5/1 Ripley PMPS 123, +3 101, lab results

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Yesterday.

Yesterday recap:
AMPS: 109 (ate 2.5 oz CC+WT)
+9: 90
+11: 109
PMPS: 150 (ate 1.25 oz. CC+WT, got first dose of Clavamox, 1.1 ml)
(+2.5: 100ml sub-qs, ate 1.25 CC+WT)
+3: 106
+6: 88

Good morning, LL!

Ripley is doing great today! All 5 Ps are in place, good appy, chirps and headbutts :-D .

Thanks for the visits last night, Deborah and Marje :-D Marje, the vet was able to draw a urine sample via cystocentesis ~ and we'll get culture results in a few days. How nice that Tobes is a part of the KTSS Krewe. Does he massage beans, too? :lol:

I posted Ripley's labwork results in the link below ~ everything seems holding steady, no big changes. It's good to know that things aren't worsening. ("Things" being CKD, anemia...) And her vet praised Ripley's FD condition (Thank you, FDMB!!).
The only thing is they found high levels of bacteria in her urine, so she's taking Clavamox liquid. Hopefully the culture will show that this infection will respond to Clavamox ~ she had her 2nd dose of the AB this morning.

:?: If the Clavamox shows to not be effective, which other antibiotics are FD/CKD-friendly? I know to stay away from covenia. (Several mos. ago I OK'd a cefovecin shot, not knowing at the time that it's covenia. :sad: )
:?: Also, Ripley has not shown any signs of having a urinary infection ~ is it possible that sometimes they're symptom-free?

I hope everyone has a great day.
Sending vines to all kitties and beans in need!
:YMHUG:
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, lab results, AB quest.

What a great start to the day... Hope Ripley continues the surf. Have a good day
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, lab results, AB quest.

Hi Josie, Glad to hear the vetty visit went well! Yes, it is possible for them to have a UTI without symptoms, Kismet had one before at a check-up and was acting totally fine.
Sending good AB vines. What a gorgeous start to the day, too! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, lab results, AB quest.

Good morning! Sorry about the UTI. Tarragon gets them occassionally and just got over one. He does not do well with Clavamox at all. It makes him pukey and he won't eat. This time they gave him Cefpodoxime pills. There were absolutely no side effects and it cleared it right up. Healing vines for Ripley!!
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, lab results, AB quest.

Hi Josie, sorry about the infection and hope she can tolerate the Clacamox. Mags had a UTI that also spread to her kidneys, and the Vet had her on Orbax which she tolerated very well, It's a liquid and once every 24 hours.
Glad seh is stable with everything. I'll go take a look. Hope all went well yesterday with the Open House.
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, lab results, AB quest.

Hi guys .. beautiful start ripley! Glad the vetty visit went well and all things are holding steady .. I hope these meds clear up the UTI for her .. have a great day!
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, lab results, AB quest.

Please check with your vet to find out if the base for the clavamox liquid is sugar syrup. It's pretty common that they use a sweetened base since the AB usually tastes pretty awful. You may start to see a different in Ripley's numbers, as well.

Did the vet to a cystocentesis and culture and sensitivity? If the vet didn't use a needle into Ripley's bladder to get a sterile urine sample, the bacteria could be from anything. If the vet did a cysto, the C & S should tell you if clavamox is the right AB for the type of bacteria.
 
5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, +9 85, lab results

Hi, Angela :-D Thanks! Looks like Ripley's having a good day, too! :mrgreen:

Hi, Courtney :-D Thanks for your input and vines! :mrgreen:

Hi, Melissa :-D Thanks for letting me know which AB works well for Tarragon ~ Luckily, Ripley doesn't have any negative reactions to Clavamox. But it's good to have a back-up AB, just in case... Thanks for the healing vines! :-D

Hi, Ann :-D Thanks for sharing Maggie's AB experience ~ kidney infections are no fun. The Open House was GREAT! I love all my families :-D

Hi, Devon :-D We are glad there aren't major changes with her values, too. Thanks for visiting today! :-D

Hi, Sienne :-D I think I'm going to try to contact the Clavamox makers and inquire about added sweetener ~ the last time she was on Clavamox, her numbers did increase, but that may have been due to the infection, too. We are awaiting the culture/sensitivity results ~ and he did do a cysto. My vet doesn't carry Clavamox in pill-form, but I also may ask for a prescription for pills to be filled elsewhere (if the c & s test shows Clavamox is ok to keep using). Thank you so much for checking in! :-D

Ripley is having a green day! (There may have been an early am food spike, but her numbers look good to me!)
She's out back, basking. Love this weather!!!!! :cool: :cool: :cool:
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, +9 85, lab results

It looks like Ripely is having a good day. I hope the AB doesn't raise her numbers and clears up the infection quickly.
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley AMPS 97, +9 85, lab results

Hi Josie.....I'm sorry Ripley has an infection. I hope the Clav clears it up quickly.
Isn't it nice to get praise from the doc? :-D

Hope Ripley continues the great numbers, and doesn't raise from the Clav. My DD reminded me that Checks does, so it's something to watch for.
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley PMPS 123, lab results

Ripley's having a beautiful evening.
She just ate her first dinner ~ she'll get the rest in a 1/2 hr or so, when it's time for her sub-qs.

Hi, Carla :-D So far so good on the numbers. If her numbers do raise due to the uti and/or the bubble-gum AB, then I'll just adjust her insulin accordingly.

Hi, Barb :-D I do love it when the vet acknowledges the FD treatment ~ esp. since he was reluctant about letting her live beyond diagnosis. (So, truthfully, it's 90% pride and 10% "ha! Take that, vet" :lol: ) When Ripples was on Clavamox earlier this year, her BGs did rise ~ so it's something I'm keeping an eye on. Oh, who am I kidding? When am I not keeping an eye on her BGs? :lol:
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley PMPS 123, lab results

Very nice numbers! It's good the lab results are ok except for the infection. I hope the meds work. It's very cool that you got a thumbs up from the vet! I love the vets who are actually interested in hearing about the extra mile that you go through for pets.

DON'T TAKE YOUR EYE OFF THE METER!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 5/1 Ripley PMPS 123, lab results

Looking lovely today, Ripley-girl! I hope the ABs clear up her infection ASAP.

My vet also said she would leave the dosing stuff to me, because Trix looks great and obviously I know what I'm doing :-D ! It's kinda sad, but I guess most kitties don't do as well as our TR LL kitties do...
 
Good luck with the UTI. I hope it gets cleared up real soon. Peepee took a new ab called Verflox and it seemed to clear her UTI for now anyhow. We were happy with this ab because she has projectile vomiting and completely loosed her appetite for days on just one dose of other abs
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top