4/3 ELIAN - amps 468; 348 +2 Sorry for being MIA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Susie and Elian

Member Since 2013
I'm sorry for posting and then going MIA - crazy busy and sometimes life gets in the way. Unfortunately Elian remains high , even with an increase. I'm making a dental appt. for him today to see if that may make a difference - he's never had one but both vets he saw recommended it. I've just been so worried about stressing him out and putting him thru it. But I have no choice. They also need to remove a 'waxy growth' in his ear, at the same time. :-(

The good news is that he's acting just fine - eating normally, no voracious appetite; his water consumption is back to normal; have had no accidents outside of litter box in months; he has lost much needed to lose weight and is nice and sleek now; is as lovable as can be; actually comes right to me and lays down for testing and/or shooting time; and is acting as normal as can be. I'm the one that's frustrated for not being able to get this under control.

A possible switch to Levemir has been suggested to me - any thoughts? I will talk to our vet about it. I had to take a client dog to his vet yesterday who is a good friend of the parents. So I was able to comfortably chit chat with him and started talking about diabetes. Well he's another one who recommends no home testing, a curve/fructose mine every few months at his office; rx wet and dry food; and when asked and told him we're using Lantus he said "oh, the expensive stuff." He said he still prescribes..... don't remember the name but something like mph? I gathered it was something "old school". I'm just glad he's not our vet!
 
I know how hard it is to do those dentals but we'll all cheer you on and help you get thru it.
It may make a tremendous difference for Elian as those can often keep numbers inflated.

So pick a date and do it. Obviously not with that vet you described. It's absolutely amazing how many there are who don't have any
inkling about the best ways to deal with FD.

I would think the time to think about switching would be after the dental/ear to see if that's what's holding Elian where he is.
 
Thanks - I set the date.... he's going in Tuesday morning. With the vet I love and who uses tight regulation for her mom's diabetic kitty! I'm waiting for a call from her to see what to do about his insulin. The receptionist told me no food or water after midnight the night before so I need to make sure he'll be okay without. My poor boy. But I'm hoping it'll be the reason his numbers are up and this will be the start of getting him regulated.

PS the vet I recently spoke with also told me that cats don't go into remission/come off insulin. Moron. It's scary to find such incompetence but I'm familiar with it having had my share of medical nightmares over the years. I avoid drs like the plague. And when they're a necessity I make sure I am armed with info and advocate for myself and my daughters.
 
If he's not supposed to eat or drink he probably will not be getting insulin. Don't count on your vet knowing much about Levemir. I had a consult wit a Cornell U vet and they have a whole Feline Health department and she knew very little about it but loads about Lantus. Doesn't mean it doesn't work better for some cats. Why, I dunno, but it's an option. What's keeping E's numbers up could be the need for a dental or a switch of insulin or both. That vet was talking about NPH. Lots of vets are using it since they stopped making vetsulin.It's an intermediate lasting insulin and it comes in generic so it's not very expensive.
 
IMHO, I would give Lantus a while longer before contemplating a switch to Lev. Some cats do better on Lev; some don't. Lev is not a magic answer to get the bouncing to stop.

Before you switch to Lev, I'd also encourage you to follow the TR protocol more closely. You want to evaluate your dose after 6 cycles/3 days. The longer you stick with a dose that isn't bringing Elian into good numbers, the harder it can be to get the numbers to come down.

Here's a link regarding dental procedures.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top