Re: HELP!!! +11 75, AMPS106, +1 147.6 +2 151 +7 248

Status
Not open for further replies.

Harrycat

Member Since 2012
Help please guys!!

I have got my first AMPS of 75 and I am unsure of whether to shoot or not - I am supposed to be out all day today with no cover. I can test up until about +4 and then I need to go ohmygod_smile (timing!!!)

What to do????? Bearing in mind last night was a late shot, I have fed today at the normal time (the cats are starving), and I will wait until another hour before testing again so it will be nearer 12 hours between doses?

I know this could be a 'food spike' now though? I have only given him half his usual breakfast.

I will test in an hour again and let you know
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

Darn it, I know I shouldn't have fed him now. Not really awake this morning. Annoyed with myself now. :roll:
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

Ok....first, take a deep breath :-D

How much did you feed?

What I am seeing is that this is a dropping number. Since we don't have alot of data on what he does with an early dropping number and you have to leave, I would be concerned about you shooting.

However, there are options
1. You can stall, no more food, and test every 20 minutes or so; when he starts to rise, shoot his 1.75u dose and then get a +1 and +2; if you stall and shoot, then you need to shoot 12 hours from when you shoot this morning

2. Shoot a reduced dose

3. Skip...if you skip...which is probably safest, you just shoot at your regular time or you can move the time if you want to pick a better shot time; numbers will go up but they will come back down.

If you decide to shoot, you need to be sure you have lots of strips as well as HC food/gravy and honey or syrup. If you look in my signature block, there is a link for Handling Low Numbers.

Normally, one of us would stay with you and walk you through it but I can't stay up tonight.

IMHO, I would skip but you hold the syringe.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

I fed less than normal, (probably about half what I would normally give) and it alllllllll gone.

Thanks for your reply - I wasn't expecting anyone in the US to be awake! :cool:

I will wait an hour and see if the numbers come up, and post again.

Thanks.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

Welcome to FDMB Harry's Bean! (Not sure what your name is :-| ) You are in good hands with Marje! I'm no expert but just wanted to say hi. Glad you finally got the Lantus, now welcome to the roller coaster :lol: but seriously you will get excellent advice and support here.

Time for me to go to bed here in California.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

Hello from another west coaster. My kitty is diving so I'm up for a while if you want company. Might be able to answer a few questions too. Post your next number when you get it.

Nice numbers on Harry! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

If you shoot late, then make up your time by shooting early 15 mins every cycle until you are back on time or you can shoot 30 mins early one cycle a day u til you are caught up.

You want to see a good rise. Since we don't have much data for him for low numbers, he could hit the point where this mornings shot is wearing off and zoom up or he could stay lower and then drop again when his next shot onsets which would be about two hours after you shoot.

Or he could bounce back up.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! Shoot or not?

Based on past performance I think he will probably bounce back up as as soon as I have got his numbers blue or green he usually spikes quite high. Off to find him and get another reading in a min. I think he thinks he's got away with it today now.... :lol:
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

How long since you've fed?

If you want to shoot this, you can and then feed him a good meal. His AMPS will be the number you shoot.

I'd get a +1 and +2. I'd be sure I know his BG before you leave and if he's less than 150, if leave out high carb food.

I have to sign off but Wendy said she'd check in on you. Please post your +1 and +2 in subject line.

Good luck. Please read the link I referenced.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

Jackie, just let us know what you want to do. I'll be up for a couple of hours yet.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

Could be a food spike. If you can stall 30 more mins and be sure he's still on the way up, you should be able to shoot.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

OK, he has had his shot and a good feed. I don't HAVE to go out today if he drops any. Sorry I read your first post saying it was OK to shoot so I gave him his shot.
I will test again in 30 mins and let you know.
Thanks again
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

Hi Jax,

Just popping over from 'Health' to say 'Hi'. :smile:

Interesting numbers there!

Eliz
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

Morning Eliz,

Got my backside in my hands now eh?? lol

He is not impressed that I have now shut him in for a bit - he wants to go out and play in the sunshine! Can't risk him wandering off for a bit though when I need to test.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

Jackie - could you update your first post with your AMPS number that you shot. I think it was the 106? Since this is your lowest PS, we recommend getting a +1 and a +2 to see where he is going.

You'll have to update your spreadsheet too. I believe that 4.2 was really +11 or something like that because you were trying to move your shot times up?

I'll be around a while yet, just tested a 41. :roll:
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

Thanks, Is that better now?
30 mins to go until the +1 test.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

SS looks good! Could you also update your subject line in your first post to show the AMPS and any additional numbers when you get them. It's that first subject line that is displayed in the forum and scanning that is a quick way to check progress.
 
Re: HELP!!! First Green AMPS number 76! now 106 at +1 (no sh

8.2 at +1 (phew!!) lol (147.6) sorry nearly forgot to translate!
 
Re: HELP!!! +11 75, AMPS 106, +1 147.6 (updated)

Sounds good. I speak 8.6, I'm Canadian. :lol: It's only the US that does the 147.

That could be a food spike, so a +2 is good. I'm about to go into sleep/test mode for my cat. I'll be back in an hour to check on her and see how you are doing. OK?
 
Re: HELP!!! +11 75, AMPS 106, +1 147.6 (updated)

8.4 at +2 (151.2)

I need to go out now :sad: . I will be leaving some normal LC food out for the cats.

Thanks for your support. I will be gone for a few hours, am aiming to get back as soon as I can get away with it, hopefully by about 1500 hrs which is his usual nadir.
Not sure I am going to enjoy being out worrying about him but my sister desperately needs my help.

I will update when I get back.
 
Re: HELP!!! +11 75, AMPS 106, +1 147.6 (updated)

Sorry, we posted at the same time. Could you leave out some high carb food for him? He's pretty close to the 150 Marje suggested and with the high carb he'll be safer.

Great job today. Love seeing those lower numbers on Harry!
 
Re: HELP!!! +11 75, AMPS 106, +1 147.6 (updated)

OK, will leave out the naughty stuff! :cool: 'Tis safer that way

Thanks again
x
 
13.8 at +7 :) although his belly is Huuuuuuuuge as he has scoffed all the naughty food I left out and he looks groggy like he has stuffed himself!
 
At least he is safe and gets a bit of a break on the ears for a while. Not too bad a number if that is his bounce. Have a great rest of day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top