5/5 ELIAN - pmps 213; 189 +1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
Can't believe how well E has been doing! No jinxing it!!!! Of course he's at 97 now with his nadir time coming up soon and I have to do an airport run so I'll be a nervous wreck. Hope he doesn't drop too much before I get back.

yesterday
 
Re: 5/5 ELIAN-amps 125; 171 +1; 106 +3.5; 97 +4.5

don't be nervous, he looks like he is surfing nicely and finally stopped the bouncing and is liking the blue/green lagoon! this is all good and keep doing what you are doing, food, testing, insulin, etc and no reason why you shouldn't continue to see these nice numbers. oh and don't get hung up on one number, highs/lows happen and as long as he can even himself out, then all is good!
 
Re: 5/5 ELIAN-amps 125; 171 +1; 106 +3.5; 97 +4.5

Thanks Hillary. Turned out I didn't need to worry - he went up a bit while I was gone. I need to learn what his 'pattern' is! I'm just so happy that he is doing so well. And I'm pretty sure he's feeling better - he's spending more time outside on the screened patio with his brothers and is even more lovable than before. I'm just not used to all of my boys being so slim and trim - 3 of my 4 were overweight while on canned and free feeding dry. They've all lost weight - a plus for everybody!
 
Re: 5/5 ELIAN-amps 125; 171 +1; 106 +3.5; 97 +4.5

Susie and Elian,

So nice to see that that liver training we are always talking about, seems to have kicked in big time. Blues and greens are two of my favorite colors. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/5 ELIAN - protocol/dosing question

I'm reading and re-reading about reductions and increases but I haven't figured out - as long as Elian is doing well and staying in the greens and blues without big bounces but is staying above 50 do I keep him at the current reduced indefinitely or does he get an increase back to where he was after the proper number of cycles/days? I guess Elian is starting to 'get it' but I'm still not! :-(
 
Re: 5/5 ELIAN - protocol/dosing question

I think the following information may help to answer your question. The material is from the TR Protocol used by the German Lantus forum.
Phase 3: Holding the dose

Try to keep the cat at a dose where the BGs are in the 50 to 200 mg/dl range for as much of the day as possible. The majority of cats are actually able to achieve consistent BGs in the 50 to <100 mg/dl range with consistent dosing. A well regulated cat looks like this.

Don't let the cat go below 50 mg/dl (N.B. there are some cats that do well with BGs >=40 mg/dl and are difficult to regulate unless the dose is held at BGs in this range, but a cautious approach should be used until you are sure your cat reacts this way). 200 to 220 mg/dl is approximately the renal threshold for glucose and important for renal health and general recovery. This phase may last a long time (many months). Periodic slight adjustments are necessary in many cases.
 
Re: 5/5 ELIAN - protocol/dosing question

Thank you yet again, Sienne! So as long as E continues the way he is he can stay at this dose indefinitely. But hopefully he'll earn some reductions at some point.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top