4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363 +2~254 +3~84 +4~60 +5~63 +6~81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363

PMPS 363
+2 254

It's starting to lower like yesterday's PMPS.
Is there any possible that his curve is not 12hr, so that make insulin works at different time?
He's BG seems like always lower after PMPS...
I'll keep on testing. :roll:
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363

Dumdum's body gets scared of being green. Big bounce.
In time he'll do better.
Your patience will be tested ....but meanwhile those greens and low blues are healing numbers.
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363

rhiannon and shadow said:
Dumdum's body gets scared of being green. Big bounce....

Thank you, Rhiannon, for answering so quick! :mrgreen:
So if his nadir is always at green, the bounce might come over and over again ?
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363

rhiannon and shadow said:
Most cats go lower in the evening cycle... that way they can interrupt our sleeping. Just like a cat.... :lol:

Oh THAT'S TRUE!!!
Dumdum keeps running everywhere and begging for food in the evening. :twisted:
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363

I went and found a better explanation of what happens ....

A little reminder about bounces: A cat that isn't (yet) used to healthy numbers (low blues, and mid-range to upper-range greens, sub-120 overall is ideal) will often show what we call "bounces". What happens is that the liver 'recognizes' that the cat's BG is lower than what it is used to. When the BG drops low enough to warrant a 'panicky' reaction from the liver (OR if the BG drops very *quickly*, even if not that low, as for example from the 400s into the 200s in a short time, like and hour or two), the liver will release glucagon and counter-regulatory hormones, in order to push the BG back up. This often happens more forcefully than would really have been necessary - it's a "panicky liver" overreaction. The BG zooms up - this is called a "bounce." Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to "clear" (meaning, the time it takes the cat's body to flush out and deal with the extra sugars and hormones). It's also important to remember that bounces are NORMAL - they do NOT warrant a panicked reaction from YOU (since the liver is already doing that).

This is why the dose amount is based on the nadir. ( the lowest number of the cycle)

Eventually Dumdum will earn a decrease in dose. The magic number is 49. That is as low as he ever needs to go.
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363

rhiannon and shadow said:
I went and found a better explanation of what happens ....

Thank you again! Now I see, bounce will happens not only the nadir is at a really low number, but also when the BG's lower process is very quick.
That does really often happened at Dumdum's BG.
So that means we have to wait until his liver gets used to the new green number, realizes these green numbers won't hurt, and then the bounce will stop. It's that right?
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363 +2~254

+2 254
+3 84

I test his BG at +3 and I think I can sure Dumdum's BG keeps on boucing again and again.
It looks like I should decrease his dose?
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363 +2~254 +3~84 +4~60need dose advice,

I think his dose looks fine, at the moment. If he gets a BG test below 50, then you should decrease the dose.
Can you test at +5 tonight?
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363 +2~254 +3~84 +4~60need dose advice,

Yes!! The more time that Dumdum spends in normal BG numbers (50 - 120), the more his body will once again recognize these numbers as the normal range. As this happens, bounces occur less frequently and they begin to take a shorter amount of time to resolve.

As far as dose, you want to continue with the 0.75u dose. With the Tight Regulation Protocol, you reduce the dose once your kitty's BG numbers drop below 50.
 
Re: 4/29 Dumdum PMPS~363 +2~254 +3~84 +4~60need dose advice,

+5 63
+6 81

Thank you, Dyana and Sienne, :YMHUG:
I will hold the dose and hope it back to normal soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top