4/14 Fur Ball BG 241 - First yellow day in 7 months

Status
Not open for further replies.

GregFurBall

Member Since 2012
Previous condo

Good morning.

Fur Ball is still blue and hit 208 last night. Do you think this is still stress related? We had given away our lantus when we went OTJ and don't have a script right now. Of course the vet is closed on Sunday. Not sure what to do. Can the bupe also increase BG? I'm sure pain can. And he's still doesn't have the best appy, who can blame him after a full mouth extraction. He's ate about 1 ounce yest and then another ounce last night. Given that he was eating about 5.5 ounces daily, I'm concerned, especially since he has not peed/pood in 24 hours. Ugh. This is so nerve racking.

Hope everyone else is having a wonderful Sunday.

Karen
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 177 but yellow last night

Morning Karen, oh poor baby, sending sweet Fur Ball some healing and appy vines. Is Fur Ball taking in any water. Add a ? emoticon in your subject line to call attention to your questions. I can understand your worry.
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 177 but yellow last night

I have no experience with bupe and #s, and I hope that he'll make a full and speedy recovery, and get his appetite back. I hope that someone with more experience will come by and help you with the bupe question. Be sure to click on the question mark (?), and put in "Question" in your subject like so that the experts can find you quickly. Have a great day! :-D
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 177 but yellow last night

((( Karen ))) I hope this is just stress and a blip on the radar - I can't give any advice but I'm sure many people with bupe experience can give some perspective. Sending lots of healing, anti-pain and calming vines for both of you. Get back to the lagoon Fur Ball! You promised to be down there to welcome Leo!!!
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 177 but yellow last night

Karen, I know you're worried about Fur Ball, but he will need some time to recover from the surgery. It may take him several days to get back to feeling normal. His body been through a lot. It sounds like he is doing pretty good for what he has been through. His appy should pick up as he starts to feel better. Then the peeing and pooping will happen. You may have to encourage him to eat just to get him started. I'm not sure if bupe causes higher BGs. Hopefully someone else will be on shortly that can answer that for you. Sending you and Fur Ball hugs and prayers.
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 177 but yellow last night

Fur Ball is just so lethargic. Just tested his BG at 275. Ugh. DH was able to get 4ml water syringed down his throat. Between the bupe and his high BG he does not seem to be doing too well. I just hope I'm over-reacting.

Ann- Thanks for stopping by and wishing us well.

Angela - This whole process has been nerve racking. I'm not a huge meds person for myself so its hard giving it to him as well. It seems like he needs a more mild pain med instead of the bupe.

Lisa- I'm hoping this is just a blip as well but we are thinking we might need to get some insulin. DH has been talking w/ the on-call vets to no avail. we are trying to decide if we should go to the ER.

Carla - I appreciate your words of encouragement. Its just so hard when he can't talk to us and let us know what's going on or what he needs.

Thanks for the question mark reminder.

Karen
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 275 - question

When MC had her dental, the vet told me to give her 3ml of bupe 3 times a day (every 8 hrs.). That was way too much for her. She had 10 teeth removed, so I think the vet thought she'd need a lot of pain medication. I ended up lowering her dose to 1ml each time because all she did was lay around and look spacy. I can't remember if you said how much bupe and how often you are giving it to Fur Ball. He may not need as much as the vet prescribed. It is hard to judge because we don't want them to be in pain. I slowly lowered MC's dose until I found one that worked.
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 275 - question

Carla-
We were prescribed .6ml every 8 hrs. We reduced that to 10 hrs and then the last dose was 12 hrs. We had the same idea you did and were going to reduce it in half but given what you said I think that may still be too much. I just keep thinking the bupe must be contributing to this because he BGs are lower after it is wearing off.

Hoping your Furball feels better today as well.

Karen
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 275 - question

Hi Karen,

I am so sorry to hear that FB is having a rough time. Poor little guy, sending tons and tons of healing vines and hope that he starts feeling better soon and that his appetite improves. I hope the high BGs are merely symptomatic of pain and medication and that he will return to his normal OTJ range soon. He has a vetty visit coming up to get the stitches removed, right? As long as he eats and you see some improvement, I wouldn't think you'd need to take him any sooner. Hopefully the numbers will come down some before then and there will be no need to start him back on insulin. I wouldn't rush to get him back on just yet.

I would recommend daily testing for ketones. If he has any, definitely take him in ASAP.

Big hugs to you, Greg, and Fur Ball. Sending prayers and vines for you guys.
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 275 - question

Hi Karen

In my experience , it's pain that causes Checkers' bp to rise.

When he gets his bupe, 0.1ml, he sleeps or just lays around, for a couple of hours, and normally wants to eat a little when he wakes.
When the pain decreases, so does his bg!
Fur Ball may just lethargic from the bupe, and who wants to be active with a mouth full of pain. He'll feel better soon, and be active again.
Fur Ball has had quite a trauma, and has to be stressed! I'm not surprised his bg is high.

Having said that, I am no expert, and never give medical advice. This is just my experience with Checkers and bupe.

Checkers may have 0.1ml, every 6 hours, if needed.

Poor Fur Ball, I hope he feels better soon. I know how hard it is on you and Greg, to see him miserable.
 
Re: 4/14 Fur Ball BG 275 - question

Pain can certainly effect BG.

Do you have any means to check FB's temperature? With the surgery, there's always the possibility of infection. Also, do you know if the vet took post-procedure x-rays? If a tooth fragment is left in, it can cause inflammation.

If you don't see numbers coming down and if FB hasn't used the litter box, I'd plan on getting FB in to the vet tomorrow. If you're worried or there's a change, I'd get in to the emergency vet.
 
HI Courtney. thanks for stopping by. I know how busy you are right now. FB has had a yellow day. :YMSIGH: BUT at least he ate something tonight. So grateful for that. We've been able to syringe some water into him but still no poo/pee. He hasn't gone since yest morning. Ugh. His follow up vet appt isn't until 4/25. I'm really sad about that as I work late that night and DH will have to go. We hoped to go on 4/26 but the vet is leavin early that day.

Barb- Thanks so much for your thoughts. How much does Checks weigh? FB is a hefty boy- 18.38 pounds. But we really think he is overmedicated and will be reducing his next dose.

Sienne- we are thrllled to get some food in FB. He doesn't have a fever and overall his mouth seems to be healing. We are surprised there isn't much swelling. We are planning to call the vet in the morning but hopefully he will use the lb and we will be on the md.

Thanks again for everyones support. This board is the BEST.

Karen
 
Is Fur Ball wearing the cone.... that would slow him down especially after one day.
after all he's been thru...so many extractions... pain meds... anesthesia... I would expect some lethargy....
that's a lot to recover from....

Sending appy vines and LB vines .... he needs something going in for something to be coming out....
Tomorrow is almost here and you'll be able to talk to your vet...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top