4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129 PMPS 254 AMPS 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

bagheerathediabeticcat

Member Since 2013
So my human was very surprised when the testing strips showed up today. They were not supposed to show up until Saturday, but they were here today!

Apparently there is this thing called the Postal Service that you human use to send things to each other. He tells me that some people don't like it, but when they get things from Florida to California in three days, it impresses him.

He is going to hold my dose steady because we see some nice blue numbers.

Previous condition
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129

Yay! No more rationing test strips and no need to contemplate entering the evil Walmart lair. :lol:

I'm curious to see what numbers you'll be getting over the weekend. Might I suggest testing a bit more sporadically? For example, what I do on the days I have time to test frequently, I try to "fill in the holes" of the spreadsheet for the times I don't have very many tests. In your case, I'd probably do a bit more post-shot testing (+2 to +4) and/or try squeezing in some more pre-shot testing (+9 to +11)
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129

Tara & Buster said:
Pretty blues! Maybe you can find your way to double digits tonight?

It doesn't look like it. I just got my shot and my reading was 254. But even that is better than the 300s we were seeing recently. So we will see. Maybe tomorrow my human will bump up my dose, maybe he will wait until Saturday. It all depends.
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129 PMPS 254

Not sure with Levemir, but being in mid-200s at pre-shot is generally a good thing on Lantus and is considered fairly well-regulated when paired with green nadirs. If you imagine the cycle like a smiley face with the corners of the lips symbolizing the pre-shot numbers, having higher pre-shot numbers gives you some flexibility for them to go down to nadir safely. In fact, Mikey's PMPS tonight was 258 and my first thought was, "can't wait to see those greens again in a few hours." :mrgreen:

Whenever I shoot Mikey when he's under 100, I'm always nervous nailbite_smile until I see him safely surfing because a 12-hour cycle is a loooong time to sustain dropping numbers above 50 if you're starting out with him at 70.
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129 PMPS 254

KPassa said:
Not sure with Levemir, but being in mid-200s at pre-shot is generally a good thing on Lantus and is considered fairly well-regulated when paired with green nadirs. If you imagine the cycle like a smiley face with the corners of the lips symbolizing the pre-shot numbers, having higher pre-shot numbers gives you some flexibility for them to go down to nadir safely. In fact, Mikey's PMPS tonight was 258 and my first thought was, "can't wait to see those greens again in a few hours." :mrgreen:

Whenever I shoot Mikey when he's under 100, I'm always nervous nailbite_smile until I see him safely surfing because a 12-hour cycle is a loooong time to sustain dropping numbers above 50 if you're starting out with him at 70.
Levemir is slightly different. I don't see repeatable green cycles with yellow bookends more common with Lantus.

If (with Levemir) you want a nadir of 70, you may need to regularly shoot under 100 since a stable cycle may only vary by 25 points or less.
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129 PMPS 254

Dale 'n' Chip said:
I don't see repeatable green cycles with yellow bookends more common with Lantus.

If (with Levemir) you want a nadir of 70, you may need to regularly shoot under 100 since a stable cycle may only vary by 25 points or less.

Thanks for the additional info! So, in an unstable cycle, what would you see commonly as pre-shots? And how often is the nadir "off" from a "typical" cycle?

I must admit I've been following Bagheera's Condos partially for spurious reasons: I eventually want to try Michelangelo out on Levemir. If I have a life-long diabetic, I might as well use that toward a data-gathering advantage, right? I mean, as long as it works for him of course! :lol: ;-)
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129 PMPS 254

I am not really sure I understand what you mean by unstable cycle unless you mean less flat? With lantus and levemir, the goal is flat....not smiley :-D

Lots of people shoot lantus under 100 routinely and whether a cat is on lantus or lev, you have to learn to shoot low to stay low. Personally, I am not that happy when Gracie has PSs of 200 or more....I want the normal numbers. Anything between 50-120 is healing; anything over is not.
 
So my human was nervous this morning when he shot me with my dosing. It used to be at the 97 level, I wouldn't get any insulin at all. But he gave my 4.5 unit dose.

I'm not even hungry this morning. I went to the wet food, looked at it, and walked away. And then I had a few nibbles of the dry food.

He'll keep an eye out on me until he goes to work, but I'm acting totally normal. In fact, I'm running around and being very playful!
 
Re: 4/25 Bagheera AMPS 152 +6 129 PMPS 254

Marje and Gracie said:
I am not really sure I understand what you mean by unstable cycle unless you mean less flat? With lantus and levemir, the goal is flat....not smiley :-D

I'm not even sure what I meant now, either. :lol: I'm thinking I was probably meaning before someone gets to the "Shoot Low" stage. For example, when I used to skip Mikey's shots when he was under 200, it was common to see yellows at pre-shot for a few days afterward. Even occasionally now when I shoot low, I'll still end up with yellows toward the end of his cycle. Or even if I shoot in a different location and the absorption rate is delayed (or sped up), this will cause Mikey to have some weird nadirs.

bagheerathediabeticcat said:
So my human was nervous this morning when he shot me with my dosing. It used to be at the 97 level, I wouldn't get any insulin at all. But he gave my 4.5 unit dose.
...
He'll keep an eye out on me until he goes to work, but I'm acting totally normal. In fact, I'm running around and being very playful!

Good job on shooting low! :thumbup It took me weeks to work up the nerve to shoot under 100!

If you can't get a +1 and +2 like Marje suggested, is your work close enough that you could run home on a break or lunch to test?

(Also, you might want to update your spreadsheet ;-) )
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top