4/28 Rory AMPS 331, +3 200, +7 265, +9 257, PMPS 401!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
4/28
AMPS = 331 ~ 1u Lantus
+3 = 200
+7 = 265
+9 = 257
PMPS = 401 ~ 1u Lantus

Rory ate quite a lot today and was searching for food a lot.. heavy drinking and lots of peeing. He seemed to be more of a Roller coaster today, more so than yesterdays readings. I really hope that it is a temporary thing I hate seeing my baby go through this, he even greeted me at the testing spot today like he wanted me to do it!!! and he seemed depressed and low

condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=94207
 
Yuck on that BG! :-x So, so frustrating on your part but he will get to better numbers. It's just going to take a bit of time. I think you could increase to 1.25u in the morning unless you see a number lower than 150 or so in this cycle. Great job on the testing! :-D
Liz
 
I thought you said it could take 72 hours to get better, and also I thought you had to wait 5 days before you increase :(

Im worries again now!!!!!
 
You have to wait 5 days to hold the initial dose to see how a cat responds to Lantus. After that, you need to wait at least 3 days before increasing the dose. It's impossible to know how much insulin any individual cat will need so there is a methodical way of slowly increasing the dose until you find a good dose. On the other hand, if a cat needs a much bigger dose, you don't want to fool around at lower doses either. That's why you increase after just 3 days, so that you can find the good dose as quickly and as safely as possible.

It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. A bounce is a reaction (higher numbers) to getting into lower numbers or dropping quickly. So this could be a bit of a bounce from those blues yesterday. Those aren't really very low numbers, just lower than Rory has been lately.

You can wait before increasing. But if you can monitor then you can be a little more aggressive to bring the numbers down and still keep Rory safe.

Remember to breathe and try to stay calm. This is a marathon, not a sprint.
Liz
 
+2.5 was 295 from 401.. really all over the map on a roller coaster ride today.. I am still not comfortable increasing so soon. I just put him on RAW food again at bed time so we will see what happens in a few hours with his next AMPS only 3.5 hours away
 
What was Rory eating before? It's good to know about changes like that because the food will affect the BG. You can also mix the raw with his previous food to gradually change over.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top