5/6 Topper AMPS 330 +3 216 Dose Increase Question

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 5/6 Topper AMPS 330 Dose Increase Question

Hi Jan-

You are right...feeling yucky can definitely affect out kitties' BGs. I'm glad he's feeling better!!

Topper sure did have a nice nadir last night...I have to admit, with that, I personally am not super-duper comfortable with offering dosing advice, so I'm bumping your condo to the top, so more experienced eyes will catch it.

Have a wonderful evening!!
 
Thank you Amy. I'm a little concerned, I REALLY want to raise the dose, but I'd like to see what his bg is when he's feeling better...but who knows, certainly not I!

I hobbled all the way home before I remembered I forgot to add the AM +3 I got when he was shuffling around looking for food, so I hobbled back to my friends house to use her computer again to add that +3, then I remembered I forgot to check his +6 while I was home. :lol:
 
Re: 5/6 Topper AMPS 330 Dose Increase Question

It's possible that a GI problem could raise BG if it's causing Topper stress or the underlying cause is an inflammation or infection. It sounds like from your observation, though, that whatever it is has passed. In part, that's why I asked if maybe he'd gotten into something. Also, have you noticed whether it's one particular kind of food that's causing the diarrhea? (Gluten, fish, and beef are common allergies that could cause a GI upset.)

It's not mandatory that your raise Topper's dose tonight. If you're more comfortable doing a curve prior to raising the dose, that's fine. I tend to not like to see a dose held for more than 5 - 7 days if the numbers are over 120. Holding on to a dose that's not bringing your kitty into a good range risks making it harder to get the dose to come down since your cat gets acclimated to being in high numbers (i.e., glucose toxicity develops). One day isn't going to make a difference, though.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top