5/9 Gobbles PMPS 82 +3 72 +5 59 +12 65

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheBowHuntress

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Condo:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94899

I woke up to Gobbles pathetically meowing early this morning....it was his new "I wanna go outside" routine. He was 81 PM+10.5 and had been 68 at PM+4.5, so I'm assuming his nadir was most likely in the 50s. I fed him 1.5 T. of MC at PM+4.5 and hope he didn't drop too low last night as I never heard the PM +7 alarm nailbite_smile
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91

Good morning guys, what a beautiful surf, way to go Gobbles. Hope you both have a great day,

Kathie
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91

Morning Kat, nice AMPS for Gobbles. How cute he wants to go outside. Once they get a taste of the outdoors and a walk, they really love it. I wish I could take Mags outdoors, but she freaks with a collar.
Have a nice day.
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67

Good Morning, Kat......what a wonderful start to Gobbles' day. :mrgreen:

I hope yours is starting out just as nicely. :-D
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67

Fed 1.5 T. of MC(14%) at +2 since it is so early in his cycle. This seems to be a pattern with him. I am considering a reduction because:

*I'm convinced that if I haven't been steering his numbers with MC, he would have easily have earned a reduction.

*His last reduction was on his AM cycle of 5/6 therefore, today is the 7th cycle of said decrease.

*I've had to steer his numbers a total of 3 times on said decrease.

*He's had his shot time moved by a total of 8 hours (forward) since the decrease and his numbers are not being affected.

It should not be necessary to keep steering his numbers....I'll see how the day plays out :shock:
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67

Hi guys .. beautiful numbers for gobbles, you must be really happy with his progress! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67

Ok, I'm looking at your spreadsheet and seeing how often you are steering with food. The first question I asked myself is "Why is she steering with the MC food instead of steering with the LC food first?"

So, same question to you. Why do you start the steering with the MC food instead of the LC food?
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67

Deb & Wink said:
Ok, I'm looking at your spreadsheet and seeing how often you are steering with food. The first question I asked myself is "Why is she steering with the MC food instead of steering with the LC food first?"

So, same question to you. Why do you start the steering with the MC food instead of the LC food?
Because steering him with LC does no good--he plummets! ECID is different; I'm sure there are plenty of owners who steer with LC and if they tried using MC, their kitties would skyrocket. As Gob's Mom, I know what is best for him and what works :-D He's only at 54 and it is still early in his cycle; for him, if I fed LC just now, instead of the 1.5 T. on 14% MC he just ate, I'd most likely have a hypo or near hypo to deal with--totally unwarranted and unsafe, in addition to excessive testing :shock:
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54

Thank you for the explanation. That makes so much more sense now as to why you reach for the MC food first. As you say, ECID, and Gobbles does not react to the LC to push his numbers up.

So Gobbles is not as carb-sensitive as some kitties. I'll remember that for next time and maybe for other kitties too.

Just trying to learn more from all the different condos. Thanks again. ;-)
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54

Sure! Gobbles may be one of just a few handful of kitties who aren't very carb sensitive. When he is getting extremely low, there have been a few times when I gave him 3 or 4 crunchy, dry treats to boost the MC, and he still doesn't break 90 :o
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54

Hi Kat. Congrats on the reduction for Gobbles. It looks like he's going to spend the day at the Lagoon again. I understand your delemia with feeding LC vs MC to steer his numbers. I have had to do the same with PF the past few days. LC will not prevent him from dropping dangerously low.

Good luck with with the reduction, thank you for your visit and have a great day.
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54

Ok, You may think this idea is totally crazy, 'What was she thinking suggesting this wacky idea", but here goes.

What if you were to always feed Gobbles the medium carb food? Would that help to keep his numbers on a more even keel? It is a combination of the food we feed, the insulin given, the amount of exercise and a bit of "the twilight zone factor" all balancing together to get the diabetes regulated.

One change at a time. I would not try this if you are also making a dose change. I only suggest this because you also do a lot of testing and can see how the numbers react to a change like this.

Maybe you have already tried this. Maybe you think it is too far out there to attempt. Maybe you want to think about it a little. Maybe you want to get a 2nd, 3rd, and 4th opinion. Maybe you want to know where I live so you can bring the strait jacket. :shock: :o :shock:

I'm just thinking outside the box here, and never would have suggested this if Gobbles was as carb sensitive as most kittys seem to be.
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54

Deb & Wink said:
Ok, You may think this idea is totally crazy, 'What was she thinking suggesting this wacky idea", but here goes.

What if you were to always feed Gobbles the medium carb food? Would that help to keep his numbers on a more even keel? It is a combination of the food we feed, the insulin given, the amount of exercise and a bit of "the twilight zone factor" all balancing together to get the diabetes regulated.

One change at a time. I would not try this if you are also making a dose change. I only suggest this because you also do a lot of testing and can see how the numbers react to a change like this.

Maybe you have already tried this. Maybe you think it is too far out there to attempt. Maybe you want to think about it a little. Maybe you want to get a 2nd, 3rd, and 4th opinion. Maybe you want to know where I live so you can bring the strait jacket. :shock: :o :shock:

I'm just thinking outside the box here, and never would have suggested this if Gobbles was as carb sensitive as most kittys seem to be.
No, I wouldn't want to try that. And you don't need a straight jacket :lol: I can see that you're trying to help and that is very sweet of you. Thanks :-D

I am working on getting Gobbles OTJ. Ideally, I would like for him to eat just LC and not need any insulin. I am going down to .50 dose tonight and see how that works. I would rather not give him the MC, at any time, unless it is warranted by lower numbers and used to steer him. I started taking him outside over a week ago and I think the exercise is helping his numbers stay low.

BTW, how is Wink these days?
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54 +6 78 +9 81

Wow Kat - Gobbles is doing great!
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54 +6 78 +9 81

Look at all that green! How's his tummy been these last few weeks? From what I can see, it looks like you haven't had to give any Pepcid since 4/20, right around when he started his green surf. :thumbup
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54 +6 78 +9 81

Hi Kat,
Another great day for Team Gobbles! whoooo hoooo!!! hugs and scritches to you!!
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54 +6 78 +9 81

Beautiful cycle today, Gobbles!
Good luck with the reducie. It's a fine line you're walking!

Have a great evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles AMPS 91 +2 67 +4 54 +6 78 +9 81

KPassa said:
Look at all that green! How's his tummy been these last few weeks? From what I can see, it looks like you haven't had to give any Pepcid since 4/20, right around when he started his green surf. :thumbup
Tummy has been fine; one soft poo the other day, but not shocking with all the gravy he's had to have lately. I truly believe the ReNew Poo Fairy Probiotic did the trick!
 
Re: 5/9 Gobbles PMPS 82 +3 72

Oooo! Have you suggested that to Nikki's Mom? Her cat has IBS of some sort and I wonder if that might help things with them as well?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top