4/26 Rory AMPS 367, +3 317, +6 272, +9 250, PMPS 257, +3 261

Status
Not open for further replies.

Var-ee and Rory

Member Since 2013
Insulin increase today from .75u to 1u since numbers were higher, I hope that is OK.. although he has had a heavy appetite the past few days

26/04
AMPS 367 ~ 1.0 Lantus
+3 = 317
+6 = 272
+9 = 250
PMPS = 257
1u Lantus
+3 = 261

I have noticed a lot of water drinking again today but his numbers were higher than the past 8 days so I thought since it is well past 5 days an increase would be alright.. I will check him at +3 again before bed to be safe.. or would +4 be better????? :?:

condo viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93933
 
Re: 4/26 Rory AMPS 367, +3 317, +6 272, +9 250, PMPS 257

Any chance you can get an evening mid-cycle test, like right before you go to bed? That will help to see what his nadirs are. Good job!
Liz
 
Re: 4/26 Rory AMPS 367, +3 317, +6 272, +9 250, PMPS 257

that is what I meant when I said "I would check it at +3" and I asked if "+4 would be better???" I was hoping for someone to let me know which would be better :/
 
Re: 4/26 Rory AMPS 367, +3 317, +6 272, +9 250, PMPS 257

OK I just did a read at +3 and he is slightly higher than his PMPS read and I have even increased his dose today.. I don't understand why because he was doing so well before the past 2 days on this new Lantus
 
Re: 4/26 Rory AMPS 367, +3 317, +6 272, +9 250, PMPS 257, +3

The nadir is the point in the cycle where the cat's blood glucose is the lowest. Take a look at the starred sticky notes at the top of this forum, specifically the New to Lantus one for the list of terminology. Often, when a cat's dose is first increased, they can experience a couple of cycles where the numbers go higher. It's what we call NDW or New Dose Wonkiness.

We often recommend that people using Lantus get a +2 test as an indicator of how the cycle will go. If the +2 is the same or lower than the PS, then it'll be a normal cycle. If it's a lot lower, then it'll be a very active cycle, and you should pay attention. The later you can get any subsequent tests before bed, the better idea you'll have of how the cycle will go.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top