4/25 Tiggy PMPS 302 ? 1/2 unit increases?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendy&Tiggy(GA)

Member Since 2011
Previous condo

He has a little more energy today. I cant believe how bad his BG is. I am wondering about increasing by 1/2unit increments every 3 days now. I am also wondering if the sitter managed to get any insulin into him at all. or how much. I left her a syringe with food colouring in and everything.

@@###@$$A##A#@A@A!!!!
 
Don't all answer at once.

Maybe I will just talk to myself then.
Do you think it's a good idea Wendy,
why yes I do,
why would you think that,
because he is so high now anyway that 1/4unit doesn't do anything.
Sounds like a good idea to me Wendy

Lalalalala I am going crazy!
 
Tilly allows for .5U increases when you get over 3U.

On the other hand there have been times when Tiggy seemed to be sensitive to the differences between 6.75 and 7.0U.

But perhaps it is a good plan to get ahead of whatever happened over vacation?

Just make sure to monitor, especially when a bounce clears. :smile:
 
An increase of 0.5u is possible but it's not recommended unless the nadirs are usually over 300 or your cat is on a larger dose of insulin. The latter qualification is subjective. You could try it, but I would really want you to be home to be able to monitor closely. I'd also like to see you get some additional input.

If you suspect that your petsitter wasn't able to shoot reliably, if it were me, I'd want to wait until I was sure the depot was back to being filled.
 
Thanks guys!

I am thinking 7 units is a large dose and I do trust the sitter. However Tig seems to take maybe 5 days to fill his depot so I will give it till the next dose increase is due and then start going up by 1/2 if I don't see movement by then.
 
Perhaps hold 7.25 for at least 6 cycles first and see where that goes?

The numbers have been somewhat bad for at least the last 8 cycles, but it's still important to settle an increase before moving up.
 
Yep that's what I meant.. I will wait the six cycles and see if it gets him anywhere and if not will take him up half a unit. By then too his depot should have filled a bit.

Also the play fights with bailey and him tend to get out of control when we aren't home so there could have been a stress factor too, plus mommy wasn't home to take care of him.. And strange lady kept coming in!
 
hi wendy. sienne asked for some dosing input. :-D

if tiggy were mine, i would hold the current dose of 7.25u through at least tomorrow morning for a total of 4 cycles @ 7.25 units.

if you don't see a little more movement (blues) by tomorrow night, i would increase the dose to 7.5 units at tomorrow's PM cycle and hold 7.5u for a total of 6 cycles unless tiggy shows us he wants a reduction. this will also put you "on a line" (on the syringe) if you should decide to begin increasing in increments of 0.5 unit.

if at the end of 6 consecutive cycles @ 7.5 units you're still not seeing blues i would increase to 8u bid and then reevaluate tiggy's progress from there.


personally, i'm not big on "settling time" after a dose has been reduced for a sitter and i'm fairly aggressive when it comes to suggestions offered to an experienced caregiver. sometimes it only takes a shot or two at a higher dose to get things moving again.

however, there's nothing wrong with operating within your comfort level when it comes to dosing. imho, this is a matter of a caregiver's choice. whatever you decide will be fine.



just my thoughts...



for those following along...
my suggestions are based on tiggy's response with much consideration given to his dose being higher than most kitties in the TR ISG combined with the fact that wendy is an experienced caregiver. please don't attempt this method of dosing without guidance.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top