4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84 +5.5 47

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lisa & Leo

Member Since 2012
Yesterday's Travel Rainbow Condo

Yesterday's Summary
AMPS 89
+2 81
+6 46 <--- 1 mL (0.2 tsp) Karo, getting on the road, occasionally trip has not raised his BGs, can't give food, he'll barf it.
+6.5 <--- got on the road
+8 352 <--- pulled over on road. Guess Karo was needed more for mamabean's worries than Leo's physiology :-D
+10 412 <--- arrive at the apartment
PMPS 412 Dose ~1/2 drop
+5.5 71 <--- Woo Hoo!
+11 35 <--- :shock: :shock: :shock: 1mL Karo
+11.5 76 <--- surf on 4%
AMBG 87

Good Morning LL!

Yesterday we had quite the rainbow adventure. I've been telling Leo that he needs to officially abdicate the throne, but he said since the masses have not decreed it or stormed his condo in protest, that he'd like to keep the King of Rainbows title in his back pocket just for days like yesterday. Little fart. But I loves him to pieces.

Leo had a tough day. Lots of wind at the house in the morning before we had to leave, so between that and the Cerenia (which makes him tired and not hungry), he was wedged under the couch for hours until we had to leave. So the 46 wasn't surprising. I gave him Karo just to boost him but 2 hours later he was wearing a frilly pink tutu. He spent the trip in his back "cave" the whole time (I made a platform/cover in the back seat for him to "hide" under). Poor guy. But in the night he was happily back in green! I debated another test, but figured he was on his way up.

Wrong. Mama bean missed the boat! How low did he go??? nailbite_smile nailbite_smile nailbite_smile

So Leo earned a dose reduction. He went below 50 in the morning which I might have let slide (haha) but I figure a 35, even due partly to his spectacular plunge, warrants a reducie.

His current dose, ~1/2 drop is about 0.1u. (My drops are ~ 0.17-0.2u)
New dose? ... 1/4 drop = 0.05u. [Edited to fix dose typo]

Do I dare ask the question I've not voiced out loud until now?

Our thought and prayers throughout the whole day go out to dear Michelle and handsome Mannie, and precious bean Aseel and Noni flying free.
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87

Good morning Lisa
Whoooooo Hooooo for Leo. all my paws and fingers crossed for that question.. ;-) (anti-jinx) hugs and scritches from us. mary and ollie
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87

Wow, Leo, my lil bro, congrats on the reducie! How about some ropes for me today, Mags
Morning Lisa, wow what a travel day and night for you. On the question, wow! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56

Leo reminds me of Barbara's Tuffy -- incredible spikes due to stress. Aside from those forays into pinks and reds, which are thankfully short lived, his SS looks great. You can really see the difference in Leo's numbers those times when you're not traveling.
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56

Morning Lisa ~O) ~O) ~O)

:shock: :shock: :shock: :mrgreen: on this morning! wow - very impressive. How in the world do you even measure that dose.... It is beyond comprehension for me. ;-) Good luck with the reduction - hoe Leo hols ds onto it, though I expect he will Looking mighty good these days. I too have my fingers crossed on that question. Could be!

Enjoy your day today. nice and steady there Leo. Eat up! a bit of a drop there at that +1.5...
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56

Hi guys .. congrats on the reduction!! No you know what advice from me, but fingers crossed someone gives you the green light! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56

Sounds like a good question!

I hope that Leo is settled in now and that he won't bounce. Surf safe, Leo :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Have a great day, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56

Hi All - Leo played around for a while and is off now having a snooze. I'll test him at +3 and see where he is. He ate a little more food.

Hi Melissa - yeah, Leo sure made his wishes known loud and clear on this one! 35! Whew! Have a great day!

Hi Mary - thanks for all the crossed appendages and scritches for Leo when he comes out later for his test and fresh liver treat. Yum!

Hi Ann - yeah, glad the travel day is over. I hate those days, but overall, it went well. He was passed out most of the time, and he cleared it very nicely!

HI Sienne - yes, I was so nervous that first travel after he was hitting all the greens, and then so upset when he went high. But now I feel much better that he is clearing the terrible numbers rather well. Paws crossed he keeps that up!

Hi Michelle - yeah, he got my attention!!! I measure 0.5u with the calipers and squeeze out two drops, and what remains is about 1/2 a drop. So I'm thinking to do the same, but push out a tad of that last 1/2 drop and wipe it off. :: rolls eyes :: @-) @-) @-) It's getting rather crazy!

Hi Devon - thank you! Have a great day too and your fingers crossed!

Hi Ella - I hope he settles too, but he may bounce. It will be interesting to see what he does.

