5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +5.25 66; +5.75 68; +6.25 88;+ 7 106

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennifer&Cain(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's thread

Hello!

I was so tired today I set my phone alarm to later and did some sleeping in. His +6 last night was high enough that I decided it was safe enough to get some zzz's in. :) Still need more sleep of course but it's a good start.

AMPS is 148.

Marje, I think I will try upping the dose on tomorrow's AM shot. I'll be home to test. That would be 2u then right?
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71

Darn errands. Ran way too long so I didn't get a +2.

+4.35 is 71.

He's eating right now cause he was hungry.

Also, Walmart was out again of the Relion syringes. If they ran out so fast, why don't they order more. Bah. I ended up getting the BD 3/10cc ones but they don't have half markings. I wouldn't have gotten those but I have one syringe left cause the last time I managed to get into Walmart this week, they were out then. I should have bought a box last time they had one.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81

Sorry about the syringes--Walmart--go figure. I get Gobbles' syringes from ADW (along with test strips, lancets, ketostix). You can get a box of 100 syringes (U-100 half-unit, 5/16" short needle, 31g) for $13.99; I don't know how much needles cost at other places, but 13.99 seems very reasonable. Plus there's a link here on FDMB for ADW and if you shop through the link, FDMB gets a proceeds of the sale. The last time I bought lancets from there, I found some for $1.25/per 100...

Nice numbers! Are you feeding him every hour? When Gobbles gets low numbers early on, I feed him every hour :-D
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55

+6.2 is 55

I'm going to see if he'll eat something. Should I try mixing in a bit of hc to make mc food?
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55 Should I fee

I try to feed him a bit when he's low. I didn't think the errands would run so long so he ate whatever was left in the bowl after the shot. I did feed him 1/2 can when I got home which was the +4 reading. And he's eating roughly 1/4 can of chicken feast just now. Which I think I measured it once and it's nearly a tablespoon.

I'll check out those syringes, Kat. I'm just annoyed at them for running out so frequently. That does sound like the price for a box of relion syringes.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55 Should I fee

I fed him a 1/4 teaspoon of HC with what was left of his LC in the bowl.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55

Narillan said:
+6.2 is 55

I'm going to see if he'll eat something. Should I try mixing in a bit of hc to make mc food?
if it was me, I'd try a teaspoon of MC (12-18%) and that's what I do if I don't have a can in that percentage range(mix LC and HC). Some people will only feed LC when in the 50s, but I always use MC in the 50s. Also, say he's only maybe 65 and it is only +1, 2 or 3....I will also feed MC, keeping in mind a +6 nadir. I'd rather be safe than sorry.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55 Should I fee

Good job steering the numbers.

If I remember, I think Relion, GNP and BD are all made by the same company. I'm pretty sure you can order the Relion syringes from Walmart's online site. Either that, or ask the pharmacy to order them for you. I order Monoject syringes from ADW.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55; +7 69

+7 69

I think he knew we were going to increase the dose. I guess it's not happening now.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55; +7 69

Narillan said:
+7 69

I think he knew we were going to increase the dose. I guess it's not happening now.
yes, I'm sure he knows--they do read their own condos from time to time. I think he is trying to tell you he wouldn't appreciate an increase :lol: Keep feeding and testing :-D I have to turn in; if Cain gets a little low, be sure to post for help. You really are doing a stellar job :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +4.35 71; +5 81; +6.2 55; +7 69

+7.5 71

Looks like he might be rising. I'll test again at the +8.

And thank you, Kat & Sienne. :) I tried looking on the online Walmart site but I couldn't find them. I'll look again later when I'm less out of it. I didn't get food till 5pm, forgot breakfast, and it makes me out of it for a while.

Hmm, if he's going to do this often, maybe I should look into MC food. So far the mixing in low amounts of HC with LC seems to be working.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +6.2 55; +7 69; +7.5 71; +8 76

+8 is 76

I think he should be on his way up now. I can check again in a half hour, but I'm thinking a +9.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +6.2 55; +7 69; +7.5 71; +8 76; +9 91

+9 is 91.

I'm beginning to wonder if he's going to be high enough to shoot a PM shot. I haven't had a 150 or less to shoot yet.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +6.2 55; +7 69; +7.5 71; +8 76; +9 91

+10 87

He's on his two hour away from food so I can get the non-food number for the PMPS. Should I feed a tiny amount or just wait?
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +7.5 71; +8 76; +9 91; +10 87

technically you should wait unless he drops below 50.
87 and 91 are pretty much the same number so he's surfing still.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain AMPS 148; +7.5 71; +8 76; +9 91; +10 87

PMPS is 125.

What do I do? Do I shoot as normal?

I have about 12 minutes left for the 15min.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108

I took a new one 13mins later. 108 PMPS. I did the usual 1.75u. And I will get a +2. And probably more this night. Too bad I don't/can't drink caffeine anymore.

I think I need to ask earlier on safe numbers to shoot, cause there is usually no one on when I need advice on the hours I shoot on the PM shot.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108

Jennifer, I'll be around for a bit tonight, in between naps. I have a green dropping kitty and am on the west coast. Normally we suggest that you get a +1 and a +2 the first time you are shooting your lowest ever PS. In a few hours, which might be Cain's nadir, the early east coasters start coming on the board.

Normally a 108 is a safe number to shoot. He was coming up from nadir today and will probably go up a bit after dinner until his onset.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91

Oh! How frequently should I be testing tonight? I haven't ran with such low numbers for a long time like this. I know they're good numbers but they're also a little scary. :)
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91

It looks like Cain wants to go low again tonight. Just in case, do you have high carb (HC) food around? That's the ones with gravy? And in case you need it, here is the post on handling low numbers,

If Cain is still dropping at your next test, give him a couple of tsp of his low carb (LC) food to try to slow him down a little.

