope you get some answers soon - stay safe, Tiggy!
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Holy moly! Yep, you have to feed that. Zener was 40 this morning. I fed that and waited 1.5 hrs and shot when he was 95. We'll be here to test. Can you stall and will be around to test? Otherwise, you probably want to skip.
Liz
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Well thing is I gave him HC. He is now at 43 (0.5 since AMBG) but what how do I know what he is doing if the HC is masking it? If I shoot at say 100 who is to say he wont wear off his HC and drop suddenly? Maybe I wait 2 hours and see where he is then as the HC will have worn off? I am around all day to test.

I have never seen such a low number on him.. ever... Even before his last remission - although I was shooting at 40 and not testing during the day so who knows... This all VERY interesting!
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Since he could drop when the food wears off, that's why you need to be around to test today. Could be a lot of pokies. Your schedule also has to be able to adjust the shot time.
Liz
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Ok so I wait till he is over 100 and shoot and be ready with the syrup? Given he is on 8IU that scares me a bit. Fun!

He is going to love that- he loves his HC etc - he is already bugging me for more.
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Exciting times at your place today Wendy! Does this mean Tiggy and Bailey will now be on separate schedules? Ugh. Up Tiggy up!!

I think Tiggy gets a reduction with that 28 doesn't he?
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Yep although maybe I shoot through the bounce today? Or maybe not.. i guess with the HC I am not going to know if he is bouncing at all. He has gone under 50 twice on this dose anyway so 1/4unit decrease is earned anyway.
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

Here is how you shoot this. Are you ready?

1) take out the syringe
2) take out the insulin
3) get the cat
4) pretend to fill the syringe with insulin
5) wave the insulin over cat's head
6) pretend to inject syringe into cat
7) kiss/smooch cat
8) let cat wipe the smooch off
9) give cat treat
10) release cat
11) put insulin back in fridge

:lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

I knew I had the technique wrong this last year!! LOL!!!

With Bailey that isnt so far off - he barely sniffs the bottle with his 1 drop ;)
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +1.5 63 - skipping

Its +2 now since his usual shot time and I dont know what to do. He is at 63. I cant wait much longer or he is too off schedule. Its 2 hours since his HC so I dont know whether to shoot and assume the HC has worn off or to skip??
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 - help - how do i shoot?!!

It's a good question for Lantus gurus. What would Libby do at this dose and depot with Lantus? She *might* skip the shot.

I can guess what Jill would do, but of course she's not shooting Lantus at the moment. As well I know how I would handle Chip, but I'm not shooting Lantus either. :?

Interesting that you foresaw almost this very scenario, and Jill and Libby did weigh in on that. @-)
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 - ??SKIP??

My gut is saying he is on the rise and to shoot. But that 28 has thrown me for a loop. I can probably wait 20 more mins before I have to skip. If he goes up again I will shoot.. paws crossed!
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 - ??SKIP??

I might be skipping at this point. You could also delay Bailey's shot so they are the same.
Liz
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 - ??SKIP??

I don't believe I've ever *intentionally* skipped a shot with Chip.

You know how to hang off Tiggy's ear.

And you *successfully* dosed quite a bit of karo that one time if I remember correctly... decisions decisions. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 - ??SKIP??

Throwing in another thing to think about. With large doses, you can sometimes skip a dose and barely notice the difference. Skipping or doing a half dose will allow you to drain a part of this 8U shed which is a bit much for Tiggy right now. And reduce the chance of waking up to another ugly number tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 - ??SKIP??

arrrghh! I dont know what to do. No. yes I do. I am going to test and if he has gone up over 70 I am going to shoot. Back in 5 minutes.
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 ok Skipping.

ok, that was stressful for me and I'm not holding the syringe! Great job, Wendy! What a roller coaster!
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 ok Skipping.

Have you gotten any more tests? I'm curious as to when Tiggy's numbers started to go back up.

(Sorry. I'm at work and just saw your PM.)
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 ok Skipping.

Yep we are now at AMBG +3 and 67. He is slowly creeping up.

AMBG 29. HC
+0.5 43
+1 56
+2 63
+2.5 59
+3 67
 
Re: 5/13 Tiggy AMBG 28 +.5 43 +2 63 ok Skipping.

AMBG 29. HC
+0.5 43
+1 56
+2 63
+2.5 59
+3 67
+5 99

5 hours since skipped shot and he is now at 99
 
i think you were smart to skip - as wendy said, with the larger doses you can skip and hardly even tell sometimes. you'll get back on track quickly with tiggy. no worries. :YMHUG:

i looked at the link to your previous condo on 3/7 and the discussion about dosing. the only thing i would add for you to consider is that it's helpful to make decisions on size of dose increases by taking into account how tiggy reacts to them. the general wisdom is that you want to increase by the percent that is roughly the same as with a 1.0 unit dose to 1.25u dose. That's the "normal" increase that the protocol was based upon, right? you're adding on 25%. So with a 5.0u dose, in theory, you could increase by 1.25u, or 25%. with a 10u dose, you could increase by 2.5u . . . most people wouldn't do that however. Most people (generalizing) with higher dose cats think in terms of 10%, and then round it to an easy to shoot number. Punkin's highest dose was around 15u and i think the largest dose increase i made was 1u. i do use R to knock the top off the bounces and now that i'm comfortable with it, understand when to use it and can anticipate how punkin will respond to it, i really like having it in my toolbox.

The thing that's important however, is how each cat responds to dose adjustments. at the beginning, i increased punkin's dose a few times by 1.0u, following that 10% guideline, but when i realized that he still responded to a small increase, i changed back to .25u and .5u increases. even at 15u i could see that .5u made a difference in his numbers. i think the closer you are to an "ideal" dose (and good BGs) the smaller your dose changes. anytime i felt like his numbers were rising out of control, I also have done the dose increases every 4 shots until you're seeing good numbers - like a nadir in lower blues. then shift to holding the dose longer and making the dose changes in smaller increments.

It's also important to have a strategy for decreasing doses. the tactic i have used if i thought he needed a dose decrease is to drop the dose significantly for one dose to allow the shed to drain some, then return to a slightly decreased dose with the subsequent shot. So if he was at 10u and hitting too low, I would give the next shot at 7u and the following shot come back up to 9 or 9.5, something like that. my husband and i have laughingly named this strategy "Dialing for Doses" because sometimes you are just making the best decision you can make. :lol: it is very important to understand the shed action of the lantus/lev insulins. when you decrease the dose you can still see effects from the original dose for several cycles after the decrease. it seemed to us that doing a significant reduction on that first reduced dose helped to keep the next cycle from dropping too low. In my previous example, if he was getting 10u dose in the morning and hit a 30, and i decreased to 9.5u that evening, i would almost guarantee i'd see a 30 again that pm cycle. that's not enough of a reduction to prevent it.

Did you get a chance to look at Tommy's ss? His looks a lot like Tiggy's and Lauren's done a fantastic job at managing his diabetes. He's an older kitty - I want to say he was 14 or so when he was diagnosed diabetic 2.5 years ago.

anyway, those are the strategies that we've used with punkin. maybe something in there will be helpful to you. holler again if you have any questions.

scritches to your sweet Tiggy! cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top