Mags - I runned over as fast as I could! Do you gots hold of the rope? I pull down gently! ~Leo
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56 +3 48 +4 55 +5 71

I tend to think it's OTJ trial time. The 35 and 48 are telling you this kitty may be done with insulin. It would be great if you had some "no travel" days so he could mellow out a bit. I'm at work and don't have the OTJ instructions handy. If someone hasn't posted them, I'll try to remember to do it later.
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56 +3 48 +4 55 +5 71

WOOT WOOT!!! I lubs OTJ trials!! dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat

GO LEO!!!

I found these instructions on Mego's condo yesterday:

Test at your normal AMPS and PMPS times. Feed multiple small meals throughout the day as much as possible (small meals are less likely to overwhelm a newly functioning pancreas).

If your cat is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working! After 2 weeks, if everything is looking good, we have a party!


Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56 +3 48 +4 55 +5 71

Sienne - I think I'm going to cry. I have been holding my fingers so crossed and trying not to voice the question or hope in my head so as not to jinx it. To hear your thought that it might be time is such a wonderful thing.

I agree he needs some travel-free numbers first ... luckily, he will be at my apartment until next Thursday, so that's 9 days. Your thoughts on timing are much anticipated!

(ANTI-JINX!!!)
 
Re: 4/2 Leo +11 35 AMBG 87 +1.5 56 +3 48 +4 55 +5 71

That's so wonderful. An OTJ Trial. Go Leo! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 +3 48 +5 71 +10.6 58

+10.6 58

At this rate, I'm going to skip tonight's shot as well. I am so anxious and jumpy inside, I'm having trouble concentrating on work.

Sienne suggested starting an OTJ trial after Leo had a chance to settle from the travel stress. I'd like to do that to really make sure he gives me signs he's ready, but he may be making the decision for me.

Advice experts?

Hi Wendy - you got the news before I did! So excited!

HI Carla - right! Wonderful! I don't want to jump the gun, and I'm still all like anti-jinx, but am so excited! Leo has been given your instructions!

Hi Marje - thank you - I just told Leo you said so!
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

PMPS 84. That's quite a jump from 58 in little over an hour, so I went ahead a shot his new dose, 1/4u. It turns out I don't even need to measure anymore. I squeeze down to the last drop and tap out a bit at a time until it looks a certain size on the end of the needle, then I suck it back in and shoot it. @-) @-) @-)
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

Just so you know... I've labeled us The Pancreas Whisperers... I think our services will be in high demand and I signed a contract for a TV show while you've been away this evening. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

Katie & Mego said:
Just so you know... I've labeled us The Pancreas Whisperers... I think our services will be in high demand and I signed a contract for a TV show while you've been away this evening. :lol: :lol: :lol:

LOL! I think I woke up my upstairs neighbor laughing at this!!! The Pancreas Whisperers!
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

Marje already requested our services so I paid a complimentary visit to Gracie's condo to talk sweet nothings to her belly and Mr. P :lol:
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

Excellent! You're doing a great job marketing our services already!

Leo is listening loud and clear. Here I am up in the middle of the night again with a 47. Not a scary number, but like last night, he dove way past nadir. I have to say, I've never been so happy to be awake this late surfing him!!! All on 1/4 drop!!!
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

HI Barb - exciting is right!!! Woo Hoo!!! Thanks for the thumbs up!!!

Hi Ella - I've passed on your encouragement to Leo ... he is currently licking his paw. :lol:

HI Nancy - thanks for saying!

Hi Amy - Happy Happy Joy Joy!!! I just told Leo. He's up on the coffee table, having spotted a bug high on the wall, and is now crying to eat it :-)
 
Re: 4/2 Leo AMBG 87 PMPS 84

That's really good actually... Mego kinda quit cold turkey and I wonder if that was the right thing to do. But his numbers were so good so I guess we just wait and see what happens. I know you had stopped too but then started with just a small amount again. Keep me posted on how this goes and I'll keep checking in too.

Well this crazy tired P whisperer is off to bed. Have a great night and I hope Leo surfs safely for you.
 
HI Katie - I agree - quite good! I had only skipped one shot and was prepared to skip last night as well but he went up at PS so I shot. There is a little ray in my heart that last night may have been the last shot ... if he hangs below 50. Fingers and Paws crossed!
 
Looks like Leo told you what he though of that dose! :-D

I think I need a branch of the pancreas whisperers called the pituitary whisperers. I rub Neko between the eyes and whisper to her Ms. P. too. :lol:
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Looks like Leo told you what he though of that dose! :-D

I think I need a branch of the pancreas whisperers called the pituitary whisperers. I rub Neko between the eyes and whisper to her Ms. P. too. :lol:

We'll make it a whole franchise!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top