For testing, I generally say every hour if 80 or above. More frequently if lower. But it also depends on how fast he's dropping.

Do you have his next test yet?
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1

+2.1 is 75

He just ate a few tsps I think. I'll have to check the bowl. And yes, I have nearly three cans of HC with gravy. If he dips in the 50s, I've been giving a tsp of HC and a tsp of LC, well so far anyways.

I'm going to have to get more test strips on Sunday. I didn't expect this with how he was running till now.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91

Sounds good. You should probably get a +3 next. Don't forget to update your first post with the new numbers.

Cain might be wanting a reduction tonight. If he goes below 50, definitely give HC. It's still a while to nadir but I find with Neko that if she is going really low, she nadirs earlier.

It's OK if Cain has a little food now but I wouldn't feed too much. You may want to feed him later when his numbers get lower and you want him to be a little hungry then.

I'm going for another nap, but will be up again in 1/2 hour. I saw the first east coaster on for a little bit. If you get worried, add something to your first post such as "help" so people know to look.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91

If my Dumdum shows BG goes down too quick at +2 (here's number should be higher or almost the same as PMPS or AMPS)
I will test at +3 +4 and sure the number will be around 60.
If under 60 then I'll give some canned food every hour (about 20g) until it start to go up.(But if he eat food and next test is over 60, then don't give food)
If the number shows lower than 40, then I'll give some canned food and test every 30 minutes, also until the curve goes up.
And I will give him HC food when it really shows hypo.

Dumdum also got some low numbers these days.
I read Gobbles' ss, and hope you try to get some sleep when the BG up 120 or when curve shows is going up.
You must haven't had a good sleep for many days...take care!! ~O)
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68

+3 is 68.

Ah, thank you Akilo. And no, my sleep's been fractured for a while. I'm going to be napping today if I can help it...
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68

OH I AM SORRY! I READ THE WRONG SS
HOW SHAME I AM!!! :oops:

Cain's ss look fine now, I am sorry again :oops: :oops: :oops:
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68

Good Morning, Jennifer :)
Nice string of green numbers, Cain.

I would feed him a couple teaspoons of LC and test again in 30 minutes.

Wendy asked me to come on, so she can get some sleep.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68

Edit: Well I should have refreshed first. :)

Morning, Dyana!

I'll feed him some LC then test again thirty mins after.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68; +4 62

Yup. +4 is 62.

By the time I saw the post and fed him, thirty mins ran right into +4 testing.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68; +4 62

He's pretty close to surfing. I would feed two more teaspoons of LC, maybe three if they're small teaspoons, and then test again in 30 minutes.

I'm going to take my cats for a walk. I'll be back in a few.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68; +4 62

Ok +4.75 or whatever it is (6:43am) is 57.

Err that was supposed to be 4. Sorry, super tired. I've dozed at best.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +1.5 91; +2.1 75; +3 68; +4 62

He should be getting close to nadir here, pretty soon. I would feed another 3 teaspoons of LC. Let me know if he's not hungry, or doesn't eat the food.

See you for another test in 30 minutes (+6.25). I wouldn't wait more than 30 minutes, this time.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; 5.75ish 57

Ok I put three tsps of LC in his bowl. He's working on it now. I'll check in a few minutes. Did you want thirty minutes from when he finishes eating it or from when I put it in the bowl?

Edit: Looks like he ate most of it. There's some left, I would guess about a tsp.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57

I also fixed the subject line cause I keep messing it up with what hour I am. Shot was a little later than normal for the PM one.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57

Oh, okay, so you're not as close to nadir as I thought.
I would test 30 minutes after the last test. If he is still going down at the next test, then I would add some MC to try to get him back up into the 60s and 70s. You're doing fine.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57

Thanks. I'm trying. I can't sleep cause I wake up too often thinking oh shoot I'm missing my alarm, or I'm about to sleep and the alarm goes off. The spreadsheet is correct, I'm just not typing in numbers right here apparently. Thankfully the meter keeps time. Should have another test in a few minutes.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57; +5.25 66

+5.25 is 66 (These decimals might be off. Math is not my strong suit when I'm this tired. Test was at 7:14am. It looks right though.)

Should I try feeding him some more?
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57; +5.25 66

Yes, please feed him a little more LC. I would like him up into the 70s, and then you can try a stretch without feeding.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57; +5.25 66

Ok I put two tsps of LC in his bowl. He's eating it now. And I brought it to him, the lucky cat. :-D
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +3 68; +4 62; +4.75 57; +5.25 66

Well he licked the bowl clean. That's a good thing I think. I'll test at +5.75.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +4.75 57; +5.25 66; +5.75 68

+5.75 is 68.

Darn so close to 70s. What should I do? Wait a bit and test again? The two tsps were at +5.5, so this test was 15mins in. I'll test again for certain at +6.25. Or I can test at +6.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +4.75 57; +5.25 66; +5.75 68

I think you can try to go without feeding and test again in 30. You must be very tired.
I see that Sienne is logged in. Let's see if she has a different opinion.
I'll have to be leaving in an hour, to go to work.
 
Re: 5/4 Cain PMPS 108; +4.75 57; +5.25 66; +5.75 68

Ok I'll get the +6.25 then. Yes, very tired. :) So going to sleep well the little bits of time I get before I have to test again. Well once we're up to the hour testing.

Thank you for all the help this morning, Dyana. Really appreciate it. You as well, Wendy, when you get a chance to read this.

I wonder what dose to give him at the AM shot. It's a while off but I'm thinking of it now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top