4/17,CLEO AMPS,257;;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44;+4.75,47;+5.75, 55

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cleo & Jane (GA)

Member Since 2013
Shot 30 min early @ 6, getting us closer to schedule. AMPS-257, gave .75 U - She ate good as usual - coat seems to be looking better, and she jumped up on the chair on the patio this morning and did her kneading on it. Haven't seen her do that in a long time. It's the little things.................

Hope everyone has a wonderful, peaceful day.
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257

Good morning Jane,
It's great to see those little things coming back!!! When Oliver's coat started to look nice again we were pretty sure he was on the mend. Good luck getting yourselves back on schedule and i hope she comes down nicely for you today. Have a great day. hugs and scritches from
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257

Glad you seeing her acting and feeling more like her young self :razz:
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242

+8, 242

Was able to get out of work a few hours early. Will be able to do an extra test or two :) Kitties out on patio, basking in the 86 degree weather. Have to take a Walmart run, and pick up one of the Relion meters with strips. I ran through alot of them, and it is cheaper to get the Relion w/strips, then just buying new strips for the Contour. Plus the Relion will need less blood!

I had picked up a new, LOW, litterbox ($5 at Petsmart), and now Cleo uses that one all the time. Her rear legs must be weak. That is why she was suddenly doing a poop or pee on floor right next to litterbox. Such a little fix makes such a big difference.

Hope everyone is having a Happy Hump Day!
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242

Is Cleo on the methylcobamine B -12 ? That's what we all give for the neuropathy.

You can buy strips for the contour on ebay much cheaper than the stores.
Just pay attention to the expiration dates.... since we go thru them much faster than people... it doesn't matter if they expire in 6 months.. you'll use them up long before then. :roll:
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256

PMPS - 256

Where can you get the B12 metho........? Is it a liquid or a powder? I will check on ebay for strips tonight. I can always return the Relion - thank you for the heads up!
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256

For Diabetic neuropathy, you specifically want methylcolbalamin. The other b12 that you find in stores is colbalamin which is used to treat pernicious anemia.
Zolbaline has less additives and is the better choice for cats.
However, I use Vitacost http://www.vitacost.com/vitacost-vitami ... s/?NttSR=1
The vitacost one has a trace amount of rice flour.
My cat was just starting to show signs of her rear legs getting weaker and she reversed completely after I put her on the Vitacost version. I like it because it's a capsule and easy to mix in her food.
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256

it's good to have 2 meters.... I have a contour for my back up meter.... nothing worse than having something going wrong as you cat has really low bgs....
well...
there was the one time I actually ran out of strips.... ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256

That's great that Cleo is getting back to some of her old (good) behaviors. :-D :-D We use zobaline for Zener. You can get it at amazon. He had pretty bad peripheral neuropathy and it's gone now. We gave him 1, 3 mg pill per day for about a year and now we give him 2 pills per day. We think it helps with his stomach motility issues too. We break the pill up into 4 pieces and wrap each piece in a little bit of pill pocket (duck and pea, no sugar but does have carbs).

We buy plastic storage boxes with high sides and cut out a low opening for litter boxes. Both kitties like to have lots of room to pick a good spot. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154

+2 - 154

I think I like the idea of having two meters - it would be crazy to have your meter stop in the middle of a possible hypo. I actually have a back up coffee pot! My Mr.Coffee is so old......still makes great coffee, but I don't know how I would start my day if it decided not to work one morning.

Can the Zobaline be broken up and mixed in wet food w/o effecting the taste too much? Not good with giving her pills, and she doesn't eat people food. But, it sounds like what she needs.

My other litter boxes are big rubber/plastic storage boxes also. Economical, and big, and hold ALOT of litter. But, she is only using this smaller, all around low one. Just so long as it is not on the floor, I am happy :smile:
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44

+4 - 44

Should I offer some HC food? Why do we have this crazy cycle? She is eating LCFF right now, acting normal of course.

And I took my sleeping pill right before I tested - SMH!
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44

Any time you see 40s, think HC unless you know for sure that LC will bring the numbers up. (Some kitties are very carb sensitive.)

BRB -- i want to look at your SS.
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44

I think you're fine to lower Cleo's dose to 0.5u. Depending on where her numbers are in the AM, you may want to shoot the 0.75u dose one last time if she bounces into the pinks. (This is called, "shooting through the bounce.") Holding on to the higher dose may help the bounce clear a little more quickly.
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44

Test again in 30 mins and see if she's above 50. If not, then give her a teaspoon or two of HC. Not too much, you dont want to fill her up because she might need to eat later. Yes, you can reduce the dose to 0.5u. Yay!
Liz
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44

OMG - again excited and nervous. I will hold off on the HC till I retest. She just ate a good amount of FFChicken feast.

Thanks for being here!
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44;+4.75,

+4.75 - BG47 She just ate more FFLC. OK to hold off on HC? - I feel like that helps set up wild cycle.

Any thoughts if this is ok to try? I know she will def eat some gravy food if offered.
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44;+4.75,

Jane

If you can get her up with the LC, it's fine to do that. I am not a fan of surfing in the 40s because you don't have much safety net if she drops down....and she's not at mid cycle yet. BUT, OTOH, I'm not a fan of using HC if LC will work. You can try it but I'd give her two generous tsps, retest in 30, and please post.
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257; +8, 242;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44;+4.75,

I made her a MC, FFChicken topped with a tsp of FF Gravy chicken. She is enjoying it right now. I will test again in 30 min, hope BG comes up a bit. I am fighting off this sleeping pill :(
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257;;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44;+4.75,47;+5.75

+5.75 - BG55 Gave her another 2 tsp of MC (never realized how much she loves that gravy!) and I am off to bed. I feel comfortable at this point, and getting unsteady on my feet. I will never take my pill before testing again!''

Thanks everyone. I could not do this alone :smile:
 
Re: 4/17,CLEO AMPS,257;;PMPS,256;+2,154;+4,44;+4.75,47;+5.75

Good job, Jane. Hope you get some rest. IFnyou do wake up, you might just grab a test.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top