4/14 Jupiter PMPS/306

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jamie & Jupiter

Member Since 2013
Link to yesterdays condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=93192

Jupiter had all very high numbers yesterday. Hoping to see some lower numbers come back!



Todays numbers:
AMPS - 314
+3 - 225



This is the 9th dose of the 2.25U. Will his numbers be more steady soon? I am not sure how dose increases work when his numbers are both low and high??? Can someone please explain that to me??
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 Question

I can tell you how I look at Jupiter's numbers. Others here may have a different perspective.

The current dose has brought Jupiter's numbers into a very good, green range. That tells you what the potential is for the dose and whether you will ultimately have room to increase the dose.

If you look at the PM cycle on 4/12, Jupiter was in green numbers for quite a few hours. By the next morning, he bounced into pinks and he's been in pinks and yellows for the last (roughly) 30 hours. This is pretty typical. It can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear. The highs, though, are the result of bouncing off of those lovely green numbers. When you're still new to managing your cat's numbers, it's best to wait for a bounce to clear before contemplating a dose increase. So, for now, the hard part if to wait out the bounce so you can evaluate where Jupiter's numbers settle.
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 Question

Thanks Sienne, that completely makes sense to me.. I just want to make sure that I am doing the right thing and always giving him a good dose.

Do you think his bounce is starting to clear since his numbers went down a little today?
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 +5/174 Question

NICE!! A blue number!! Yeah they went down more then a little today, maybe the bounce is clearing?
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 +5/174 Question

Yeah Blue! Looks like someone likes this dose perhaps? This is so wonderful to see Jamie. I'm so happy he's starting to get some good numbers for you.
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 +5/174 +6/145 Question

WHAT A NICE BLUE SURF THIS AFTERNOON!!!
 

Attachments

  • cat_surfing.gif
    cat_surfing.gif
    38.9 KB · Views: 290
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 +5/174 +6/145 +10/115 Ques

Okay, so I am really confused why his numbers are going down later on in the cycle. Is he going to experience another bounce?? Im so confused about all of this!
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +3/225 +5/174 +6/145 +10/115 Ques

If his number is still lower like the +10 do I still shoot the normal dose for his PM Shot??
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +5/174 +6/145 +10/115 Dose Questi

If he keeps going down, you may end up with a pretty low preshot number.
Have you read Shooting Low & Handling low numbers?

You might want to update your first post with something like "possible low pre-shot number ?" to get some eyes on you now.

What a lovely surf day for Jupiter! Are you getting more comfortable with these numbers?
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +5/174 +6/145 +10/115 Dose Questi

when a bounce clears, sometimes the downward momentum from the bounce clearing can keep going, even late in the cycle when the insulin is wearing off. Those cycles look like Jupiter's today, where the numbers start high and then decline all day, rather than the normal dipping down and then going back up again. Usually when you shoot and feed that will make the drop slow or stop, but you do want to pay attention in those cycles to be sure they really do stop dropping.

There's still lots of time for things to change before PMPS. You can post if you're not sure. It looks like you have shot low before, right? Basically you're looking for the PMPS to be about the same as +10 or higher, not still dropping.
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +5/174 +6/145 +10/115 Dose Questi

Okay well once again his numbers are confusing me.. I just tested and it was 257. (this is 20 minutes before PMPS) he ate 2 hours prior to PMPS.
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter AMPS/314 +5/174 +6/145 +10/115 Dose Questi

The insulin is wearing off at the end of the cycle. Like Libby pointed out, a lot can happen in those 2 hours prior to shot time. The good news is that there's no worry about shooting a low number.
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter PMPS/306 possibly dehydrated???

I was worried about jupiter as the elasticity of his skin seemed off.

I was worried and this is what I found so far: Gently lift the skin along your cat's shoulder area. If your cat is hydrated, the skin will snap back into place very quickly. If it is dehydrated, the skin will stay up in a ridge.


I am worried about him being dehydrated??
 
Re: 4/14 Jupiter PMPS/306 possibly dehydrated???

One thing you can do for dehydration is add a little bit of water to his food.
 
I mixed water into his food - also drained all the juice from a can of tuna and gave that to him and he sure slurped all of that up really quick
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top